We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Place to Honeymoon”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2018

We were pretty sure that with all the traveling that we do, that nothing was going to beat the scenery and location of Hawaii. But I'd venture to say that our experience at the Tulemar and the surrounding environment in Costa Rica was at least twice as rewarding as any travel experience we've ever had. We stayed in the Bamboo Villa #3. The villa was at the top of the hill side overlooking the ocean and it's really hard to describe just how beautiful it was every day to wake up to/go to bed to and be around all day long. The beach access was within walking distance, or a drive, which was very convenient. Snorkeling and kayaking is a walk away. The Cafe/Room Service delivery had great options to choose from. Some local bars and live music were a walk away. And the convenience store located on the property had everything we needed for a quick grab. Watching the Scarlet Macaws fly by in the morning and evening was a really nice touch. Waking up to the howler monkeys in the morning was a fantastic alarm (and not too early).

Brian Quarta was our concierge for our 4 night stay. It didn't matter what time of day or what the issue was, Brian promptly and professionally replied to any communication we sent to him. His personality and excitement for what he does really shines through and he was kind enough to give us traditional tamales as a holiday gift that were excellent. I don't usually consider having a concierge to be an impactful part of my trips, but Brian was incredibly unique and he actually made the experience of our trip even more valuable. I've never said that about a concierge. If you get the chance to come to Tulemar, you'd do well to request Brian for your services. The cleaning staff were also very impressive and accommodated our laundry needs and even customized their schedules to meet our demands.

I don't usually have the inclination to visit a place that I've already been to--I enjoy my time and then look forward to the next adventure. And the idea of staying at the same place is usually even less appealing. But we will be visiting Tulemar again. There's no place in the world like Costa Rica--which is obviously a country worth visiting no matter where you can stay--but if you want a trip to remember with staff, services and scenery that will change you as a person after your trip, then you want to stay at Tulemar and connect with Brian Quarta.

Room Tip: Bungalow Villa 3 has the highest setting on the hillside. But I doubt you could go wrong with any ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, You Host at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Hi David C...WOW...thank you for such an awesome 5 star review on your honeymoon stay in the Tulemar Bamboo Villas...your review brought a smile to our entire staff today...especially Brian, he is so appreciative of your kind words...I am so glad to hear your experience in Costa Rica and in Tulemar "...was at least twice as rewarding as any travel experience..." you've ever had...everything you shared in your review is exactly why Tulemar is so special...and the Bamboo Villas with their exciting indoor/outdoor design....along with the private pool and outdoor showers....plus the services of Brian...really make for an experience that will keep you coming back for more...remember the Bamboo Villas are only available at tulemar.com...thanks again for the amazing review...all of us here at Tulemar hope to see you again very soon! Congratulations again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 72 of 2,564 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2018

We stayed in Villa Kiskadee and the experience was absolutely perfect. Chris, our concierge, took amazing care of us and no detail was overlooked. He booked our transportation to and from the airport, a private chef, excursions — all of it, so we didn't have to do a thing. The villa was impeccable and so peaceful. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, Your Host at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Hi Jennifer D...thanks so much for the 5 star review...I am so glad your experience in Villa Kiskadee was "absolutely perfect"...Villa Kiskadee is one of our premier, private villas.....the panoramic ocean views and wildlife visits are among the tops in Tulemar.....plus you have the ever so detailed services of Chris and the house staff....to make your stay even more special.....and you get all the amenities of Tulemar......you can only book Villa Kiskadee (and all of our other special and unique villas) at tulemar.com....as we don't post them with any of the online booking sites.....so drop by the website and learn about Tulemar and "chat" with us online and we'll help you choose the perfect villa for your stay.....hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

Just stayed here with my family for 7 days over Christmas at Casa Mirador it was hands down the best vacation ever. Our personal concierge Chris Madrigal was outstanding and handled everything down to the finest detail. From booking the property, transportation, recommendations, getting groceries, excursions, dinners etc. he covered it all. The other reviews on the property are spot on - toucans, macaws, sloths, 3 different types of monkeys. 4 different pools, private beach what else do you need. The food and service on the property were really good and fairly priced. Our favorite dinner per Chris' recommendation was hiring a private Chef (Chef Roberto) to cook for us on Christmas day it was FANTASTIC and so much fun. Also there are a bunch of restaurants/cafes all within walking distance of the resort. We did the Sloth tour, zip-lining, horseback riding and the icing on the cake was a guided tour of Manuel Antonio National Park with Estelle Mansuelle who was INCREDIBLE! Again all of this was coordinated by Chris Madrigal of Tulemar Resorts. All I had to do was enjoy myself and watch my family have their best vacation ever! Pura Vida!!

Stayed: December 2017
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, Your Host at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Don B...thank you for the wonderful five star review on your stay in Casa Mirador over Christmas...what a special way to celebrate over the holidays....Now you know why Casa Mirador is one of our most requested villas......with 2 bedrooms / 2.5 baths / 2 floors / living-dining-full kitchen and that amazing large balcony with an outdoor living/dining room and panoramic ocean views.....plus the services of Chris.....your personal concierge....there to make your Tulemar vacation that much more special.....like suggesting a private chef for a special dinner...please remember Casa Mirador is only available at tulemar.com....as we don't list any of our special and unique villas with the online booking sites.....thanks again for the review and we look forward to your return in 2018!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

Just spent best family vacation ever in our a Tulemar Villa over New Year with our 11, 13 & 17 year old kids. Our concierge Ashley really made all the difference. Booked us White Water rafting, Zip Lining, Waterfall tour & Jet Skiing, not to mention all our meals in great nearby restaurants. Costa Rica is special, but Tulemar Resorts takes it to a whole other level! Thank you.

Room Tip: Most Villas looked amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, Your Host at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

BOOKING NOTICE – We don’t list our special and unique villas that you read about on these reviews with ANY of the online booking sites. Reviewer’s favorites like Villa Cielito, the Tulemar Bamboo Villas, Casa Panorama, Villa Mot Mot, Casa de Frutas, etc can ONLY be booked with us directly at tulemar.com. If you’re booking thru an online site, you’re not booking with Tulemar Dave. Chat, call or inquire on our website for rates and availability and let us help you choose the best accommodations in Tulemar!

Hi Julio P...thank you SO much for the 5 star review on your stay in Villa Cielito in Tulemar...what a perfect choice for your family.....one of our most popular 2 bedroom villas....it has the perfect location.....the most amazing ocean views.....and the little extras like indoor/outdoor showers....the jacuzzi on the deck....and the washer/drier......all of which make it very special.....plus you get the services of Ashley as your personal concierge to handle all of the details....including booking all of the fun adventures around Manuel Antonio...thanks again for your review! Come back and see us again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

We returned to Casita Panorama again because the first time was so good. We were NOT disappointed. Concierge Kimberly was *again* wonderful with keeping us updated with travel uncertainties and generally knowing that we were visiting in order to quietly enjoy the beauty of the place. She volunteered to take us to the weekly farmer's market which had great, fresh produce for us to cook up at a fraction of the Super Joseth price (local abundantly stocked SJ five minutes walk away). Housekeeping by Vanessa and Patricia impeccable. At the beach, David was friendly and helpful to all. Though we walked rather than taking the beach shuttle, it was clear that everyone made sure that when a thunderstorm rolled through, visitors could return to their casas. Really, I hope visitors realize how hard folks at Tulemar work to keep the grounds beautiful and take care of visitors. Massive new construction makes us hope that Tulemar will not grow too much for itself and its available resources (including the abundant wildlife that so many cherish and the always just-right beach space). We hope to return next year!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pikapika10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, Your Host at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Hi pikapika10...thank you so much for returning to Casita Panorama in Tulemar...and thanks for the 5 star review...Casita Panorama is ONLY available at tulemar.com as we don't list these special and unique suites with any of the online booking sites......guests get to enjoy a private bedroom with a king bed.....bath....and full kitchen with living/dining area.....all looking out onto the balcony and those amazing "Panoramic" ocean views.....plus the services of Kimberly to handle all of the details....perfect for couples or a small family...we appreciate hearing about your stay....and please don't worry about the 2 new villas under construction in Tulemar (one 3 bedroom and the other 4 bedroom).....we're very excited to be adding them to our portfolio later this year.....Tulemar is very serious about protecting the resort.....we have a Nature and Wildlife Committee and a Tree Committee as well.....I've lived in Tulemar for 14 years now and although we have more villas.....we have much more wildlife and trees than we did when I first arrived......that is one of the things that makes Tulemar so special.....thanks again for the review and we hope you return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0 km away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
1,379 reviews
1.1 km away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
1,682 reviews
2 km away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#17 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#21 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
944 reviews
0.6 km away
Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge
1.4 km away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $194 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows and our special and unique villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes, Villa Kiskadee and the new Tulemar Bamboo Villas just for couples. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing