We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing rafting!”
Review of Iguana Tours

Iguana Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Iguana Tours allows individuals, families, and large groups to discover the true adventure tours and exotic treasures of a beautiful land we all so desperately strive to preserve – every day, on every tour, and through every one who shares with us the Iguana Tours experience. And we are so fortunate to be able to provide professional-grade, bilingual, customer-focused, educational adventures that do just that. From the Mangrove Ecological Boat or Kayak Tour & Interactives, our High-Octane White Water Rafting Adventures, Guided Hiking & Tutorials, Sea & River Kayaking, Horseback Riding & Botanical Experiences, Coral Reef Snorkeling, Ecological Canopy Tours, only to name a few, day or night -- ALL our Iguana Tours are geared towards ecology, safety, stewardship, education, adventure, and most of all, fun. As the locals say, “¡Pura Vida!”Let us show you our country. But bottom line, we don’t want you to just have safe, educational, fun, unforgettable adventures – we want you to come back as well. Cross Catholic Church.
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IguanaTours, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Iguana Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (829)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"white water rafting"
in 61 reviews
"costa rica"
in 83 reviews
"juan jose"
in 6 reviews
"savegre river"
in 29 reviews
"mangrove kayaking"
in 11 reviews
"rafting trip"
in 24 reviews
"damas island"
in 13 reviews
"manuel antonio national park"
in 32 reviews
"sunset cruise"
in 6 reviews
"fruit"
in 23 reviews
"quepos area"
in 8 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 19 reviews
"horseback ride"
in 6 reviews
"rice"
in 13 reviews
"capuchin monkeys"
in 17 reviews
"class rapids"
in 6 reviews
"pineapple"
in 15 reviews
Filter

90 - 94 of 829 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2018

Nice tour through the mangroves by Kayak accompanied by great and interesting staff. The tour was nice ans accessible to everyone. Only downside is the price. It was well organised but that does not justify the price. Half ot the cost would have been ample. PS We are not all rich travellers and would like to do some sightseeing too.

Thank shi-kims-159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IguanaTours, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Iguana Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018
Google Translation

Hola Shi-Kims-159, nos gustaría agradecerle por su amable comentario y comentarios. Tenemos este mismo precio por muchos años. Seguimos su opinión y siempre estamos felices de negociar con nuestros clientes. Siéntete libre la próxima vez para contactarnos para hacer una mejor oferta. Gracias de nuevo y Pura Vida ¡

Atentamente, Adrian Martinez - Iguana Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

We signed up for an ocean kayak tour that ended up being a mangrove tour. Not sure who made that mistake- we reserved through our hotel. Considering we had already toured a mangrove in another country, the info was repetitive for us. Interesting I guess to hear about it from CR perspective. Saw some cool wildlife and the lunch was adequate-typical food as they call it - along with grilled chicken. Expensive for the limited time actually kayaking.

Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IguanaTours, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Iguana Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Hello dear Christina S. On Behalf of Iguana Tours, We would like thank your for your kind feedback. We did not know about the mistake you mentioned. Unfortunally this happened and you have this unespected experience. We hope you have another oportunity to visit us and we will make sure you go on the correct tour.

best regards and Pura vida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IguanaTours, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Iguana Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

The natural experience was average; we weren't able to see any of the promised exotic animals. Our guide noted the call of a toucan deep within the forest, but along the trail, toucans, monkeys, sloths, and snakes were absent. Ironically, on the drive to the horse stables, our attendant remarked that it would be truly amazing if we DIDN'T manage to view the above Costa Rican wildlife. Also, the van scheduled to take us to the stables from our hotel arrived twenty minutes late.

Our mounted guide actually ON the horseback ride was subpar. Although his assistant employee seemed to be well-trained, our group came under the control of the 'higher officer,' a self-proclaimed caballero who spoke in quiet, broken English. Of course, that isn't to blame him for his manner of speech. But one would hope that Iguana Tours would have foresight in appointing a fluent English-speaker as tour guide. It was often difficult to communicate with our guide.

Additionally, our guide acted quite gruff. He maintained an air of exasperation throughout our excursion and was rough helping us into and out of our saddles.

We signed up for the horseback riding through the Costa Rican Adventures travel agency, so we can't comment on the specific price of the excursion.

The lunch included with the tour promised to be 'authentically Costa Rican.' Nevertheless, we found the food to be somewhat bland; this might only have been our take on the local flavors. However, each plate of food - with one plate per person - WAS fairly small with a single drumstick, a scoop of rice and beans, and a slice of fried plantain. After this first serving, the cook claimed that she had no food left.

Unfortunately, the bottles of water left on the tables for our lunch had broken seals; they seemed to have been previously opened and refilled with tap water.

On a side note, as we pulled away from the dining area, our driver (who was the assistant trail guide back on the horseback ride) wasn't paying attention to the road. A local farm dog ran by the car and had its foot run over by the tour van. Yet the driver only merged onto the road and accelerated down the highway before we could say anything.

1  Thank Mao M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Iguana Tours also viewed

Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Iguana Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing