We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$140
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$120
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/10/22
Trip.com
US$113
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/10/22
PricelineUS$140
Hotels.comUS$120
TravelocityUS$120
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (537)
Filter reviews
537 results
Traveller rating
502
27
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
502
27
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews every morning costa rica outdoor shower eggs made to order banana bread daily breakfast minute walk to the beach the breakfast area the entire hotel fresh fruit highly recommend staying here the hotel manager fantastic stay stayed longer rooms are spacious bars and restaurants small pool
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 537 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2022 via mobile

We stayed in Tamarindo for 5 nights in March and picked the Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel because of the great reviews, proximity to the shops and restaurants and that it was an adult only hotel.
I would like to say that Marie was a dream, she was extremely friendly, professional and knowledgeable. I booked the estuary boat ride and a sunset catamaran and she was able to recommend tour providers and book everything for us quick and with no effort needed on our end. I can’t say enough about her professionalism and care she puts into her interaction with us.
On day 3 of our 5 days at the hotel we had a second “manager” oversee the hotel on Maries day off. Our day stated at breakfast, which up to this point was great. Marie would usually greet us ask us about our stay and look after everything for us. On this day however we were not greeted as usual, instead the “manager” on didn’t even say so much as a hello when we arrived for breakfast. I honestly wouldn’t have even given that a second thought… had we not had the experience we did leading up to this. It was like two different hotel stays. We as guests had to have masks on to go to the buffet (completely understandable) but she and the gentleman that was also “ managing” that day didn’t seem to follow the same rules. He approached the buffet several times to get breakfast talking and laughing without a mask on.. didn’t seem like the rules applied to them.
That night we went out to watch the sunset have a nice dinner and at 10:07pm we came up the back beach entrance as we had the other nights. When we got to the door it was locked and our code wasn’t opening the door. So we rang the doorbell and waited. After a few minutes and ringing the doorbell a few more times the door opened with the security on duty and the manager from breakfast.she proceeded to very rudely ask us if we can read the sign… and that we can’t use this entrance after 10pm.,.. it was 10:07pm. She was extremely rude, was scolding us and confrontational. She threaten to call the police on us and told us it was a private business therefore she could kick us out for coming in the wrong door…. Needless to say the evening got heated and we retreated to our room. Terrified the police would show up and we would be without a place to stay. I spent the rest of the evening on the phone trying to get us moved (we booked though points). We ended up moving hotels for the last night as we did not feels safe or welcomed at this hotel.
I work in the hotel industry and have for 20 years.
I understand rules and hotel security. I followed every rule the place had. What I didn’t realize was that we couldn’t come in that door after 10pm. I also know we didn’t roll up at 3am intoxicated yelling and screaming. We are paying guests of the hotel, she made us feel like she was doing us a favour by letting us stay there and treated us very poorly…. This person should NOT be customer facing. She has no interest in the hotel guests or their comfort.
Our last day in Tamarindo was ruined because of her.
If you are going to book here please be aware that after 10pm they except you to walk down a dark red clay dirt road that has sharp rocks everywhere…, it’s unsafe and you can’t get the clay off your shoes or skin.
Extremely disappointed in our stay here and will NEVER go back and NEVER recommend this hotel to anyone.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Melody A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Joe Garcia, General Manager at Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2022

The incident you describe plays out very differently in our memory but I see little point in a " he said she said " themed debate on this forum.

Every single member of staff at Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel is fully committed to providing the very best guest experience for all visitors who have chosen to stay with us.

Unfortunately, we do need to operate within a few policies and parameters that make the property safe and secure for both guests as well as those of us who live and work here.

It pains us that this was the source of so much discord and antagonism that our employee felt threatened and unsafe at her job.

We will learn from this and move forward.


Best regards,
Bathsheba Goveas
( Guest Relations )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2022 via mobile

Perfect boutique hotel just a couple of minutes walk from restaurants and the beach! My wife and I loved it. Just far enough from downtown that all you hear are the birds every morning and night. Pool, delicious breakfast, multiple covered outdoor lounge areas, workout area all made the property just perfect. The covered areas by the pool are perfect for the early evening rain showers. Added bonus, it's adults only! The staff as a whole have been brilliant: Bathsheba welcomed us after normal check-in hours and showed us the lay of the land of the whole hotel. Marie set up surf lessons for us and gave us multiple restaurant recommendations. Both were gracious and outgoing, as we're the rest of the hotel staff. 10/10 overall! Would come back in a heartbeat!!!

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alec S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 22 April 2022

We stayed here for almost a week when we visited Costa Rica a few weeks ago. Really enjoyed the chilled out vibe and the owner was very accommodating when we needed to make some late changes to our booking which was greatly appreciated. Would recommend staying here to anyone passing this way.

Date of stay: March 2022
Thank sectorseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 April 2022

Really happy with this hotel choice in Tamarindo. Once you get in off the dusty street you step into a garden oasis with friendly staff, clean facilities and a great location. The property had a small pool for a dip and lots of lounging areas around with shading. I like that there was cornhole and hammocks around the property as well.

The location is super easy to walk to restaurants and bars through the back pathway shortcut. There is also ample parking outside the hotel.

It was a bit more of a tranquil atmosphere, so maybe not the right vibe if you are looking for a party hotel.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sean-veets
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 29 March 2022

This was a terrific spot away from the noise of the bars/restaurants, overall. It felt like an oasis away from the busyness of being in the heart of Tamarindo, which was great for sleeping. Marie took wonderful care of my sister and me - from where to get Covid tests, to buying a charger for my lost phone charger, to a wonderful vegan meal recommendation (Dragonfly Bar & Grill: the Buddha Bowl). Best of all, when we had to be out the door by 5:30 am, Marie made sure we had in our fridges some fresh fruit and baked goods to take with us. And her Spanish is damn impressive! Also, the pool was lovely because you could actually swim laps. We'd definitely stay there again.

Room tip: Our rooms were on the main level by the pool. Lovely for morning swims.
Date of stay: March 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank O8319XPkated
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews