We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meal with a view”
Review of El Tigre Vestido

El Tigre Vestido
Ranked #8 of 226 Restaurants in Heredia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$50
Cuisines: Latin, Costa Rican, International, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, View, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: El Tigre Vestido & Bar Búho are located up in the hills of Santa Barbara de Heredia. Exquisite breakfasts every morning, replete with freshly brewed organic coffee grown in our farm, for lunch, come and enjoy our Latin Fusion Cuisine, cooked with fresh and organic ingredients. The elegant dinners are set around the inviting fireplace or on our open air terrace with twinkling lights that illuminate the Central Valley.
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Great place for relaxing in the hills of Heredia. The restaurant is in a great setting, with airy outdoor balconies that offer views of the distant GAM. The establishment also has a hotel and rambling grounds to explore. They have their own chickens, greenhouse and kitchen garden, which can be visited along gravel paths lined with high, scented hedges.

Thank gabser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2018

We found it to be a bit disappointing. The servers were fabulous. We were told the fish was similar to sea bass. Whatever it was, it was dry, chewy and bland.
I'm a California Chardonnay drinker and was concerned drinking S. American wines. I found a Saviougn Blanc I liked. I was glad I packed a Landmark Vineyard Chardonnay in my checked bag to drink on our balcony.
Breakfast eggs were good-pancakes were dry and tough. The lunch burger was good. Chicken in the wrap had a peppery flavor that over powered. Steak frite was tough even if it were told it was a filet migon.

Thank 818larainej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018

We ate dinner (and breakfast and lunch) here while we stayed at Finca Rosa Blanca. Excellent meals. Lunch was a tuna taco that was outstanding, Dinner was a salad and again terrific fish.

Thank LexTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuhotel, Director Comercial at El Tigre Vestido, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your satisfaction with our Restaurant El Tigre Vestido and we are very happy to know that you find our offer excellent and the tuna tacos outstanding. We take good note to keep them in our menu. For comments and experiences like yours is that we work for and don t compromise on using only the very best quality ingredients. We hope to serve again or your friends in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018

We stayed here partially because of this restaurant. We were not disappointed!
We have traveled a fair amount, so we know to slow down to the local pace, which is good. Innovative menu. The wine menu was new to us, but enjoyed the whites and the organic Malbec.
We had the Slow Roasted Beet Salad and the Marinated and Grilled Costa Rican Hearts of Palm, both presented well and delicious.
Entrees were the Artisanal Pork Chop and the Line Caught Queen Corvina.
Both were amazing, the sauces were perfect.
Highly recommended.
We will dine here again

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuhotel, Director Comercial at El Tigre Vestido, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2018

Dear Richard:

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are very proud of our innovative menu and yes, slow, carefully cook dishes, using only top quality and organic fresh ingredients. So it is always pleasing to hear from guests who have enjoyed this so very much.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

we have stayed 2 nights on this hotel witch is very nice, but the restaurant could improve the standard. we ordered 2 appetizers ceasarsalad with soft croutons and brown haricot vert, looking a bit old. the other appetizer was a ruccula palmito salat, again with soft croutons and a tiny bit of fresh palmito hidden in a green salad.
after starters we had 2 times chicken with no seasoning, one shrimp with rice which was ok and a corvinafish with a lot different things, which was according to my father the most boring thing he have had on the intirre trip (14 days ).
we had a nice bottle of wine, but as some waiters do ,the last 0.1 dl of the bottle was carryed out, trying to sell another, this behavior is simply not ok. i do however think, that it is a matter of instruktion from mangement.

Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuhotel, Director of Sales at El Tigre Vestido, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

We are very glad you enjoy your stay with us, but also very sorry to received this feedback and wish you would let us know while still at the restaurant to be able to offer you other options that please you more. We apologize for the waiter mistake, and let me assure you was a mistake and no any bad will of any kind from us. We work hard to provide the best possible experiences not only for our hotel guest but also for our dinners. Your comment will help us be more attentive . Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Tigre Vestido also viewed

Heredia, Province of Heredia
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
Heredia, Province of Heredia
 
Heredia, Province of Heredia
Heredia, Province of Heredia
 

Been to El Tigre Vestido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing