We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
49 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$725
Hotels.comUS$725
TravelocityUS$725
TripadvisorUS$725
Orbitz.comUS$725
Booking.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,520)
Filter reviews
6,520 results
Traveller rating
4,293
1,438
481
165
143
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
4,293
1,438
481
165
143
Show reviews that mention
All reviews royal beach club erik garcia swim up bar zip lining room service costa rica dinner reservations pizza blue shirt italian restaurant all inclusives pura vida swiss travel hot springs make reservations horseback riding our honeymoon
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,258 - 1,263 of 6,520 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2019

For our honeymoon, we booked a week at the Westin and enjoyed all the amenities. Today is the last day and we are sad to leave. The food is great, enjoyed the Bamboo restaurant the most- especially the ginger, passion fruit specialty drink it was plentiful and delicious! The buffet at Mitre is excellent. We enjoyed the pool bar, pool basketball, and volleyball. The grounds are pristine and well kept, staff is friendly and accommodating! Many different species of wildlife, trees and plants. We enjoyed taking the mountain bikes around the trails to the lookout (is a tough climb but well worth it), enjoyed the kayaks and a bit disappointed there was only one paddle board instead of two, but it was nice.

Upon recommendations from others on trip advisor, we chose to go though Erik Garcia for our day excursion to Parque Nacional rincon de la Vieja. You’ll find him on the beach outside the hotel- blue shirt and hat. He graciously booked our excursion the day before with a wonderful guide, Pablo (also teaches surfing at the nearby beach through Pablo Surf school). He was wonderful! We accomplished everything, kept us transitioning through the two waterfalls, hot springs, canopy zip line, and hike to see the geysers. Thanks to Erik and Pablo for making the trip complete! He needs a little stand built!

Walk up the beach to the next town and watch the sunset on the beach- was the most beautiful sunset I have ever seen. We also explored the local town of Tamarindo (30 min away by car). We rented a car from Economy at the Westin for $60 total for 24hours. The waves at this beach were awesome! You can rent an umbrella and 2 chairs for $20. Lots of surfers, coconut drink vendors, and amazing waves! Ate at a great locally owned, family restaurant, Breaking Bread (Walter was there). Drank a beer or 2 at Volcano Brewing and played a Round of disc golf on The property. It’s worth going out to see this quaint surfer town.

Overall we will miss Costa Rica, the Westin staff and our guides!

♥️

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Suzzyq92
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 July 2019

This has to be one of the most beautiful, sprwaling properties anywhere. It is so lush and green with beautiful flowers and unusal fauna everywhere. There are iguanas, howler monkies a few other small animals and a plethora of birds mulling around. The rooms are quite spacious and lovely, though there are no dressers which makes no sense. All you get are a few cubbies. Plenty of hanging space, but for what?
The pool is huge and amazing. The staff are extremely friendly and will to cater to your every need. We tried 5 of the restaurants and enjoyed them all, though we liked the Italian the best. It was truly an amazing experience.
1 major complaint: Because the grounds are so huge, you have to take shuttles back and forth from your rooom to the pool, buffet, restaurants and main lobby. Often they were plentiful, but sometimes we waited over 10 minutes. On Sunday there were none to be found. I had to call multiple times to get one and we were cutting it very close to check out. It grew frustrating on a number of ocassions.
Overall, a splendid vacation.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 July 2019

We had the best time staying at the Westin! The food was delicious, staff was friendly, grounds were gorgeous. Our rooms were very comfortable. From the moment we arrived our visit was smooth. We were ushered into the westin family area and helped by Nelson (I believe that was his name). They went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. The girls working in family area at the pool were also extremely helpful and friendly. I was soon sad when we had to leave! I could have stayed forever.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 July 2019

Second time visiting this property, this time with the kids. Fun place, great views, lots of wildlife (monkeys, iguanas, etc). All of the employees are so nice and friendly to everyone. The restaurants (need to book right away,) have excellent food, the bars have great drinks and excellent service. The buffet is actually very good and has many choices and a good rotating selection. Pool area is perfect.

If you want to have any excursions or side trips (ATVs, animal viewing, tubing, zip line, horseback riding, waterfalls, etc) see Erik Garcia just outside the hotel on the way to the beach. Very nice guy, every trip is as advertised, on time, and with reliable guides. We had fun on every one and the price is right. He is definitely your guide to having fun in the area.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank montebyrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 July 2019

We visited the Westin Playa Conchal in order to attend our niece's wedding. We are Marriott Platinum and we booked the Royal Beach Club section of the hotel using points. This is an adults only section of the hotel and those that are not staying in this section cannot use the pool or restaurant designated for the Royal Beach Club Members. We were contacted by or concierge, Alberto, about a week before our trip. Alberto could not have been more accommodating! We received a platinum upgrade to a one bedroom suite in Tower 2, and Alberto handled all of our dinner reservations and anything else we needed during our stay. When we arrived at the main lobby, we were immediately taken to the Royal Beach Club lobby for check-in. The process was very quick and pleasant and Maureen took great care of us. Our room was not ready, so we dined at Faisanella which is a restaurant available to only Royal Beach Club Members for breakfast and lunch. We were assigned room 2304, which had a separate living area, bedroom, two bathrooms, and a beautiful terrace with two chairs and ottomans, swing and outdoor tub. The room was absolutely beautiful. The beach isn't the best in this area and as others have said, the focus of this resort is not the beach. We spent a lot of time at the main pool in order to spend time with family staying at the resort for the wedding. The main pool, however, was really crowded and the water was grossly warm and not refreshing at all. It was difficult to find a lounge chair at this pool. The Royal Beach Club pool was absolutely wonderful as there was rarely more than 20 people at the pool. It was always possible to get a beach chair. Bergen was one of the servers at the Royal Beach Club pool and he always greeted us by name and was super attentive. We visited Faisanella for breakfast and lunch and also used room service for breakfast. Room service always arrived within 45 minutes and you could preorder for a designated time if you wanted to. For lunch, we visited Caracola and Spirula. Pizza at Spirula was our favorite. Try the diablo pizza if you like spicy! For dinner, we dined at Faisanela, Catalinas, Bamboo and Manglar. We loved Faisanela and Catalinas. Manglar was also very good. The mushroom risotto at Faisanela and Catalinas was absolutely fantastic. Bamboo was our least favorite. The pork in the pad thai was very chewy and the chicken satay was over cooked. We are not people that generally stay at all-inclusive hotels as we enjoy the local restaurants; however, we found the food at the Westin to be very good. The staff at the Westin is amazing! We felt very welcome and appreciated as Platinum members of Marriott. The hotel did a great job with our niece's wedding. The ceremony was held in a garden on a hill off of the golf course and the reception was held at the La Sabana restaurant. Everything was absolutely beautiful. You will see Iguanas, monkeys, coates and various other animals at the resort. There is a dog and a few cats that make themselves quite at home. The staff was very kind to the dog and cats and we were very happy to see that! The Imperial Bar is the only bar that is open past 10:00 p.m. until midnight and I believe 1:00 a.m. on the weekends. As Platinum members, we received premium alcohol at all bars. On two instances at the Imperial bar during our week stay, we did have a problem in that we received alcohol that was not premium for sure and it tasted off. I don't know what the deal was at the bar. The manager was the server on the first instance. We didn't experience this at any of the other bars or restaurants. There are far too many Westin employees to name and thank as we received exceptional service from almost everyone during our stay!

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Tahiti Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews