We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fish Hook Marina & Lodge(Golfito)(Great Value!)
US$66
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostal del Mar(Golfito)(Great Value!)
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$436
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveller rating
201
69
7
8
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
69
7
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla gambabirding triphonesty barswimming poolcosta ricarubber bootsroad scholartwo nightsclose to naturegreat birdingbird guidebasilisk lizardstea and coffeeceiling fanguided night walknature loversnatural history
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 286 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2015

We were really disappointed by the accommodation in this lodge. The room was small, with two single beds and a small shower room, very spartan. The swimming pool was dirty.
There were some fabulous birds and agoutis to see, but otherwise the atmosphere was really depressing. The food was not well cooked, there was no choice, and I understand that it caters entirely for the German and Austrian market. We were the only British there, and when I asked for something in Spanish, they replied in German.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Miriam14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robinwood2, Inhaber at Esquinas Rainforest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2015

We were sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay at Esquinas Lodge. Fortunately, 138 guests rated us as "excellent" or "very good", and only two (including you) rated us as "poor", but we will take your comments seriously and work to improve our standard. It was more of a coincidence that you encountered only German-speaking guests during your stay; 50% coime from English-speaking countries.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2015

The Esquinas Rainforest Lodge is situated in the middle of the jungle near Golfito!
The prices include Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner and you always get 3 courses!
You can book different Tours and the stuff will kindly help you to find the right tour for you!
We did a Nightwalk and I can really recommend it! We had (2 People) a guide for our own and he really know where to find the animals. You can see a lot of different frogs, spiders, snakes, agouti etc! It is absolutely worth it's money!
We also did a walk (2h) in the rainforest around the lodge!
It was a great experience! It was a real Walk - nothing compared with the "streets" through Manuel Antonio National Par (Leave that out if you can - There is nothing worse than that - 800 to 1000 People on one street going to the beaches) If you want to get to know the rainforest than you are the right in the Esquinas Lodge!
We did an upgrade into the Villa (only 5 USD more) and it was great! You have a big terrace, hammocks and you are surrounded by the jungle!
In the morning you wake up with the beautiful singing of the birds and you just enjoy your life!

Room Tip: The villa is great! But every room in Esquinas Lodge is special and you won't make a mistake booking it!
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Frances12318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2015

This is the ultimate eco lodge hidden in a remote area of them tropical dry forest (at least in February). It is close by to the Piedras Blancas National Park and the Golfito Nature Reserve and within touching distance of Panama. They have duplex wooden lodges which are clean and large. Outside of your room there is a covered balcony with tables and chairs which was useful to watch the early morning bird and animal life and comfortable in the evening for a drink and quiet reflection. The eves of the balcony was also the home of a large number of bats. The internet was available but nothing else to remind you of the real outside world.

There is a non descript reception area but you were made to feel welcome. The restaurant was large and was flanked by lounge and reception areas. The were no windows to spoil the view of the forest and wildlife. The food was served but set in an eco sphere - locally sourced foods and menu which took a bit of getting used to. Some of the dishes served were over full and there was no choices available.

The reception lodge also served as the viewing platform for the plentiful local wildlife with the rain forest down one side and a pond down the other. This gave many photo opportunities. There is a swimming pool filled by a local stream and seemed to be mainly inhabited by the local amphibious creatures. It meant you trespassed into the cold water at your peril.

The setting of the lodge is quite beautiful with lots of trail walks into the rain forest and locally farmed agricultural areas. The birdlife was outstanding, very varied and oblivious to humans. The toucans, parrots and other species were prominent. Consequently the lodge was packed out with long distance travelled bird watchers with loads of expensive cameras and accessories. The lodge itself led a series of eco trails for birds and evening walks to discover the plentiful variety of frogs.

The quietness, beautiful setting and wildlife makes this a must visit again place - that's if you can find it.

Room Tip: Not really any preferential spots.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank colin_bishop1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2015

Esquinas feels as though it is in the heart of the jungle and the managers Julia and Fernando are developing it to maximise the experience. The whole ethos and organisation is focused on eco-friendliness. The individual cabins have a spacious bedroom and a very reasonable shower room (hot water availabe) with a covered terrace. Everything was very tidy and clean and the sense of welcome was very warm. The staff were attentive and knowledgeable. The food was delicious - a nicely blended mixture of Costa Rican with more cosmopolitan enhancements. There is a very nice swimming pool with flowing fresh water. Fernando Barrantes, the co-manager is an excellent bird guide and we had a great couple of days with him hunting a variety of quite difficult target species such as White-throated crake, Black-cheeked ant tanager and White-throated shrike tanager. The lodge is set in an estate comprising gardens surrounded by hilly woods with excellent clearly marked trails. The approach road passes through open country and rice paddies and is very good for seedeaters, raptors and a wealth of other bird species.
Internet is available in the lodge building where one can sit and take refreshments or a drink from the bar while looking out on the surrounding flower gardens and trees with many birds including several species of humming birds as well as wonderful butterflies.
We give Esquinas a really enthusiastic and strong recommendation.

Room Tip: The cabins are arranged in two parallel ranks, the lower group are on the same level as the lodge, There is little to choose between them.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pnbfried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2015

I rode there on a motorcycle with my buddies and let me warn you- there is a bridge that must be crossed with two tracks designed for four-wheelers. My buddies and I experienced a real thrill crossing on our bikes! Once we got there, all was good. The food was great and the staff helpful. the rooms are screened in affairs that give you the feeling of camping out. I was reminded of Martin Denny's "Quiet Village" as the sounds of the rainforest at night permeated our room. Most guests had fancy cameras to record the plentiful wildlife there.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews