We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$209
Booking.comUS$209
Hotels.comUS$209
PricelineUS$209
TravelocityUS$209
Destinia.comUS$210
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,449)
Filter reviews
3,449 results
Traveller rating
1,307
1,210
493
244
195
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,307
1,210
493
244
195
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swim up bar tour desk family pool adult only pool flying bull ocean side costa rica lagoon pool grassy area breakfast buffet in town ocean view room third floor lounge chairs large pool restaurants and shops nice resort
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
284 - 289 of 3,449 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2021

Hotel is located right on the beach in the center of Tamarindo. Close to Everything! Also appreciated the assistance and information in scheduling our Covid test required to leave the country and return to the US. Only negative was our room was right on the street, street level, so noise was a minor issue at night.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BradESmith1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 17 June 2021 via mobile

We decided to stop in for lunch after passing Hotel Diria as we walked the beach.

The patio was inviting and we assumed the food and beverages would match.

Nope.

The food was some of the worst we’ve had…ever. Really terrible. The cocktails were no better.

The staff hit us up (hard) for a tip at the end.

Really, the whole experience was pretty bad. Stay clear.

This is one of those establishments that relies on a pretty beach and non recurring customers to survive. In our two weeks in Tamarindo we found PLENTY of better places to eat and drink.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank kbinsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 16 June 2021 via mobile

We stayed for four days. Great location, central in Tamarindo and on the beach. Like our other Costa Rica hotels, very low occupancy - only about 25 percent. Relatively inexpensive due to low occupancy. We really liked the breakfast buffet. Rooms are small and need to be updated. We had a broken shower in one of our rooms, and no hot water in the other. We asked at the front desk 3 times over 3 days for fixes to both, including manager escalations. Nothing was fixed and no followup from the staff. I rementioned at checkout after a 530 am cold shower - no empathy or apology and no offer of any compensation. The Diria needs to work harder...

Room tip: Make sure your room has hot water. Take advantage of the excellent breakfast buffet.
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank PaloAltoWorldTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 15 June 2021

I’ve stayed in Tamarindo many times and finally tried the Diria Beach Resort. I could not have been more disappointed. Booked two rooms in the Tropical Adults only section. Asked for 1 room with 2 queens and 1 room with a king bed. We arrive after a long flight to find out they couldn’t honor our room category because they were understaffed. Whatever that means. Moved us to the beach front rooms, which was supposed to be an upgrade. It’s not! These rooms are really dated, dirty and reminiscent of a motel room. That is exactly why we wanted the new section of the resort. We get to our room and it had two queen beds. Figured they just got our room and the kids room wrong. Nope. No king beds available even though we booked the rooms weeks in advance. Before you book think about how you will react if you get there and your room isn’t available and you can’t even share a king bed with your partner. Additionally, we get to our room after the 3:00 check in and there is an electrician on the balcony rewiring a light fixture. What a joke. Our kids room had the A/C stop working the last day. They send a maintenance guy to repair it... who couldn’t. Made for a pretty hot night. And as other reviewers have said don’t expect the front desk to be sympathetic to your problems. They are not.

The only nice thing I can say about this place is it is on the beach but that alone doesn’t make up for their glaring shortfalls. The lobby is really nice but as soon as you get outside the lobby you quickly see how dirty the place is a and how poorly it is maintained. They couldn’t even get the fruit plate in the morning right. Whether it was the pineapple, mango, papaya, etc. they left the rind on. Really you can’t cut that off so your guests don’t have to prepare the prepared food. Seriously.

Honestly, look elsewhere. This is the first 1 star review I have ever written.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Wanderlust226_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 5 June 2021 via mobile

We had a large group (30+) staying at the Diria for our wedding in May 2021. The hotel staff went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. They made it so easy to move a large group to and from the airport. The food at all their restaurants was delicious, and the resort is as beautiful as the pictures. They have the best sunset views! The rooms were nice and comfortable, and the resort pools were big and not overcrowded. It is in the middle of town, so everything you need is right at your doorstep. You won't regret visiting the Diria!

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank katywU8866SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews