We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
eDreams
CheapTickets
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
14
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
14
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pacific ocean three meals a day forest canopy main building hundreds architecturally casita grid indigenous naturalist excursions dolphins property lodge birds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After over a year of sheltering-in-place, Cielo Lodge was just what I needed. The sounds, smells, and sights that the rain forest offers are amazing, from shockingly beautiful butterflies and species of birds I never imagined could actually exist, to playful monkeys in the trees at the lodge, to a sloth--also right there at the lodge--whose slowness was not-to-be-believed. And the flowers! And Nicole and Keith who have imagined this place into being with excitement and an eye for every detail, and Cielo Lodge's warm, knowledgeable, and incredibly generous staff, they all seem as amazed by the rain forest as their guests. And the architecture, it's beautiful, the lodge is simultaneously lofty and intimate, and the guest suites provide an immensely comfortable and private place to take it all in and replenish yourself. And the food--delicious, fresh, surprising. And, and, and...! Cielo Lodge is magical, I will return.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dbgould1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole Goldstein, Owner at Cielo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We so loved sharing the magic with you and Laurie! We loved watching you take it all, enjoying the sights and sounds, noticing the subtle and the not so subtle. Thank you so much for spending your vacation with us! We so appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This place is extraordinary. The lodge and the suites are airy and exquisitely designed, each framing a different view of the rain forest or the bay. The staff and proprietors are warm, professional, sincerely focused on each guest's comfort, and genuinely engaged and in tune with the forest life. We went on many nature walks, at different times of day, each one providing encounters with different beings, and we took two boat rides, to see dolphins and to thread through mangroves, all of which were amazing. But you can design very different kinds of experiences while staying here, depending on what you like to do. And not to leave out that the food is unbelievably delicious, and beautifully prepared.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lauriepalme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole Goldstein, Owner at Cielo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you Laurie! We so enjoyed sharing the lodge with you guys and we are thrilled that you settled in quickly and really took in the sights and sounds of the jungle. There is nothing like a slow walk through the rainforest, where you really stop and see all of the subtleties. We can't wait for your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2021

I was lucky enough to get a "sneak peek" of the GLORIOUS Cielo Lodge.
This is a one of a kind place that will truly immerse you in nature and immediately connect you to yourself. You are truly right in the middle of the rainforest with views everywhere you look, each more beautiful than the next. The canopy is all around you and wildlife is abundant and present at each turn. Cielo lodge is situated perfectly atop the mountain so you feel like you are at once enveloped in the jungle and touching the sky. Every detail has been thought of, with such great care. The suites are each luxurious and beautiful. The design is clean, bright, open, with virtually entire walls of screens that make you feel you have entered the most exclusive treehouse you've ever seen. Special shoutout to the outdoor shower. I was there for over a week and never once used the indoor one. Getting to gaze out at the mountains and the canopy under the giant showerhead was a highlight. Each suite has a private balcony with its own distinctive view that will truly take your breath away. The suites manage to be both sheltering and entirely open air so you feel connected to the landscape around you. Waking up to the symphony of sounds while the sun rose over the mountain onto the bed, was an experience I'll never forget.
The main lodge building is an absolute dream. Perched almost like a birds nest, high above the town of Golfito with sweeping views down to the Bay, Gulf, and Ocean. It is magical to see. The infinity pool, the beautiful decks, the chairs and furniture made of local wood, every aspect of the design is stunning and will make you want to stay forever.
With several trails on property that lead you down to incredible waterfalls to swim under, I was in absolute heaven. This kind of untouched nature is so hard to come by in today's world.
Lastly, the upper bar area is the perfect spot to catch the sunset. I will never forget these evenings for the rest of my life, you couldn't dream of a more perfect view...
This was probably the most unplugged I've ever been, and given the choice,
I'd probably want to move into Cielo Lodge and never come back.
Don't waste another second, Stay here.

Room tip: I stayed in Suite 1, and personally it's my favorite view. But each is unique in its position and all guaranteed to make your jaw drop.
Date of stay: January 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RileyCostello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole Goldstein, Owner at Cielo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2021

Oh Riley, what an amazing writeup. Thank you, thank you, for all of your kind words and impressions. We loved sharing the Lodge with you. It truly was our pleasure. Here's to all of your next adventures - Wicked, Broadway, and beyond!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2021

A remote,off the grid location offers the ideal place to unwind. You are totally immersed in nature. You can see and experience nature from your private deck or the lodge’s main building. The pool and lounges are inviting. The dining options are planned around locally sourced ingredients. The food is very flavorful , healthy and satisfying.
The rooms are setup for you to live in luxury while enjoying your surroundings.
The staff is very service minded.
This place is definitely a top notch ECO lodge.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank 3012gert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2021


The private suites at Cielo Lodge gives you an opportunity to relax and recharge in a luxurious environment.
Clean, elegant design. Comfortable bed. 2 showers, and the one that’s outdoor is the winner.
On the veranda you see hills and mountains covered with lush vegetation. Parrots and other birds everywhere.
The main building with a bar, restaurant and pool, is spectacular with a view over Golfito Bay and the Pacific Ocean.

Date of stay: April 2021
Thank MikaelH536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews