We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch food and service, well worth at least one visit if not more!”

Dragonfly Bar & Grill
Ranked #19 of 224 Restaurants in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$23
Cuisines: Costa Rican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Dragonfly Bar & Grill, a Tamarindo institution since its opening in January 2005. Highly touted as one of the best dining establishments in the bustling tourist town of Tamarindo, Costa Rica, Dragonfly consistently delivers exceptional cuisine, fantastic wines, cocktails and craft beers with gracious and knowledgeable service. Sourcing fresh local ingredients and seasonally adapting our menu options, Dragonfly Bar & Grill offers creative culinary cuisine and exceptional value in a charming and romantic atmosphere. Tucked away a short stroll from the town center, we are able to create a unique ambiance for our guests and are thrilled to share with them our little piece of paradise! We do not have an actual street address - We are a short stroll for the town center on Corona Street, after Pizzeria La Baula and just before Bolas Locas Mini Golf, behind Hotel Pasatiempo.
Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

Tuna Tartare was tender and flavourful. The red curry with shrimp was wonderful. The variety of vegetables in the dish and their preparation was excellent. Shared a chiro bowl for desert and was a great treat and just enough. Will have to decide what to order on the next visit.

Thank palmerj1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dani-kris_dragonfly, Owner at Dragonfly Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Thank you for sharing your review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience at the Dragonfly, and that you appreciated the excellent food and service! We look forward to having you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,068)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 88 of 1,068 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

Excellent meal and service. Seems to be busy which is always a good sign. Had the lemon chicken special which was amazing! Try it, you won't be disappointed!

Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dani-kris_dragonfly, Owner at Dragonfly Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Thank you for sharing your review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your experience at the Dragonfly! We appreciate your feedback and recommendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

Although we arrived here just as the power went out in town, the friendly staff was week prepared and had candlelight setups in no time for a intimate meal. Cooking on gas meant no power was no problem! The seared tuna was out off this world! One off us had the whole Sea Bass, and it was cooked just right, making extracting the bones real easy, even in the dark. Staff was very attentive, and ready to explain in detail any fish. Price was in line for one of the better restaurants in town. Very well recommended.

Thank onigetnom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dani-kris_dragonfly, Owner at Dragonfly Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Thank you for sharing your review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your candlelight dining experience at the Dragonfly during the power outage! We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback and recommendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

The restaurant is off the main road, but near a number other popular evening choices. We had lime mint slush drinks, Thai beef salad, tres leches dessert. All were memorable. Great vibe.

Thank rfwrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dani-kris_dragonfly, Owner at Dragonfly Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Thank you for sharing your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed a memorable experience at the Dragonfly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

We had an incredible meal and great service. Wonderful atmosphere and setting. Make a reservation because they are very popular.

Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dani-kris_dragonfly, Owner at Dragonfly Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Thank you for sharing your review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your experience at the Dragonfly and we appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dragonfly Bar & Grill also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Dragonfly Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing