We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation in the Jungle on the Beach!”
Review of Hotel Banana Azul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Banana Azul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2017

The location is excellent, away from the highway and generally quiet. The staff is wonderful and service is possibly the best thing about Banana Azul along with the very excellent food and drink! I ate all my meals there! Why gamble on some joint in town? I've learned that the best located room overlooking the beach is also the most popular and is called "The Howler" and I will try to get it next time. I was in #10, a "Tropical Bath" room which I did not care for. Off the air-conditioned room is a similar size patio with a huge 2-person "outdoor" bath tub and the shower is out there off the bathroom. Problem is that it is closed in with a skylight ceiling and no air circulation! Extremely hot and I never used except for the shower. I tried lying in the hammock, but just too hot!

Room Tip: "The Howler" is the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinsito, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Banana Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Hello Charlie,
We really appreciate feedback from our clients and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay overall. I would like to mention that the in the description of the Tropical Bath Sute it is specified that the room is enclosed (this gives us the ability have A/C in the room), and with no views to the outside. The rooms with ocean views do not have A/C because of the big open balconies. Had you let us know that you were uncomfortable we would have tried to accommodate you with a different room. Next time be sure to book far enough in advance to get the Howler Suite!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 44 of 1,522 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2017

Smashing boutique hotel with only 10 rooms and purely catering for adults. The staff here are amazing and really look after you. There are wonderful gardens which you can view from your balcony and just watch the vast array of colourful birds visit. Spotted a sloth in the tree canopy and toucans too! There is a small pool which was never crowded and the fabulous beach is on your doorstep. You can order food and drinks from the sun loungers on the beach - what more can you ask? the beach itself was a sweeping sandy bay with a nature reserve on the left side and the small town of Puerta Viejo on the right (about 30 mins walk along the beach). We opted to dine at the hotel each night as there is a fresh daily menu and we found the food to be wonderful. You are advised not to walk along the beach at night for safety reasons but there is a security guard doing the rounds every night. We never felt unsafe at any stage. Watching the sunrise on the beach was a fantastic experience.

Room Tip: One of the 2 upstairs rooms on each end of the balcony. They come with that bit more space and you o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank markfT3842SX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

My wife and I went here on our honeymoon and again on our 5th anniversary. We love it! So much to do in the area. The property is magnificent. The staff are so friendly. And the food is amazing! We made the mistake of going out to eat for dinner on our honeymoon, not this trip. We only ate elsewhere for lunch and we didn't regret it. The Howler Suite is so nice...the hammock balcony facing the ocean makes it tough to even get down to the beach, because why put in the extra effort...definitely a Costa Rican must, if you want to relax on the beach and see some wildlife.

Room Tip: Upstairs do not have A/C, but the howler suite has the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PJSpotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

My partner and I recently vacationed at Banana Azul in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica. Not the easiest place to get to but well worth the effort. Highly recommend coordinating your flight to the Limon airport from San Jose with Ernesto of Caribe Fun Tours. He arranged our flight to Limon and a shuttle to pick us up and take us to Banana Azul. It all went flawlessly.
Banana Azul is a stunning boutique hotel located where the rainforest meets the Caribbean. It’s truly a comfortable and beautiful place. The place is run impeccably by Colin and the staff redefines excellence in the service industry. Special thank you to staffers Angelo, Erwin, Yilda and Ronald for making our stay perfect in every way.
Caribe Fun Tours operates out of Banana Azul. The staff is very accommodating and offers a variety of experiences (hiking, rafting, zip lining and more. We did the jungle hike and Jaguar Rescue Center and our guide was Luis. He was great.
This part of Costa Rica looks like the drawn of creation. Think Jurassic Park with hammocks and cocktails and no dinosaurs.

Michael & Jimmy
Palm Springs

Room Tip: Ocean Room #1 has a perfect setting of the beach and the Caribbean Sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

This is months delayed, but we haven't been able to stop thinking about our stay and I feel guiltier every day I wait to write this review. We miss the awesome staff who were always there to have a chat or help us plan an activity. Couldn't have been easier and more beautiful. Thank you! -Cady and Ben

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Cady S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
5.2 km away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
3.8 km away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,054 reviews
4.1 km away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
669 reviews
15.9 km away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
195 reviews
7.4 km away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#7 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Banana Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Banana Azul

Address: Playa Negra, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: $88 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Banana Azul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banana Azul hotel is a small and simple hotel north of town on Playa Negra. The small boutique hotel has been created with care using local products and a philosophy that emphasizes relaxation. We cater to adults, 16 years and over. Blooming gardens adorn the property, as does several freely-hanging hammocks, providing the perfect spot for afternoon napping or leisurely reading. A meandering pond inhabited by fish and turtles flows through portions of the property adding a lighter element to the ongoing natural soundtrack of waves crashing against the shoreline. The hotel consists of 22 beautiful guest rooms with private baths, fans (some with A/C), and free WiFi. Most rooms are on the second floor of the main building, and open onto a large veranda with sweeping ocean views and of the garden. Banana Azul offers its guests a quaint restaurant that serves a complimentary filling breakfast, variety of lunch options and refreshing drinks throughout the day and a relaxing three entre dinner option in a romantic atmosphere at night. Caribe Fun Tours is on site to assist with tours and transportation needs and can assist with a variety of package options including visits to the Arenal Volcano, canopy tours, snorkeling trips, and even rafting excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Banana Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Azul Hotel
Banana Azul Puerto Viejo
Hotel Banana Azul Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing