We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Colonial Hotel 2 blocks from the Central Plaza”
Review of Hotel Liberia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Liberia
Ranked #1 of 15 Liberia B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Very nice, comfortable hotel from the colonial era. Awesome wooden floors and an open air patio within the building. Delicious food in the evenings. Helpful staff and off street parking. There is no air-conditioning available.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is not right off the street if you are a person who likes to go to bed early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

I was not impressed with my stay here.
I had booked a PRIVATE single with shared bathroom, on the website I booked with it clearly stated that breakfast was not included for dormitory room bookings. Upon arrival I asked about the free breakfast but was told that it didn't apply to me because I was staying in the hostel part as I had a shared bathroom, I tried saying that on my confirmation email it only states that breakfast is not included for dormitory rooms, no where does it say any rooms with shared bathroom doesn't get breakfast either. The guy was having none of it though, this definitely needs to be made clearer as I was obviously in a private room.
So as I had a shared bathroom my room was in the hostel part of the hotel, which was on the top floor and a complete change compared to the rest of the hotel. My room was very small, dark and dingy, with cracked walls and had a dirty look to it. After three months of travelling this was the worst room I'd stayed in, I'd stayed in much nicer dorm rooms previously.
The shared bathroom was awful and the shower stopped working while I was under it, not ideal when you have a head full of shampoo.
I'm sure the hotel rooms are lovely as they obviously care about that side of their business, the hostel side (including the single privates apparently) is clearly just to make whatever extra money they can out of poor conditions and unsuspecting travellers who are thinking they are getting something completely different.
Definitely wouldn't stay again.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatadeSanCarlos, Gerente at Hotel Liberia, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2016

Hola Nicola,

We are sorry for this misunderstood, we just check the information on the website you booked our room and definately could be more clear. We have already asked to update this inmediately in order to avoid another inconvenience.

Neither the beds in shared dorms or the private dorm with share bathroom offer breakfast included in the rate. Breakfast options in our restaurante are many and are affordable (prices around $4 - $8).

Private dorm you had is the second budget option, but we are aware some improvement need to be done as soon as possible.

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel, the opinion of our guests is always important in order to keep working hard everyday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

Hotel Liberia is a clean, cozy hotel just a block or two to city center. My flight was cancelled due to bad weather and the friendly staff helped me out immensely with a late night run to the airport, making phone calls to help find my luggage and help me get to my next destination. The open air patio is a peaceful place to relax and eat. I highly recommend this hotel as a great budget option in Liberia.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
Thank Bgleaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2016

I stayed one night in Hotel Liberia before flying home. It was $25 US per night then and a very good deal. basic room but clean. Staff were warm and friendly and I felt safe as an older woman. The taxi for the airport was early and the hotel arranged that for me.
I am thinking of booking again in March when I return.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back. Central Liberia, so traffic can be an issue but you can walk to all ameni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peggy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2016

The staff was very friendly. We asked if we could leave our bags in a secure area prior to check in so we didn't have to take them to the beach, and they did this, On one night of our stay they had to move us to a different room, they said they would move everything for us while we were out if we liked. They did so with no problems. When we arrived at our new room, with in a few minutes the manager knocked and gave us each a beautiful sangria to say sorry for the inconvenience of moving. The food and drinks at the restaurant were very good we stayed 4 nights

Stayed: December 2015
Thank brucewhite2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liberia hotels
11.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
0.0 km away
Hotel Rincon del Llano
Hotel Rincon del Llano
#11 of 13 in Liberia
80 reviews
1.0 km away
Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Las Espuelas Hotel
Las Espuelas Hotel
#3 of 13 in Liberia
190 reviews
0.6 km away
Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center
6.5 km away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#12 of 13 in Liberia
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Liberia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Liberia

Address: Calle Real | 75 Mts Sur Del Parque Central, Liberia 50101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Liberia
Price Range: $22 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Liberia 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer the oldest 'bed & breakfast " accommodation in Liberia city, capital Guanacaste province. Located on the main street (Calle Real), 75 meters South of Central Park and the main Catholic church, rowed in a line of old houses, hotels, restaurants and cultural elements characteristic of the history of this legendary beautiful city. The hotel has an old house with thick walls and high bahareque (centuries-old technique of building with mud and grass) and decorated mosaic floors, where there are 6 rooms of the Casona and the main dining room.The hotel offers close proximity to the bus station, taxis, supermarkets, banks and shops, and it is located in the heart of the city being the oldest street in Liberia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Liberia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing