We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paceful piece of forest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Finca Canas Castilla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

We love the kind service the owners gave us. I slept so good after a long drive there. We stay short because we had to go next morning to pick up a friend at the border with Nicaragua but from there you could visit Bahía Salinas and go hikking around. The cabins are simple but good, they all have a small fridge, fans, hot water.
If you like the peace and a good rest, we highly reccommend it.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Margeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2016

Beautiful rural lodge near La Cruz and the border with Nicaragua. Ideal place for horseback riding in the beautiful surroundings or just for a walk in nature. Very welcoming owners with great knowledge of the area. Excellent breakfast and dinner at an attractive price. Not to be missed !!!!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank peterenmarjacr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2016

This Finca is a rare find. The location is beautiful with so many birds and animals to see and hear in the grounds. The river bank is a lovely place to sit and relax and watch the wildlife including the crocodile!
The food is homemade by Agi and delicious.
We met some of the other lovely guests while we were there and enjoyed sharing meal times and experiences with them.
We really enjoyed our two night stay and wished we were staying longer. It's that kind of place.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ArtemisHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2016

Where to begin. Agi and guido are the sweetest. They both are so kind and attentive, agi is an amazing cook and they are so generous with their breakfast and dinners. The cabins have their own seating areas with hammocks. You are surrounded by peaceful nature and hilarious monkeys and sleepy sloths and other amazing wild life. We cannot wait to go back. It was truly restful and relaxing. My husband found the beds a bit saggy but everything was super clean and well thoughtout and arranged.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coreycandice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2016 via mobile

It was our Highlight in Costa Rica, After 4 weeks in that nice country.
We have seen many animals, but at the finca we have seen so many as no where else. Even in the national parks are not so many as at that farm.
Normally we would stay just a day ending up with 3 nights.
Good food as well, and very nice people.

Stayed: March 2016
2  Thank Skrallinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Cruz
14.9 km away
Blue Dream Hotel
Blue Dream Hotel
#1 of 4 in La Cruz
110 reviews
6.7 km away
Tierra Madre Eco Lodge
Tierra Madre Eco Lodge
#1 of 5 in La Cruz
51 reviews
37.7 km away
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
#1 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 km away
Ecoplaya Beach Resort
Ecoplaya Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in La Cruz
176 reviews
17.8 km away
Dreams Las Mareas Costa Rica
7.0 km away
Punta Descartes Hotel
Punta Descartes Hotel
#3 of 4 in La Cruz
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Canas Castilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Canas Castilla

Address: Apartado Postal 009, Sonzapote | 2km north of the soccerfield Sonzapote, La Cruz 51001, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > La Cruz
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in La Cruz
Price Range: $73 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cottages Cañas Castilla have a nice architecture y a big furnished outside área with hamack and to the River Sapoa and the lovely garden. All have hot water shower, a fridge, 2 ceilingfans and security box. Aircondition is availabe at additional price. Every cottage dispose one double bed and 4 of them have additionally 2 individual beds. There is the cottage Perezoso which has a equipped kitchen for those who want to cook by themselves. Enjoy the naturetrails on the farm, horsebackriding with our own horses, have fun with the small boat doing a cruise around the river Sapoa. Observe howler- and spydermonkeys, sloth and a lot of birds in their natural hábitat. Discover the lovely beaches of Bahía Salinas (Pacific), or take a daytrip into Nicaragua, a special adventure! Enjoy farm life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Finca Canas Castilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing