We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great Dive Masters and PADI Certification Training

Our family used Deep Blue for multiple days of diving. My husband was certified through them as... read more

Reviewed 10 June 2021
K10Maley
Friendly dive co

This feels like a more intimate outfit than the bigger companies in Coco. Nice dive masters. Good... read more

Reviewed 28 December 2019
hjgoldsmith
,
New Rochelle, New York
via mobile
Read all 281 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Playas del Coco
from US$177.90
More Info
from US$97.44
More Info
from US$117.95
More Info
from US$92.31
More Info
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveller rating
224
26
13
7
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
224
26
13
7
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dive shop bat island white tip sharks bull sharks boat trip emanuel diving boats captain coco operation outfit vacation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 281 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2021

Our family used Deep Blue for multiple days of diving. My husband was certified through them as well. Having been certified for 15 years I thought Deep Blue's training was 'Above and Beyond' and felt he received some of the best training I've seen. They made sure he was knowledgeable and comfortable in the water. Our dive masters have been Brian and Nico and they made the trips wonderful. The captains were great as well, Enrique saw dolphins on our way to the second dive and circled the boat to play with them. The entire boat was on their feet watching and the day could not have been better! I would dive with them in a heartbeat!

Date of experience: June 2021
Thank K10Maley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2021

We booked a boat trip with them on our last day of vacation, to go to Bat Island to see the bull sharks. After driving 150 km, we arrived at their dive shop and confirmed our reservation, when we checked in, no one warned us that we had to pay in advance.

As the trip was 3 hours away, we went to the beach behind the dive shop to hang out. When we returned an hour before boarding to start preparing, we found that our seats on the boat had been sold to other people. The excuse was they had paid first! We couldn't understand it, no one asked us for money when we confirmed the reservation. Despite being their mistake, they did not offer us an alternative or any solution, we have never been so disappointed.

When we were able to talk to the owner, it only made the situation worse, he was extremely rude to us and we left his shop devastated, they had ruined our last day of vacation.

Warning! Later we discovered that their boats are horrible, they have a very bad reputation in the area.

Fortunately our story had a happy ending, we managed to find another fantastic dive operation, who chartered an extra boat just for us, we finally made it to Bat Island and fulfilled our dream of diving with bull sharks. It had its price but it was worth every penny.

Run away from this shop and its extremely rude owner! There are fantastic dive operations in Playas del Coco, any alternative is better than this shop.

Date of experience: April 2020
2  Thank Marijkemermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2020

The diving center has good facilities, however at the day we dove they joinned staff with the "Summer Salt Dive Center. Except by the captain, all staff members were absolutely inexperienced and they performed a awful dive plan put all divers at risk. As a experienced Dive Master with dives in several countries this was my worst experience ever.

Date of experience: December 2019
2  Thank eduardop0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2019 via mobile

This feels like a more intimate outfit than the bigger companies in Coco. Nice dive masters. Good boats. Dives were fun. Great morning.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank hjgoldsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2019

Deep blue was an amazing dive experience. Myself and 3 of my siblings were certified to dive at deep blue this November and it couldn't have been a more amazing experience.
Emanuel was our dive instructor and he was amazing. Extremely calm and clear when teaching skills and explaining theory that we had trouble understanding. Everybody else that worked at the shop was also incredible and friendly.

The dives were also incredible and we were able to see white tip sharks, spotted devil Ray's, and turtles among other things.

Hope to be able to visit deep blue again soon!

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank Jmh9301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews