We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No need to go elsewhere!”
Review of Hotel Banana Azul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Banana Azul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2017

My wife and I went here on our honeymoon and again on our 5th anniversary. We love it! So much to do in the area. The property is magnificent. The staff are so friendly. And the food is amazing! We made the mistake of going out to eat for dinner on our honeymoon, not this trip. We only ate elsewhere for lunch and we didn't regret it. The Howler Suite is so nice...the hammock balcony facing the ocean makes it tough to even get down to the beach, because why put in the extra effort...definitely a Costa Rican must, if you want to relax on the beach and see some wildlife.

Room Tip: Upstairs do not have A/C, but the howler suite has the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PJSpotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 44 of 1,520 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2017

My partner and I recently vacationed at Banana Azul in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica. Not the easiest place to get to but well worth the effort. Highly recommend coordinating your flight to the Limon airport from San Jose with Ernesto of Caribe Fun Tours. He arranged our flight to Limon and a shuttle to pick us up and take us to Banana Azul. It all went flawlessly.
Banana Azul is a stunning boutique hotel located where the rainforest meets the Caribbean. It’s truly a comfortable and beautiful place. The place is run impeccably by Colin and the staff redefines excellence in the service industry. Special thank you to staffers Angelo, Erwin, Yilda and Ronald for making our stay perfect in every way.
Caribe Fun Tours operates out of Banana Azul. The staff is very accommodating and offers a variety of experiences (hiking, rafting, zip lining and more. We did the jungle hike and Jaguar Rescue Center and our guide was Luis. He was great.
This part of Costa Rica looks like the drawn of creation. Think Jurassic Park with hammocks and cocktails and no dinosaurs.

Michael & Jimmy
Palm Springs

Room Tip: Ocean Room #1 has a perfect setting of the beach and the Caribbean Sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

This is months delayed, but we haven't been able to stop thinking about our stay and I feel guiltier every day I wait to write this review. We miss the awesome staff who were always there to have a chat or help us plan an activity. Couldn't have been easier and more beautiful. Thank you! -Cady and Ben

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Cady S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

Most things during our stay were perfect. The hotel is well designed and the beach and breakfast were amazing as well. Only slight issue was that the ceiling between our flat (in the separate building) and the one above, transmitted pretty much all sound so I'd suggest booking a different room if you're sensitive to sound when sleeping.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Goedgedaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinsito, Owner at Hotel Banana Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

Thanks so much for your review. We are sorry about the noise transfer in your room. We have worked hard over the years to minimise this, but when you have an all wood building, there is only so much you can do.
Hope we can host you or your friends in future. Cheers, Colin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

Very nice place. Good food, great staff, beautiful ocean front property. Would definitely stay again. However, make sure your plans don't change. We had to leave a day early and could not get a refund on the extra night. Which was completely explained before I booked. I did not expect to get a refund but was hoping to. AlsoI had a much better massage in town. One of the massage therapist was15 minutes late and then quit 10 minutes before the hour was up. Things come up to cause a person to be late and I totally understand but as a business owner myself I would go a little over board to make it up. Not quit early. All in all, it was a great place and I would highly recommend Banana Azul.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms perfect for the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jnewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinsito, Owner at Hotel Banana Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

Thanks for your great review despite some of the issues you had. My name is Colin and I am the owner of the hotel. Sorry, I was away on vacation during your stay.

I wish we could give people refunds for canceled stays, but we are a small hotel and every single night reservation matters to us since we have such a high compliment of staff. Not only do we loose the room revenue we were counting on, but we also lose restaurant and other miscellaneous sales. Our restaurant, housekeeping staff are scheduled around hotel occupancy. We do however, will refund a guest if we are able to re-rent the room that they canceled. In more than half the cases, we are able to achieve this. I know many people are used to booking at larger hotels with more flexibility cancellation policies. Not understanding how small hotels work, many people do not understand that we experience much different financial realities then large hotels. We try and make it clear to people that the commitment for the room is a 2 way agreement. We would never cancel or shorten a person's reservation without expecting to pay or provide some compensation. That is our commitment to our guests. Many larger hotels have a policy of overbooking, counting on cancellations. It all works when the numbers work, but there are times, they do not have rooms for the reservations they have accepted. These kinds of reservation policies is never something we would consider for our guests.

I also want to apologise about the massage therapist being late for your massage. We use contract local therapists who have worked with us for quite a while. Every once in a while an issue will arise (her motorcycle had problems). It is not uncommon for people in this area to see lateness as not a big issue and not bother to contact us. We have spoken to her and she has assured us this will not happen again without calling.

We are always trying to do better. Thanks for your understanding. Cheers, Colin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
5.2 km away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
3.8 km away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,054 reviews
4.1 km away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
669 reviews
15.9 km away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
194 reviews
7.4 km away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#7 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Banana Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Banana Azul

Address: Playa Negra, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: $88 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Banana Azul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banana Azul hotel is a small and simple hotel north of town on Playa Negra. The small boutique hotel has been created with care using local products and a philosophy that emphasizes relaxation. We cater to adults, 16 years and over. Blooming gardens adorn the property, as does several freely-hanging hammocks, providing the perfect spot for afternoon napping or leisurely reading. A meandering pond inhabited by fish and turtles flows through portions of the property adding a lighter element to the ongoing natural soundtrack of waves crashing against the shoreline. The hotel consists of 22 beautiful guest rooms with private baths, fans (some with A/C), and free WiFi. Most rooms are on the second floor of the main building, and open onto a large veranda with sweeping ocean views and of the garden. Banana Azul offers its guests a quaint restaurant that serves a complimentary filling breakfast, variety of lunch options and refreshing drinks throughout the day and a relaxing three entre dinner option in a romantic atmosphere at night. Caribe Fun Tours is on site to assist with tours and transportation needs and can assist with a variety of package options including visits to the Arenal Volcano, canopy tours, snorkeling trips, and even rafting excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Banana Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Azul Hotel
Banana Azul Puerto Viejo
Hotel Banana Azul Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing