We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Makanda by the Sea
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Plaza Yara(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Mariposa Hotel(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$156
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Vela Bar(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villa Roca(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tulemar Resort(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Altos Resort(Manuel Antonio)
US$819
US$388
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$512/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Gaia Hotel & Reserve(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$302
US$282
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort(Manuel Antonio)
US$360
US$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (735)
Filter reviews
735 results
Traveller rating
530
115
43
23
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
530
115
43
23
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean clubinfinity poolsunspot restaurantprivate beachpersonal paradisecosta ricaevery morningour honeymoongolf cartbottle of champagneromantic getawaypoolside restaurantthe main roadfront gatebreakfast is servedview of the oceanwalked down
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 735 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2018

We just returned from four superb nights at MBTS and I'm experiencing the pain of withdrawal. The hotel is stunning and the service was outstanding. After starting our CR trip with a lovely three-night visit to the Arenal volcano and hot springs area at a high-quality, pleasant, family-friendly resort, we were delighted to upgrade our experience to this luxurious boutique (adults only) hotel. Arriving after a long ride, we were met at the impressive, secured entrance by a friendly, welcoming staffer who took our bags and ran us by cart to Reception. We were immediately struck by the dramatic property - like many hotels in the area, it is built into the cliff and positioned to offer numerous breathtaking views of the Pacific. We were also immediately struck by the beauty and thoughtfulness of the contemporary design reflected in every aspect of the architecture, finishes and fixtures. From Reception to the pools, to the restaurant, to our room in the Ocean Club (highly recommended) we felt like we stumbled into the hidden lair of a James Bond villain (without any ominous overtones). The "17 favorite photos" does a wonderful job of capturing the feel. The staff was uniformly warm, friendly and accommodating. The included breakfast was amazing and other food and drink options excellent (the sushi and ceviche at the salt-water pool, in particular, extraordinary). We had one very good dinner on the property and the remaining in the nearby business district (as mentioned by others, Emilio's was our absolute favorite for friendly food and great coffee/desserts with breathtaking views - although the Manuel Antonio Falafel Bar was also fantastic for "cheap eats"). I could go on and on. My partner raved about her spa treatments and we saw more wildlife at breakfast and happy hour than on any nature tour. My only caution is that this boutique (27 rooms but feels like less) is for a sense of solitude - if you are looking for a teeming, high-energy, heavily populated summer-camp feel, you might want a larger resort. If you want rest, relaxation, privacy and a feeling of pampered exclusivity, Makanda by the Sea is for you.

Room Tip: Ocean Club rooms are pure modern luxury. Older rooms are clean and comfortable but not nearly as stunning.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKANDAFAMILY, Management at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Dear Bruce,
Thank you for choosing Makanda and for your kind words.
It is such a blessing when we hear that our Customers are having these kind of experiences, makes us really proud to understand that our effort is paying out and we are getting closer to become the best hospitality spot in Manuel Antonio.
We all miss you and look forward to host you again.
Please remember to claim your Returning Guest Discount when making your next reservation.
Have a great and blessed weekend...!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

Makanda by the sea, my favourite spot in Manuel Antonio to relax. A mesmerising view, amazing wildlife, super designed everywhere and lovely staff! An incredible swimming pool WITH an underwater audio system!!!! A place I highly recommend in Manuel Antonio.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmackok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKANDAFAMILY, Management at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Dear Emma,
Thank you for being part of our Returning Guests a.k.a. Makanda Family!
We are glad and proud for creating the spot that captured your attention and that you look when willing for a relaxing getaway.
Hope to see you soon again.
Have a great and blessed weekend...!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

My husband and I researched for days on where to go in Costa Rica for our honeymoon. Eventually, during an in-depth Google Maps search, we came upon Hotel Makanda and thought it would be the perfect place to stay during our week in Manuel Antonio in March 2018. From start to finish, our visit was top-notch, with the staff still feeling approachable. We LOVED the staff and feel that they are our lifelong friends. We arrived before check-in, and Luis greeted us at the main pool / restaurant where we were given a lovely bottle of bubbly rose and then ordered some delicious ceviche served in a hollowed out coconut. Once we arrived to our room with the wonderful Jorge, it felt exactly like the photos, but better. The view was incredible, and we were so excited to be able to spend seven nights here. We tried the restaurant on the first night. Sadly, I wasn't super impressed with my pork belly, as it was a bit on the dry side, but the tuna tar tar was out of this world -- we ordered it two more times after the first night. Each night, we took part in the happy hour at the pool, which is a great 2-for-1 deal. We would spend some of our mornings by the salt water pool, which has a glorious view of the ocean, lined with jungle foliage. The sushi bar there is fantastic. We loved chatting there with Chris (who also served us breakfast most of the mornings we were there). His English was very good, and he helped my husband, who is on a mission to learn Spanish, learn more Spanish words throughout the week. He was very patient with us, and we feel like we got to know him well. The breakfasts were wonderful! We woke up pretty early every morning and really enjoyed our short walk down to the pool where we got to look forward to a plate full of fresh fruit, a new juice concoction created with love by TJ, and a large and delicious breakfast.

I feel like I could go on about specific details, but I'll just leave it at this: we 100% recommend this hotel and would go back any time. Our memories from our honeymoon are nothing but positive, and it's due in large part to our time at Makanda.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique and beautiful.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKANDAFAMILY, Management at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Dear Kelly,
Thank you for choosing Makanda for such a special occasion!
We really appreciate that you took the time to visit our profile to share your experience.
It was a real pleasure to have you here celebrating and we can only hope to become your spot for the Anniversary ;-)
Have a blessed long life together...!!!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

Hotel Makanda in Manuel Antonio is second to none … Let me start by saying the staff was incredible and extremely hospitable. Both receptionists we dealt with were kind, respectful and full of information. The rooms were immaculate and the staff went over every detail about the room with a fine tooth comb. The room had features like electric curtains to take in the spectacular view, a mini fridge fully stocked with all the essentials, air conditioning, a gorgeous bathroom made for a king and queen, two sinks, a giant cloud-like bed and the best part a giant walk out balcony to soak in everything Manuel Antonio has to offer in a nice secluded sanctuary for you, your family or just a romantic getaway for you and your loved one. There is a delicious freshly prepared breakfast included in your stay along with a gourmet restaurant on premise as well. If you get a little hot go for a refreshing swim in the salt water pool or for later in the evening the regular pool. There is a bar attached to the pools so that you can swim up to and order refreshing cocktails or a quick bite to eat with smiling and happy staff members to take all your requests. 24/7 security makes you feel safe at all times and there is a shuttle service to take you to and from all the fascinating amenities this hotel has to offer … definitely 5 star for pictures of everything Hotel Makanda has to offer check us out @truththroughtravel on instagram

Room Tip: Look at your room first its the best way to tell if your totally happy... which you will be
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKANDAFAMILY, Management at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Dear Thomas,
Thank you for choosing Makanda and visiting our profile.
We really appreciate your kinds words but most important we are really happy that you had a nice experience.
We put a lot of effort to provide the best hospitality experience.
Looking forward to host you again, remember you will have Returning Guest Discount on your next reservation(s).
Have a great and blessed weekend...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

Spent a day at Makanda at the pool and it was absolutely incredible. The architecture is something worth marveling over, words and pictures cannot do enough justice. The whole layout of the pool area, with the view of the ocean are absolutely divine. Spent and entire day at the pool with a group of friends and the staff treated us wonderfully. Cannot say enough good things about this place, can't wait to be back.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ethan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKANDAFAMILY, Management at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Dear Ethan,
Thank you for visiting our Property and our profile.
Restaurant and General Staff is always going further in order to provide the best service and best experience possible.
We are glad that you enjoyed the perfect combination of service and design only found at Makanda.
Hope to see you and your friends again.
Have a great and blessed weekend...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews