We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
11 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$549
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/10/22
WHotels.com
US$549
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$549
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.comUS$549
Trip.comUS$549
PricelineUS$549
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (470)
Filter reviews
470 results
Traveller rating
368
60
17
12
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
368
60
17
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wet deck plunge pool pininos adventures reserva conchal azul pool w insider treehouse suite living room bar lower pool course tasting menu costa rica pura vida floor to ceiling windows main restaurant an ocean view room nature reserve beach club
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 470 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2022

This hotel is related to the nearby Westin. While staying here we visited and compared the Westin to the W. In our opinion, there was no comparison. The W was by far the winner. The Westin had far too many guests and the pools were crowded, as were their dining options. The beach was also not quite as nice as the W's. (you can walk to each in 5- 10 min via the beach).
The rooms at the W are very modern styling and offer all you would need and more. Showers have panoramic views. Beds are king sized. Everything was great.
Food at the two dining areas was excellent and had fast service. Staff were very warm and responsive to you needs.

Room tip: Ask for room on an upper floor with full ocean views. Building 1 is best.
Date of stay: March 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 513claudef
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 21 March 2022

The staff here were very attentive, polite, and personable. They would remember our names frequently and were very friendly. Everything was done consistently and they always maintained high standards for everything.

The rooms themselves were very nice and we awoke to the sun and some monkeys calling off in the distance. We had one king room and a 2x double room for 2 adults, 19 yr and 15 yr old. On checkin we were not immediately in nearby rooms but they quickly moved our rooms close together.

The amount of staff and the number of guests seemed very well balanced during our stay. We were able to find spots by the pool and eat pretty much whenever we wanted to.

We used the all inclusive plan and it was the best all inclusive plan I have seen. Every meal was outstanding for food choices, and the menu never seemed tired in our 6 day stay. There are only 3 places to eat, and we spent most of the time at 2 of them. We also found their drink menu was fun to try new things, and did not get bored with that as well. The alcohol that was complimentary was mid shelf stuff and was far better than what I have seen at other all inclusive resorts.

Masks were consistently worn by all staff and guests were kind of a mixed bag - though most meals were outdoors. The cleanliness seemed quite good in all situations.

On the resort we saw several iguanas, a group of 8-15 monkeys, and a few Coati.

I wanted to book the Westin down the beach due to its cheaper prices. After going to the W, I can say I do not regret anything about our vacation. Our stay here will be a very difficult one to measure against. If anything, we tended to stay on the property more than going out in activities - just because the resort provided such a lovely experience.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank travelingfamilyCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 15 March 2022 via mobile

This property really deliverer exactly what we expected from a W. The pictures of the room, views, amenities are all totally accurate. Here are a few helpful things to know:
- All buildings have great views. Building 1 is closest, so if you have mobility issues, you may prefer that… but otherwise they are all great.
- Pool chairs were never an issue as people tend to be on excursions during the day.
- If you use Waze to get in or out, beware there is a staff entrance to the compound and they will NOT let you through it. You must use the big fancy entrance. (They should really have signs for guests to stay off the access road)
- The beach is a 10 min walk - and not really worth it unless you need the kids pool which is down there.
- We used this as a base for some great mountain biking in the nearby town of Las Catalinas.
- The gym is highly kitted out. You wont regret bringing sneakers

The big plus of this resort is the staff. I can’t speak highly enough of how helpful and polite everyone was. Dany and Raoul at the pool, Samantha at the restaurant and even the very gifted DJ, Jonathan. The bar tenders in the lobby are also great - and Eduardo the manager cares about guest experience. Some review said people over 40 are treated like second class…which is rubbish. We’re in our late 40s and we totally fit in and were not the oldest. I would stay here again happily.

Lastly, we stayed at the JW Marriott last time we were here. The big difference is proximity to the ocean (rooms and pool). I also find the W a lot more stylish and modern.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sam3366
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 15 March 2022 via mobile

Beautiful place with monkeys and birds.
Great services at restaurants. SPA is very nice and reasonable price for the pandemic right now. The staff is very welcoming and even remembered our names. The amenities are clean and modern including a stunning white sand beach. We feel very relaxed and happy!

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Gotorelax59
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 13 March 2022

The breakfast was pretty good (except I missed mango and the quality of bread were weak). The entire hotel is well organised, the rooms are well equipped and comfortable, the beach is wonderfull but very dangerously wavy sometimes.
Disliked · The only thing that we hated was the Friday music at lunchtime and Saturday music at lunchtime too. It was a mixture of rock and techno. And it was incredibly loud . Noone liked , noone enjoyed it but management said that was Mariott signature music. We escaped first time from the central area, second time from the beach.

Date of stay: March 2022
1  Thank fehervar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews