We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 6:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Captain Willy is the best in the business!

Captain Willy made the day so special between some fishing and snorkeling and private beaches... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Mpclark3
Great adventure!

What a great day on the water! Captain Willy was informative, well prepared, and hilarious. We just... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Lizzie5280
via mobile
Read all 98 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Tamarindo
from US$69.00
More Info
from US$135.00
More Info
from US$92.31
More Info
from US$135.00
More Info
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
98
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
98
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mackerel amberjack mahi amazing fishing fishing experience great fish catch fish rainbow fish go fishing pura vida great captain sport fishing beautiful boat hour trip filet costa rica super fun
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2021 via mobile

Went with Captain Willy again and had 7 keepers!! Yellowfin Snapper, (2) Tuna Mackerel (2) Grouper and (2) Amberjacks. One was biggest fish of my life at 40lbs. For this price, I wouldn’t be able to have dinner in NYC yet this feast Fed 21 of my friends! Will be fishing with Willy & Tamarindo Tours Discovery again

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank JaySeaver37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2021

The day was perfect. Good music picked by Willy, good weather, and caught more fish than I thought possible! Willy knew all the spots and was a great instructor and captain. A highly recommend experience!

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank 992raer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2021 via mobile

I had an amazing time. Captain William is spectacular at his craft. 20 years of knowledge on the local water and he was kind enough to share with it us, while getting us on some great fish. The boat was crafted with excellence. The equipment was in incredible shape. I will definitely be running it back again before I leave Tamarindo. It’s also great going out with someone who actually wants you to catch fish and have the time of your life! Thanks Captain William

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank johnoL1815RH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2021 via mobile

We had a great day of fishing with Willi and we’d definitely recommend him to anyone that’s interested in a fishing trip in Tamarindo. We booked a half day trip. My teen daughter wanted to fish the rest of the family didn’t really care if we did or didn’t but after we did it we were so glad we did! even my teen son who said he didn’t like fishing was jumping up to grab the fishing rod when the line tugged. Willi makes everyone enjoy fishing! We caught a lot of fish we caught a African pompano, rainbow fish, rock snapper and tuna mackerel. We’ll never forget that the first tug of my daughter’s line was a 280 pound black fin shark it jumped three feet out of the water and snapped the line, it was amazing to see that! Willi does an amazing job at finding the fish and wants to catch fish just as much as you do. The boat is clean and there was shade and Willi brought a cooler full of soda, beer, water and pineapple. It was so much fun for everyone in the family. We would definitely recommend.

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank danielle_johns812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2021

We had the best time with Captain Willy on a 1/2 day fishing trip. He was professional, fun, and most importantly, on the fish. The boat is meticulously clean and well-maintained. There is a canopy to provide shade. Plenty of tackle for all on-board. Bluetooth sound system, bring your own tunes. It was awesome and I'll be coming back soon!

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank swellgazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews