We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome guides!”
Review of H2O Adventures

H2O Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
US$95.00*
and up
Savegre River Whitewater Rafting Trip
More Info
US$70.00*
and up
Naranjo River Rafting Trip from Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: H2O Adventures operates rafting trips in Costa Rica. We are the only company running the Chorro Section Class IV(V) of the Naranjo River(Dec-April)since 2002. The lower Naranjo Class III+ runs from May through December. We also run an excellent family trip on the lower Savegre Class II-III year around and a 2-day trip on the upper Savegre Class IV. We operate kayak trips along Manuel Antonio Coast and in the Damas Island Estuary.We are the franchise, in Manuel Antonio for Rios Tropicales, ranked the #1 Costa Rica Adventure Outfitter and #5 Rafting Company in the World by National Geographic Adventure Online Magazine. Under these same standards, H2O Adventures also offers beyond compare excursions in Guanacaste, Sarapiqui, Arenal Volcano and the Caribbean. All the outfitters are owned and operated by river people, we are growing together in the business by offering a fair price to the best quality activities in Costa Rica.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Awesome guides!”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Our guides definitely made this adventure for us. Our trip got confused from the front desk of our hotel to the person on the phone from H2O. We wanted to do more extreme rafting but instead we got stuck doing kiddy rapids. Non the less we ended up having a great time because our guides, Greivy and Rambo Loco, were engaging, informative, and fun! They take pictures along the way which were great but $30 for the CD was a bit steep. We bought it anyway, lol. I highly recommend H2O because of the people they employ, it really helps make the trip a blast.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelershane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    20
    3
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most exciting experience, thanks to Romin, Leonardo, and H2O Advanthtures”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We were told one thing got to do in Costa Rich is white water rafting. We got information of this company from our hotel front desk because the good price and one of hotel employee put some good word on their service. The trip was absolutely fantastic and satisfactory. We really enjoyed it very much. Our guid name is Romin and the team including shuttle driver and photographer Leonardo, who actually is the owner. The fun started from the beginig of the trip. The guid told us a lot of history, culture background of the region, showed us all kind ot plantations along the road and what we might experience during the rafting. He was very experienced, very thoughful, and we always felt safe during the rafting. We had 2-3 hours great experience on the water. Many good rapids, the view along the river was just beatiful and breathtaking. Our guid Romin could make class II or III felt like class IV or more. Veru stimulating and exciting. The important part was we felt very safe during entire trip. It was so great, we felt the trip was the best experience for our whole trip. One more thing, the phtographer took great pictures during the rafting, he sat on a small kayake, always few hundreds yards ahead of us, took a lot good shots. With additional cost $30, we got 54 pictures, some of them are fabilous. Worth to buy it, I felt. The rafting trip included a lunch on the way back to town, the food was fresh and delicious local dishes, fish dish was the best. Great experience. Only one thing should be careful, if you like to book the same trip. Be careful when you try to get into their van, the door frame was kind low, remember to lower your head, or put a helmer on.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuguang H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Most fun I had in Costa Rica!”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I recently went on a 13 day trip to Costa Rica and went on many tours and adventures with about 6 different tour companies, they were all great but H20 was by far the best.

We did the white water rafting tour on the Rio Savegre with class 2 and 3 rapids. I was the only one in the group with previous rafting experience but it was not too difficult for my girlfriend or her 60 year old parents, in fact, it was unanimously our favorite part of the trip.

Our guide Grevy (not sure if that's spelled right, but it's pronounced gravy like the sauce) was excellent and made the experience what it was. Even before we got to the river, he asked the driver to pull the van over multiple times and jumped out to give us a bunch of mini lessons on Costa Rican plants and wild life and let us smell and taste fruit and spices which he picked fresh from trees, this was something we were not expecting but was an excellent bonus to the trip as we learned quite a bit.

Once on the river the guide does all the steering of the raft and shouts out commands so you know when to paddle and when to stop, this makes it very easy for first timers to enjoy this experience. Grevy was very knowledgeable about the river and was able to show us a great time crashing over rapids and making the experience feel very intense while at the same time keeping us safe and preventing the raft from flipping. Once person did go overboard during the trip but we had been briefed so well on what to do in that event that we had her back in the boat in under 10 seconds without Grevy's help.

Halfway thought the trip we stopped at a very scenic waterfall to rest and had time to swim around and play in the waterfall for about 20 minutes. They served us fresh cut pineapple and iced tea before we left. This was one of my favorite parts of my entire 13 day trip

As a bonus we were also accompanied by a guide in a kayak who had an DSLR camera in a watertight box, he would stop at many points throughout the trip and take action pics of our group which was great because even if you have a waterproof camera you will be too busy paddling to take pictures. They were an extra cost but he showed them to us at the office and they were very high quality so we bought them.

We had such a great experience with H20 Adventures and Grevy that we signed up to go on a mangrove swamp kayak tour with him two days later. This was much more low key than the rafting as you would expect but incredibly scenic and also very fun. This tour was a bit challenging for one of our group at one point when we had to paddle upstream but in true fashion, Grevy switched the kayaks around so he was in a double with that person and helped him get past the hard areas.

H20 is really a great organization with great people. I would highly recommend any tour with them. Hands down the best tour company we used on our entire visit to Costa Rica!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Sir_Slothingham_IV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A must do when visiting Costa Rica!”
Reviewed 1 December 2011

This was the last activity of our week-long trip. I had been white water rafting before but never really experienced rapids. I was a little nervous but excited to see what real white water rafting was all about. We booked this trip through our hotel. The company was right on time. After making a quick pit stop at the office for waivers and payment we were headed to the river. Our guide Romain took us on a little nature walk to the river while the other people in his team drove down to get the rafts ready for us. Romain went over some safety instructions and we were ready to go. The only thing I wish I had had on this was goggles. I wear contacts and it was a little difficult keeping my eyes open during the trip. I was in the front until I got knocked out of the raft somehow. I got back in the raft and stayed in the middle where it was a better fit for me. We were on the river for a few hours but it was so much fun and went by fairly quickly. It was only a half day trip so we had the rest of the afternoon to do something else. The entire staff was great and I really enjoyed this experience.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank jersey2ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lewins, Owner at H2O Adventures, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
"A must do..."! I Like!
Thank you for taking your time to talk about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Time in Costa Rica”
Reviewed 30 November 2011

White water rafting was one of the activities we wanted to do on our trip to Costa Rica. Our hotel hooked us up on this tour with H2O Adventures. They came on time (a little early in fact) to pick us up from the hotel. We stopped at the office to pay and sign waivers, and off we went with a team of guides to the Naranjo River. Romain was our main guide and he was awesome. Along the way he told us about the areas we were passing until we got to the river.

When we arrived, we were dropped off for a short nature walk and Romain told us about some plants and spices on the way down to the river while the van went ahead to set up for our arrival. When we got down there, we were helped with the equipment and then Romain gave us some safety instructions and what we needed to do while on the river. This was my first time doing this so the warnings seemed a little scary but with the experience of the guides, all went very well. Shortly thereafter we were on our way down the river. Romain was EXCELLENT at navigating down the roaring waters and keeping us all safe. A "rescue team" went along in another raft and also took amazing photos of us along the way. They missed the photo opp of when a couple of us fell out of the raft. :) Halfway down we pulled over for some drinks (water and iced tea) and snacks (cookies and pineapple) and then we were on our way again. When we got to the end the van was there to pick us up and take us back to the office where we got to see and purchase the great photos. Finally, we were dropped off back at the hotel with a whole afternoon ahead of us to enjoy the area.

Thank you Romain, Leonardo, and the rest of the team for giving us a wonderful time and keeping us safe! I am looking forward to doing more white water rafting because of this experience.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Eddie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed H2O Adventures also viewed

Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to H2O Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing