We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Relaxed Non-"touristy" Place to Stay in Manuel Antonio”
Review of Villas Nicolas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villas Nicolas
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
“The Best Relaxed Non-"touristy" Place to Stay in Manuel Antonio”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I went to Costa Rica for the first time this year. The best choice I made the entire trip was to stay at Villas Nicholas while in Manuel Antonio. The manager took care of all of my needs and treated myself and the other customers as human beings. The room was clean, spacious, and well insulated from the wildlife which surrounded the hotel. The pool was large and sanitary. The restaurant on site was amazing, especially the fresh caught tuna. I'm from Vancouver, Canada, and the tuna at Villas Nicholas was top notch and reasonably priced. I met amazing people in and around Villas Nicholas.

There are so many high priced money sucking hyper tourist hotels and resorts in Manuel Antonio. If you want a relaxed and pleasant place to stay with great food, that won't hound you for money, Villas Nicholas is the best choice hands down.

Jesse "Ehsline" M

Room Tip: If your from a cold country like Canada...ask for a room lower to the ground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    121
    24
    12
    10
See reviews for
64
208
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Really amazing place. Our room was set in a real jungle setting. Complete with patio hammock and daily visits by the various types of monkeys that inhabit the area. The staff are excellent and courteous. And, the perfect location in Manuel Antonio. Great prices too. Can't really ask for anything more. Will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Located in the hills between Downtown Quepos and the beach, Villas Nicolas was one of the highlights of our two week trip to Costa Rica. We stayed in room ten, which is the lowest room they have with a balcony (good sized, though smaller than the others) and ocean view (okay, more like a sliver of an ocean view). But still it was very nice, quaint, and charming. If you can though, aim for room 9 or 8 which are about the same price (I believe), but bigger and with more of an ocean view (because they're higher up - you also don't have to walk up and down all those stairs). Being at the top also means you won't hear the people above you (which we did - A LOT, but thin walls seems to be the norm in CR), but on the flip side, you might catch some of the street noise, which we didn't from where we were. Also, I never saw a monkey or sloth while I was at VN (just lots of lizards), but the people higher up did see them.
The staff was very helpful and friendly for the most part. Julio was professional, friendly, quick, and efficient when making reservations. Cheryl kind of blended into the background (as most managers tend to) but was helpful when we asked for help. Her kids were there as well and we found Evan particularly kind and eager to help (though he isn't technically a member of the staff). Hubby's only gripe was that they never had change in the front (or as he put it, seemed reluctant to break any bills - but to be fair, they warn of that in their welcome booklet).
Staff gave good recommendations for restaurants (not pushing their own - though I have to admit that the restaurant on site is very reasonably priced compared to most places in the area - though I can't speak for how good the food is as we didn't eat there). We booked two tours from the front desk, of which we HIGHLY recommend the MA Park tour with Dago.
Back to the Villa, overall more pros than cons (some broken tile in shower, dead bugs occasionally found which seems to be the case in CR, broken wall socket cover, no shampoo, conditioner or lotion provided or free beach towels, no television) but none of these things would keep us from visiting again. Definite pros were wifi (which was great in our room), gated entry with security, plenty of parking in front, fully-stocked kitchen, great fan and air conditioning, beautiful grounds and pool (saw a frog take a late night swim), hair dryer in bathroom. For those who complained about the $3 a day safe charge, they provide you with a lock for the closet door, so if you want you can lock your stuff in there w/o using the safe. And, of course, the breakfast was very good. It was coffee/tea with an assortment of fresh fruit, gallo pinto, eggs, and tortillas or toast. But if you're in a rush, try not to catch the ladies during peak times (there's only two of them and quiet a few guests eating at times).
Overall, would highly recommend if you can afford it. The pictures on their web site don't do it any justice. And in all fairness, compared to other CR lodging, this is an easy 5, but compared to lodging in general (and taking in consideration value) would have to give a 4.

Room Tip: Lower rooms have less ocean view, less animal sightings, more unit noise, but less street noise. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilbruingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed here for 11 nights around christmas and new years. The rooms are brilliant. we stayed in room 7 (the best) and room 6 (u) which was also brilliant and room 2 which was nice.

The rooms have comfortable beds especially the double room i room 7. Each room has a large en suite bathroom with plenty of storage.

We were able to cook complicated meals in the kitchens of the apartments. Each kitchen has a large fridge freezer and cooker with practically everything one would need.

The atmosphere is quiet but comfortable. The clientelle comprises mainly couples and older or family groups mostly from the US.
The desk staff are great. Even the security guard is great.

The property has cats and a dog giving an overall home away from home feel. (They keep a distance from guests btw).

We are a gay couple - and this was no problem. There is a gay hotel closeby which we visited and have stayed in previously, but there is no comparison in terms of quality. This hotel is suitable for older gay couples especially if they cook probably not really suitable for the young ravers!

There is wifi. Breakfast is great. Location great. All in all, this was a fabulous stay and I would heartily recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: ask for room 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottybail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed at villas Nicolas long time ago, but am happy to give a great review. Our stay for couple days in one of the condos was so wonderful! The lazy hammock and large balcony, facing the ocean is so serene.
We didn't hear any of the noise from the street. The staff at that time(cannot remember name) were friendly, the location was ideal. We also had a massage therapist come to the condo. The room was clean and housekeeping made creative towel decoration each day and kept fresh flowers on the bed, which was very welcoming!

Room Tip: Large balcony with hammock is a big plus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank cheerbowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.8 km away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.3 km away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.3 km away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
1.4 km away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Nicolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Nicolas

Property: Villas Nicolas
Address: Carretera Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6130, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price range (per night): $176 - $242
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Nicolas is a small 18 room condominium style hotel.We are located on the Manuel Antonio mountainside overlooking the Pacific Ocean.Our hotel is comprised of 5 rows of terraced rooms (approx 4 rooms per row)surrounded by gardens and jungle....all with oceanviews. Villas Nicolas is designed for the independent traveler who prefers "small & intimate" to the "all inclusive" resort type experience.Our Type 3 suites have full kitchens for those who wish to take advantage of the local produce and fresh fish that this area provides.We offer on site management and all night security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villas Nicolas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Nicolas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Hotel Nicolas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing