We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,062)
Filter reviews
1,062 results
Traveller rating
595
321
101
33
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
595
321
101
33
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar caravan tour congo restaurant public beach manuel antonio national park short walk to the beach costa rica floor room top floor park entrance closest hotel big pool howler monkeys perfect location main pool musty smell adult only pool
Filter
Updating list...
218 - 223 of 1,062 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2017

Everything about our experience at Hotel San Bada was excellent. Despite not having a reservation the staff found our family a wonderful room and gave us a tour of the property. The sixth floor (adult) pool, bar area and lookout is breathtaking! (It was just being completed when we were there). My husband would get up early each day to check his emails and have his tea up there. The main pool was awesome, my daughter never wanted to get out! Just off our room balcony was a large iguana in tree that hung out for the 4 days we were there! The staff was great, the food superb, the whole hotel was very clean and reasonably priced for the area. Monkeys hanging out outside our room door, that's just a bonus! Thanks San Bada!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Suzanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanBada C, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2017

Dear Suzanne,

On behalf of Hotel San Bada team, I would like to thank you for staying with us! And for sharing your wonderful review about your stay with us!

We were very happy to know that you had a memorable stay in our Resort. Thank you very much for your wonderful comment about the atmosphere, the location where we are in, the atmosphere of our 6th floor where you can relaxed and feel the morning sea breeze, and the amotsphere at our family pool at ground floor, special designed for all family members, with a ramp also for our dearest elderly guests.

It was great to read that you highlighted the great and friendly service from our staff, the food prepared with love and the best ingredients at our Restaurants, the room cleanliness, and the great prices and specials we have throught the year.

Ahhh... and thanks for sharing with us the great bonus you got, with the unnoticed visit from our neighbors (they usually came for some chating...lol)

We look forward to welcome you back to Hotel San Bada in the very near future.

With warm regards,
Dante Kim
dante@hotelsanbada.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017

We stayed at the Hotel San Bada for two nights with a Road Scholar group tour. The hotel is conveniently located right next to the entrance to the Manuel Antonio National Park where we saw monkeys, sloths, raccoons, and a coatimundi (who smelled a bit like skunk...)
Our room was clean and very spacious with two queen-sized beds and a nice balcony overlooking a greenbelt area. We often saw a deer or two grazing on the grass out there.
The bathroom had a large walk-in shower with a rainshower head and a nice glass bowl sink, but very little counter space. The drain in the shower was a bit slow and we often had to turn the water off for fear of flooding the whole bathroom. The exhaust fan didn't work very well because there was often an unpleasant smell in the bathroom.
We experienced very good service from the staff at this hotel. Special thanks to Francisco at the front desk, along with Wendy and Michael - they were all extremely helpful and friendly as we checked out beach towels, had our room key cards fixed, and made reservations.
We enjoyed having Christin take care of us in the Congo Restaurant the first night and then during happy hour at the poolside bar the second night. She was very friendly and helpful and gave us excellent service.
I received a nice rejuvenating facial from Jenny in the Sana Spa. It was a great experience and Jenny did a wonderful job.
Our stay included a breakfast buffet. The food was fine, nothing particularly special. There was someone making eggs and omelets to order which was a nice touch. The servers were very good and quick to clear plates and come by with hot coffee.
If you plan a visit to Manuel Antonio National Park, be sure to book your stay at the Hotel San Bada.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Pam I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanBada C, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2017

Dear Pam!

Thank you very much for taking your time in sharing your experience with others in this forum!

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel San Bada, and we want to take our time thanking you for each one of your remarks, our location (next to the world famous Manuel Antonio National Park and convenient to start right away the adventure in Costa Rica); our spacious and comfortable rooms (with private balconies where you can get a nice surprise seeing from there monkeys, sloths, raccoons, deers, and birds); the room amenities (such as egyptian cotton linens, natural feather pillows and mattress top, organic shampoo, soap and conditioners, complimentary in room coffee, safety box, free wifi...); the convenient and great service you found from our staff, I will share your remarks with the entire team, in order to make their day as well; our onsite exclusive Sana Spa, where you can expect to find the best massage, facial, scrubs treatments in Manuel Antonio at the best rates with the best professionals that makes us stand out from the rest.

We also feel more than committed with all our guests and friends, and we try to give them the best complimentary breakfast in the area adding a live omelet station. Part of this commitment is that we will address the feedback you gave us with our maintenance team to improve.

We are very much looking forward to welcome you again in our Hotel, and thank you for recommending our Hotel!

With warm regards,
Dante Kim
concierge@hotelsanbada.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

This hotel is right beside the entrance to Manuel Antonio National Park, a small but very popular and beautiful park on the Pacific coast of Costa Rica.
It is in a great setting, with jungle on several sides and the ocean nearby.
If visiting the Park, enter it early (before 10am) to beat the crowds (long lines after 10am) and to visit when it is cooler.
Recommended to see the park with a guide who can point out many creatures you would otherwise miss.
The hotel itself has a bit of character, unlike many modern hotels in Costa Rica that cater mainly to North American tourists.
The bar on the 6th floor is a great place to catch the sunset from, and the drinks are not too expensive there.
Very enjoyable hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank GCCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017

This hotel sits at the entrance to Manuel Antonio National Park. One side features a view of the jungle and the other side a spectacular view of the Pacific Ocean. The hotel itself seems pretty old and could use some refurbishing, but the rooms are reasonable comfortable. Can't comment on price/value, since the stay was included in out Caravan.com tour package.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

Well located to visit the national park. Stunning views from the 6th floor pool and rooftop bar. Gongo Restaurant excellent food at reasonable price. Staff all very helpful and friendly, especially Cristin our lovely helpful waitress.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Pamela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews