We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stay booked on line based on Trip Advisor reviews. Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Pochote Grande
Ranked #20 of 40 Hotels in Jaco
Reviewed 5 May 2017

We chose the Hotel Pochote Grande based on Trip Advisor reviews. We had a three day stay which was great. The hotel is very clean and comfortable. We had several meals at the hotel all of which were both adequate and delicious."Try the Schnitzel"
The grounds are well kept. The hotel is located on the beach and a short walk to town.
Manfred and Christian were friendly and helpful. We would choose this hotel again if we return to Costa Rica in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph W M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2017

The room smelled like old cigarette smoke and moldy wood. The internet did not work in our room; a few good boosters would fix that, but the owners are clearly dead set on being so cheap it hurts. Speaking of hurting, the towels are sooo rough! They need better quality towels (they were old) and some serious fabric softener. There was no mini frig in the room and they CHARGED for ice. There was no phone in the room. There wasn't any shampoo or conditioner. The pillows were shameful; old, flat, and absolutely useless. The mattress was old and IKEA quality (meaning very poor quality) and no blanket whatsoever was provided.

Not sure what all the other guests were talking about in terms of the owners being friendly. The male owner never smiled or interacted with us other than to reject requests. The female owner let me stand at the bar with no bartender thus no service because she was speaking with a German customer. This is not service. As an owner, you do not ignore a customer that wants to buy something just so you can finish a conversation. I am a business owner and a landlord and I would be ashamed to be so cheap and neglectful with my customers/clients.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank BrainSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016

We have been staying at Hotel Pochote Grande for many years and have had a spectacular experience every time. Manager Manfred and staff are always very accommodating and the facility is very well maintained. Although not luxurious, the accommodations are everything you need and the location on the beach is excellent. Every time we visit we make plans to do more but end up eating most of our meals at the hotel restaurant and relaxing on the property. We will continue to return to Jaco for the Hotel Pochote Grande experience.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cheeser_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

This is was our first time visiting Costa Rica and Jaco. The hotel grounds are clean with lush tropical plants. The pool and restaurant are nice. Rooms have air conditioning and were in good shape. I would stay here again!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016

While vacationing in the holiday season in Costa Rica can be a great change in weather, it is not good as locals travel during what is called "dry season" which makes getting a room at a luxurious hotel a challenge. One of the only options that had enough rooms to accommodate our large group was Pochote Grande, it is a budget friendly hotel with very simple accommodations {no bath soap, the towels are small and a single sheet to cover yourself with while you sleep}. Location is on the beach, however when we visited the surrounding areas were in development and we were woken up at the crack of dawn by construction workers. The beach was lots of fun.

Stayed: June 2015
1  Thank Strllradvsoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaco hotels
1.7 km away
Hotel Villa Creole
Hotel Villa Creole
#11 of 40 in Jaco
104 reviews
1.4 km away
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
3.4 km away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Hotel Mango Mar
Hotel Mango Mar
#27 of 40 in Jaco
55 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#5 of 40 in Jaco
468 reviews
8.1 km away
Hotel Tramonto
Hotel Tramonto
#17 of 40 in Jaco
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pochote Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pochote Grande

Address: Calle Pochote / Pochote Street, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range: $144 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pochote Grande 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, family-owned hotel with 24 rooms, seeking to attend each guest individually. We are proud to have a lot of happy, frequently returning guests. We have a privileged location with direct access to the beach. We represent an excellent alternative for those who are looking for relaxation and tranquillity away from big tourist centres. We are located at the quiet northern end of Jaco beach. Nevertheless alternative entertainment is only few minutes away: CROC`S Casino Resort is located across the street, and the centre of Jaco is only a 15 minute stroll away, offering all kinds of amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Pochote Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pochote Grande Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing