We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TGreat location, relaxing ambience with one downside”
Review of Hotel Liberia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Liberia
Ranked #1 of 16 Liberia B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 May 2017

The hotel is set in a beautifully preserved colonial building with a lovely courtyard restaurant and garden. The staff are all exceptional and the owner very friendly and welcoming. It is in a perfect location in the city and Liberia itself is a very easy place to explore on foot. The reason we visited was as a base for visiting Parque Nacional Rincon de Vieja and the hotel offers day tours to this lovely park with its active volcano and the resulting geothermal activity and great hiking trails. We also used Liberia as a base for catching the local bus to the border with Nicaragua. The only downside to this hotel is that the rooms in the annexe are very hot and despite the owner doing all he can by providing ceiling and floor fans it is impossible to cool the room down. This is difficult to remedy in a country where the weather is extremely hot and humid at this time of the year. The shower and toilet area is a tiny space that gets even hotter despite the cold water shower! This is a minor issue and I would not let it put you off staying in this hotel. Perhaps rooms in the original building are cooler. We really enjoyed our stay here and the food was very good with generous portions and plenty of choice.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building around the courtyard may be cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DicknDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2017

This hotel was more like a club or time share which you joined. I was staying with a group. It was clean and well-run; golf carts were provided for longer walks to the dining area. The pools were popular and well-maintained, and the security seemed good.

Stayed: July 2016
Thank happytrails555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Very nice little hotel, close to the Liberia airport! We stayed our first night there after we arrived late at the airport. It's a lovely little place, with very friendly staff, cosy room and nice breakfast. Definitely would stay there again!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 130piaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

It was my first time staying in a hostel and had many reservations about it, but they doubts started to dissipate after I walked into the facility.

The front desk, Sharon was very sweet and friendly, making the experience a whole lot greater.

The property has a very large open area in the front (lobby) with a restaurant that guests can hangout.

The owner Warren is always hanging out in the lobby; he's a pleasant older man.

I stayed in room 21, right next to the shared bathroom and the every end on the 3rd level. There are some stairs to get up here - be prepared to walk!

The room has 4 beds and was very clean. The towel and sheets were fresh smelling and very clean.

There is no air conditioning, so it was sweltering during the day, making it impossible to hangout in the room. However, at nights the room temperature dropped drastically and it becomes a cool and breezy room (with windows and doors open).

There are no lockers in the room or downstairs, so you will have to leave your belongings hanging around in the room and hope that you're sharing with honest people.

The atmosphere here is amazing - chill, friendly, open, and honest - we slept with the room door open, and it seems like a few others did as well (to help with air flow and cooling down).

The hotel is located perfectly in the city, and is in walking distance to everything - surrounded by restaurants, banks, shopping plazas, cafe, etc. It's next to the highway which leads to Nicaragua if you're planning to do that :)

The hotel offers free parking directly next door and it's in a fenced yard, so it feels safe and secure to leave vehicle parked there.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Thank jaemar01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

We were picked up at the airport ($20) by a lovely couple, Marissa and Isak. Nice for a late flight. The hotel is very old but has an amazing courtyard, great food and the service is excellent. There is no hot water but it was kind of refreshing. No AC either but with a really nice breeze coming through the window and the fan, we were comfortable.
close to the central square. I would definitely stay again. The price was great for the 3 nights we stayed.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 61spoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liberia hotels
2 km away
Las Espuelas Hotel
Las Espuelas Hotel
#3 of 13 in Liberia
195 reviews
11 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
1 km away
Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel El Bramadero
Hotel El Bramadero
#4 of 13 in Liberia
84 reviews
6.5 km away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#12 of 13 in Liberia
57 reviews
0.6 km away
Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Liberia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Liberia

Address: Calle Real | 75 Mts Sur Del Parque Central, Liberia 50101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Liberia
Price Range: $33 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Liberia 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer the oldest 'bed & breakfast " accommodation in Liberia city, capital Guanacaste province. Located on the main street (Calle Real), 75 meters South of Central Park and the main Catholic church, rowed in a line of old houses, hotels, restaurants and cultural elements characteristic of the history of this legendary beautiful city. The hotel has an old house with thick walls and high bahareque (centuries-old technique of building with mud and grass) and decorated mosaic floors, where there are 6 rooms of the Casona and the main dining room.The hotel offers close proximity to the bus station, taxis, supermarkets, banks and shops, and it is located in the heart of the city being the oldest street in Liberia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Liberia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing