We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A spot of boutique tranquility”
Review of Hotel Blue Conga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Blue Conga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2015 via mobile

Fantastic stay. Very special. So friendly. A lovely welcome and exceptionally helpful.

It is is the perfect location. Less than a km walk to the centre of town but far enough away from all the noise and bustle. Some of the best restaurants are by the hotel. A bar and 'super'market within 50m. You could rent a bike but it is so close it may not be worth it. We rented a $6 bike to cycle the 8km to Peurto Uvu.

We had the standard room in the ground floor. It had a big balcony with table and hammock. We fell a sleep a few times in the hammock...

The room was spotless and well sized. There was a double and single. As the website etc clearly states there was no air-con. Not that we needed it. We aren't used to being spoilt by such things. There was a super powerful fan. It worked a treat.

Bathroom was clean and nice. Lovely hot shower and big cubicle.

There were big insect nets around the bed but we didn't use. My girlfriend is loved by anything that sucks blood and she didn't get bitten the three nights we were in town.

Bed was comfy. I prefer a firmer mattress as it is better for my bad back.

The hotel had wifi throughout. No matter where you sat, by the pool or the room you got it. It was much better than anything you get in the UK.

Breakfast was perfect. We had just come from Chicago where breakfasts are disgustingly large. It was nice to have something tasty and fresh. A lovely array of fruit. Some was grown in the garden. Eggs different ways depending on day. About the quantity of eggs I would make back home so must be a couple each. Healthy levels.

They were happy to arrange tours. Rent bikes etc. We got them to arrange our bus back to San Jose for $50. It meant we were leaving before breakfast so they made something the night before and popped in fridge.

There was free bottled water. Saved us a fortune. An honesty bar for glass drinks was available and was the same price as the supermarket in town.

The pool area is amazing. Water warm and you can sit reading your book. Heaven.

The other guests were very down to earth and friendly. It was nice to meet guests who come back every year. A good sign.

Really a piece of paradise. Can't understand some of the terrible comments below because they can't be further from what we experienced. If the beer was expensive, it isn't now. There is no air con. I can read, it never said there was. The place is spotless. Staff super friendly and the wifi must have been updated as it is now amazing. The fan would blow you over it is so powerful. All contrary to what a few odd comments said below.

It had character. If you want a Holiday Inn then this is maybe not the place for you.

I hope I can come back! Fantastic.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank coxy_gj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (689)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

126 - 130 of 689 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2015

I stayed at Blue Congo with two friends. The room was very well maintained and the staff is more than willing to help with recommendations for restaurants and excursions. They have bike rentals and a pool - though we did not capitalize on either, many did. The location is easy to find and if you rent a car you must visit Punta Uva as it's a quick 10 minute drive away.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hoisinsauced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2015

My fiancé and I stayed at Hotel Blue Conga about a year ago and I am just now sitting down to write a review. Despite my tardiness, I wanted to share my experience because I had such a good experience at Hotel Blue Conga. I was 5 months pregnant at the time, taking a "babymoon," and my fiancé and I were supposed to rent a house from a local. After a long flight and drive, the local didn't show up to let us in the house! We were beyond devastated. Luckily, I had looked into other options before arriving in Puerto Viejo, so I had seen some pictures of Hotel Blue Conga. When we showed up late in the evening looking for a room, they saved the day! The hotel was able to accommodate us for the entire week, and we had such a nice stay. The rooms are spacious and clean, and the breakfasts were always fresh and delicious. We had a wonderful stay and would absolutely stay at Hotel Blue Conga again.

Room Tip: We liked having a room on the second floor with a balcony that overlooked the pool and courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LotusJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2015

Eric and Stephanie were lovely hosts. They support the locals and take care of their guests better than you can imagine.

Close to the beach and the main attractions, I definitely recommend this place for anyone who would like to spend a great time around Puerto Viejo and its surroundings.

I wish I could have spent more time on the coast to appreciate even more all the recommendations of the owners.

Don't hesitate, this hotel is safe, peaceful and green !


  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Luc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2015

My husband and I were in great need of a vacation and decided to return to Costa Rica. We had chosen the treehouse lodge, but they were already full for our first night. Finding stephanie and the blue Congo was better than we could have hoped. She took such good care of us. Our room was very clean and comfortable and the next day breakfast and the pool were perfect for us to unwind and get into vacation mode. We definitely recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
2.7 km away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,574 reviews
2.8 km away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
1.4 km away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#9 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
731 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Escape Caribeno
Hotel Escape Caribeno
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
172 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel Yare
Hotel Yare
#2 of 3 in Cocles
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue Conga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue Conga

Address: Puerto Viejo de Limon | 800 m south of dawntown, Cocles road, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: $91 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Blue Conga 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Caribbean style boutique hotel situated between Puerto Viejo center and the beach of Cocles. Without claiming to luxury,its comfort is appreciated in this area where it is sometimes difficult to find a quality / fair value.The welcome is personal and organization activities and discoveries upon request.Its philosophy is based on the environment, serenity and openness to the world. Place for sharing and good waves, it is like the a delicious exuberant garden that welcomes it.You will feel in a cocoon of paradise close to hectic activities of Puerto Viejo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Blue Conga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Conga Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing