We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
La Kukula Lodge(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Costa de Papito(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Playa 506(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Perla del Caribe(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
US$99
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Physis Caribbean Bed & Breakfast(Cocles)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Guarana(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Moabi(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$58
US$53
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coco Loco Lodge(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caribe Town(Cocles)
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,631)
Filter reviews
1,631 results
Traveller rating
1,275
273
54
15
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,275
273
54
15
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshowler suiteocean roomthe red frog roomfun tourscosta ricakoi pondtour deskin townlarge balconyour honeymoondogs and catssan josebrowniepura vidaopen airwalk along the beachlounge chairs
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 1,631 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Smashing boutique hotel with only 10 rooms and purely catering for adults. The staff here are amazing and really look after you. There are wonderful gardens which you can view from your balcony and just watch the vast array of colourful birds visit. Spotted a sloth in the tree canopy and toucans too! There is a small pool which was never crowded and the fabulous beach is on your doorstep. You can order food and drinks from the sun loungers on the beach - what more can you ask? the beach itself was a sweeping sandy bay with a nature reserve on the left side and the small town of Puerta Viejo on the right (about 30 mins walk along the beach). We opted to dine at the hotel each night as there is a fresh daily menu and we found the food to be wonderful. You are advised not to walk along the beach at night for safety reasons but there is a security guard doing the rounds every night. We never felt unsafe at any stage. Watching the sunrise on the beach was a fantastic experience.

Room Tip: One of the 2 upstairs rooms on each end of the balcony. They come with that bit more space and you only have 1 close neighbour!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

My wife and I went here on our honeymoon and again on our 5th anniversary. We love it! So much to do in the area. The property is magnificent. The staff are so friendly. And the food is amazing! We made the mistake of going out to eat for dinner on our honeymoon, not this trip. We only ate elsewhere for lunch and we didn't regret it. The Howler Suite is so nice...the hammock balcony facing the ocean makes it tough to even get down to the beach, because why put in the extra effort...definitely a Costa Rican must, if you want to relax on the beach and see some wildlife.

Room Tip: Upstairs do not have A/C, but the howler suite has the ocean view.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PJSpotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

My partner and I recently vacationed at Banana Azul in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica. Not the easiest place to get to but well worth the effort. Highly recommend coordinating your flight to the Limon airport from San Jose with Ernesto of Caribe Fun Tours. He arranged our flight to Limon and a shuttle to pick us up and take us to Banana Azul. It all went flawlessly.
Banana Azul is a stunning boutique hotel located where the rainforest meets the Caribbean. It’s truly a comfortable and beautiful place. The place is run impeccably by Colin and the staff redefines excellence in the service industry. Special thank you to staffers Angelo, Erwin, Yilda and Ronald for making our stay perfect in every way.
Caribe Fun Tours operates out of Banana Azul. The staff is very accommodating and offers a variety of experiences (hiking, rafting, zip lining and more. We did the jungle hike and Jaguar Rescue Center and our guide was Luis. He was great.
This part of Costa Rica looks like the drawn of creation. Think Jurassic Park with hammocks and cocktails and no dinosaurs.

Michael & Jimmy
Palm Springs

Room Tip: Ocean Room #1 has a perfect setting of the beach and the Caribbean Sea
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

This is months delayed, but we haven't been able to stop thinking about our stay and I feel guiltier every day I wait to write this review. We miss the awesome staff who were always there to have a chat or help us plan an activity. Couldn't have been easier and more beautiful. Thank you! -Cady and Ben

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Cady S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

Most things during our stay were perfect. The hotel is well designed and the beach and breakfast were amazing as well. Only slight issue was that the ceiling between our flat (in the separate building) and the one above, transmitted pretty much all sound so I'd suggest booking a different room if you're sensitive to sound when sleeping.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Goedgedaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinsito, Owner at Hotel Banana Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

Thanks so much for your review. We are sorry about the noise transfer in your room. We have worked hard over the years to minimise this, but when you have an all wood building, there is only so much you can do.
Hope we can host you or your friends in future. Cheers, Colin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews