We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
Nearby Hotels
US$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$228
US$221
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Luamey(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$304
US$190
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ten North Tamarindo Beach Hotel(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hacienda JJ(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Botella de Leche Hostel(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Amarilla(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$325
US$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
86
66
26
14
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
66
26
14
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrench bakerybakery attachedfrench couplecosta ricabusy partclean roomscleaning stafffive nightsocean viewnight guardminute walkhotel is perfectnight lifetamarindo beachdefinitely stay here againestuary tourhowler monkeys in the trees
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Don't let the missing fancy luxuries fool you; THIS is the place to be. Great staff. Amazing French bakery. Views to die for. Minutes from the centre far enough away from the maddening crowds but a 6-7 minute walk to the centre of the action). The real deal. The real experience. If buffets and non-stop party crowds are your thing, go somewhere else. If you like wine or beer with the setting sun, a killer red snapper meal, or just a pastry and coffee in the morning, book here now.

Room Tip: main floor, facing the beach
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Marygallant2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017

We used Tamarindo as our stop on the day of our flight in and the night before our flight out of Costa Rica due to the proximity to Liberia. Our stay here was perfect - no need to get into a car, with a relaxing garden, the beach right there and a variety of stores and restaurants nearby. Rooms were clean and comfortable.
Special thanks to Trish, who was a great source of local information and very helpful when I needed to deal with a rental car claim by telephone!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017

First off, Tamarindo is kind of a touristy place, so don't expect your hotel dollars to go as far as elsewhere in Costa Rica. Although not perfect, I thought it was pretty good value. Some random points:

The room: I actually thought it was very clean despite what some other reviews have stated. No roaches although lots of mosquitoes. I thought the room was tastefully decorated and thought it looked good. Our room faced the road which meant there was a bit of noise. Everything was manageable except for one night when the Crazy Monkey (club down the street) had a big party. A room facing the inside/beach would have been better.

Service: Thought the French lady in the front was very nice. Helpful in letting us know where everything was and arranging tours for us.

Tours: On the topic of tours, we went on a couple and the best was the crocodile tour. However, DON'T buy it from the hotel. Walk down the road (opposite direction from the hotel) for literally like 30 seconds and you will run into the place that sells the tour without the markup. About tours in general - if you want peace of mind book from the hotel, but keep in mind almost everybody are just reselling tours.

Location: Tamarindo is a small place and you don't need a car unless you are going far away. This hotel is located on the very end of the beach. DO NOT go into the forest (ie, do not turn right) because there are crocodiles there. People have been bitten before. Regardless, quite a romantic walk towards the beach and away from the part where people are partying/selling drugs/etc.

Nearby amenities: Closest grocery store/ATM is about a 5-10 minute walk away from town. You need to walk on the shoulder of the highway and it may be uncomfortable for some though! There are smaller grocery stores in Tamarindo itself if you just need necessities. Lots of restaurants in the main town, which is 5-10 minutes walk away. There is also a pastry shop on the premise (makes sense when you understand the French origin of the hotel). Great for a quick breakfast.

Why not 5*: One night ruined by nearby club (not exactly hotel's fault I guess). Also keep in mind that the location is at the very fringe of town. Not a huge deal, but the location was not as ideal as I thought. Also would have been nice if they had chairs and stuff you could borrow to sit on the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalgaryCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

This hotel is nothing fancy, but the location is fantastic! Just a short walk from town and right on the beach - doesn't get much better than that!

We rolled in early and the gal at the front was as friendly and accommodating as one could want. We dropped off our bags and walked out the back to the beach. There was plenty of beautiful sand and ocean within a few hundred yards to enjoy without fear of the crocodiles.

The room itself was a bit dated, but clean and since we don't spend much time in the room, good enough for us. We paid an extra $10 for the ocean view - totally worth it. There was a little patio in front that faced the ocean, what more could you want?

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 303Shan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

The exterior of this hotel really doesn't do it justice. However, once you walk down the little stairwell to the front desk, we were pleasantly pleased. Trisha was very friendly and thorough even letting us see the available room before booking. We had a basic, but comfortable room with sliding glass door that walked right out to the courtyard complete with palms and hammocks and sandy beach. The price was right and although doesn't include breakfast, there is a fine French bakery attached. I had an excellent glass of Sav Blanc at the bar and enjoyed listening to the diversity of the other guests in house while waiting for my husband to get his fill or surf at Tamarindo beach located just about five min from the hotel.

Room Tip: We liked room one, but the lock was tricky. It was nice having a room on the main floor as they walk right out to the beach.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank whatyouremissing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews