We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good”
Review of Hotel Liberia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Liberia
Ranked #1 of 15 Liberia B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 March 2017

I didn´t expect much but this was good value. Located in the centre, the dorm room only had 3 beds and had both a fan in the ceiling and another one on the floor. It was clean and quiet. The courtyard is nice but I didn't eat there since it's too pricey for my taste.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anna_c_jansson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

I am torned between giving this place two or three stars, our room was directly across from the reception desk. It was good sized room with a decent size bathroom, and a clean comfortable bed but it was dark without extra outlets and no air conditioning just a very loud fan. There was no hot water and no outlets in the bathroom. We had a decent dinner and breakfast in the very pleasant courtyard. The price, location, free parking and wifi were the reasons why we stayed here.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank awagner2287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

Clearly someone cares about this hotel. It has the old world charm I had hoped for; the building is very old and has been tastefully updated. We spent a pleasant night (could have used A/C but then it is in the historic old center of Liberia) with breezes and birds. We were welcomed like old friends upon arrival. The open courtyard is lovely, plenty of green and sunshine. We enjoyed relaxing in the rocking chairs with drinks after a long day of travel. It was very pleasant. Dinner right there was convenient and excellent. I had a delicious house salad, as it was hot and I wasn't particularly hungry. Great sangria!! Jorge, I believe was his name, made us breakfast in the morning: scratch, hot, off the menu! an HOUR before the usual breakfast hour, as we had an early flight. He arranged for a taxi. This is really a sweet little hotel just off a main square full of city life, made for an interesting evening walk and look around. Don't miss the top floor "porch" at the hotel, where you can see over the city. There was an eclectic international crowd and the place lends itself to relaxing and delightful conversation, if that's your mood.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ellen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

We arrived at 1000pm at this hotel from our flight and car rental pick up. It was good for a night or two.Great location as it only took about 15 20 min drive from the airport. You can walk out of the hotel and Central Park is a half block away. Good Service, wifi and the Central Sitting area is nice to eat or relax with a drink in hand. Breakfast was included with the room and it was very tasty. No hot water showers :( Would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DaMama4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

We stopped and stayed one night at Hotel Liberia because we got to the airport around 4pm and we didn't want to drive up to Lake Arenal in the dark and run off the road with our rental vehicle and kiss my my $3000 security deposit good bye. This is a very small local hotel. Nothing fancy about this place. We did have breakfast and diner at the hotel's restaurant...which the food was very good. The rooms and the shower are very, very, very small...and there was no hot water for the shower. The hotel is old but clean. My wife is a very spoiled women so there is that issue that will come up if you stay here. I told her it was a test to see if she really loves me...and couldn't tell her I only paid $42 for the night.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonI2713UN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liberia hotels
11.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
0.0 km away
Hotel Rincon del Llano
Hotel Rincon del Llano
#11 of 13 in Liberia
80 reviews
1.0 km away
Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Las Espuelas Hotel
Las Espuelas Hotel
#3 of 13 in Liberia
190 reviews
0.6 km away
Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center
6.5 km away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#12 of 13 in Liberia
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Liberia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Liberia

Address: Calle Real | 75 Mts Sur Del Parque Central, Liberia 50101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Liberia
Price Range: $22 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Liberia 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer the oldest 'bed & breakfast " accommodation in Liberia city, capital Guanacaste province. Located on the main street (Calle Real), 75 meters South of Central Park and the main Catholic church, rowed in a line of old houses, hotels, restaurants and cultural elements characteristic of the history of this legendary beautiful city. The hotel has an old house with thick walls and high bahareque (centuries-old technique of building with mud and grass) and decorated mosaic floors, where there are 6 rooms of the Casona and the main dining room.The hotel offers close proximity to the bus station, taxis, supermarkets, banks and shops, and it is located in the heart of the city being the oldest street in Liberia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Liberia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing