We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$140
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/10/22
Booking.com
US$170
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hurb
US$79
View deal
PricelineUS$170
Hotels.comUS$140
TravelocityUS$140
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (571)
Filter reviews
572 results
Traveller rating
364
126
45
19
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
364
126
45
19
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews italian restaurant banana wind pool bar all inclusive package costa rica pura vida game room buffet style bunk beds beautiful beach sloth sanctuary activities director restaurant staff food and drinks large pool hot springs pool side
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 572 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2022 via mobile

This place saved us. We were originally booked at another hotel close by but it was so bad, we checked out almost immediately. Luckily, we were able to get a room here which saved our vacation. The staff is marvelous, starting with Alejandro, a young Costa Rican man who returned from the States to work here. His colleague, Manuel, helped us arrange transportation to the airport, as well as a visit from the doctor for the required Covid test to get back to the States. The room was lovely. We were on the ground floor facing the pool, and I could go out that way every morning for my mile long swim in their gorgeous pool. There are not a lot of local restaurants worth visiting other than Coco Loco, so we took most of our meals there, and the food was delicious. Their Italian restaurant, Capprcios, was very good, made even better by “James Bond,” our waiter, an internationally qualified server. Pool bar and open air breakfast restaurant were sublime.

Room tip: Poolside rooms a must
Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank bessobecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rosaura Navarro, Owner at Margaritaville Beach Resort Playa Flamingo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2022

Hi Bessobecker,
Thank you so much for your great review. We are so pleased to receive your positive feedback and will share it with our entire team. We appreciate your staying with us and hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2022 via mobile

We were 3 friends in Costa Rica to fish.
Margaritaville was a perfect choice to stay

From our check in ( Alejandro was awesome) to our corner room to the pool and beach we had zero complaints.

The food was very good for an all inclusive and the staff ( Marvin at the pool bar , Fiona at the restaurant and even the manager Ricardo ) made our trip !! They made you feel like family.

Liquor is NOT top shelf if you have the all inclusive as we did. There is an extra charge but we found the house brands fine and plenty strong.

The fishing spot is 1/2 mile from the hotel and we caught plenty of nice tuna.

Thank you to Chef Junior for cleaning , cooking and serving us like rock stars. Your food and presentation was second to none and we were the hit of the dining room.

Seek out Minor Gonzalez on the beach for your fishing trips ( his was better than the one we pre booked ). He can also set you up
On the beach with a tent , chairs and a table. All for about $20.

Lastly …. Forget the massage at the hotel. The ladies on the beach do a fantastic job for $40 an hour.

We had a great time !! Be back soon

Dave , Rich and Jim

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank NJGIANTSFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rosaura Navarro, Owner at Margaritaville Beach Resort Playa Flamingo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2022

Dear Njgiantsfan,
Thank you so much for your great review. We are so pleased to receive your positive feedback and will share it with our entire team. We appreciate your staying with us and hope to see you again in the near future.
Best Regards,
Guest service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2022 via mobile

Terrific setting and wonderful staff. We did the all-inclusive stay with kids ages 10 and 13. Kids had a fantastic time between the pool and the beach and the small but vet functional kids’ game room. Food was good (but mostly American). We recommend booking a few adventures - we did horse back riding one afternoon, and surf lessons another. We cannot recommend the staff enough - cordial, warm, and helpful without fail. Particularly Elias, Veronica, Manolo and Joselyn at the bar, and Jamie and Gerold at Capriccio’s Italian restaurant. Our only complaint is that the hotel is dated where environmental things are concerned - still using plastic bottles and cups, and strangely lacking hooks to hang up towels so they do not need laundering. These seem like easy fixes and was unusual given our experience in other places in CR.

Room tip: Book airport transfer in advance, and decide on side excursions in advance (or at start of stay) to guarantee best times of day.
Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rosaura Navarro, Owner at Margaritaville Beach Resort Playa Flamingo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2022

Dear Alice B,
Thank you so much for your great review. We are so pleased to receive your positive feedback and will share it with our entire team. We appreciate your staying with us and hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2022

We never wanted to leave. Everyone that works here is happy, helpful and so FUN. The number one employee is Greddy, the activities director. He built a sand castle with our kids every night while we watched the sunset. He also organized relaxing morning stretches and water polo. It’s a small resort so if you forget something in your room then no problem. The front desk will issue a wrist band to get in and out of the room. It’s priceless. The kids could get in and out by themselves and I never had to remember my key. Why don’t all resorts do this? I also recommend doing the all inclusive. We only ate on the resort and LOVED the food. We were there for four nights and we had to repeat restaurants but they change the menu. I felt totally safe there and will be dreaming of the swim up bar for years to come.

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank P480LUleahb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rosaura Navarro, Owner at Margaritaville Beach Resort Playa Flamingo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2022

Dear P480LUleahb,
Thank you so much for your great review. We are so pleased to receive your positive feedback and will share it with our entire team. We appreciate your staying with us and hope to see you again in the near future.
Best Regards,
Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2022

This is a pretty nice hotel with mostly uninterested staff. We came for the beach but quickly learned that the surf was very rough so there was really nothing to do except the pool and excursions. As others have noted, there was no notice about the bbq on the lawn.
Our room was really nice and the kids like the cubbies.
Food was repetitive and just ok.
The general vibe at the hotel was not very friendly and everyone in our family felt it. Once we transitioned to our next hotel in Manuel Antonio, we finally felt Pura Vida.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank MilanaGtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rosaura Navarro, Owner at Margaritaville Beach Resort Playa Flamingo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2022

Dear MilanaGtraveler,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review about your recent visit. Your feedback is essential in our effort to improve our service standards. I apologize for the incovenients you experienced during your stay. Your comments have been shared with the appropriate departments so that they may be addressed.
Best Regards,
Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews