We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,679)
Filter reviews
1,679 results
Traveller rating
1,496
141
23
15
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,496
141
23
15
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuena vista villasprivate beachconcierge michaelbedroom villaboogie boardsjungle housecosta ricapura vidaselect villatule cafeshuttle servicefamily pooldinner reservationsthree bedroombeach barevery morningsquirrel monkeys
Filter
Updating list...
348 - 353 of 1,679 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2017

We just returned from a perfect week at the Tulemar Resort. We stayed in a two bedroom villa with our 17 year old and 20 year old children.

I can't say enough about how fabulous this trip was! The villa was stunning - from the incredible decks with a view to die for to the comfortable living area to the kitchen. We even had monkeys run across our deck and take a sip out of our hot tub!

Just walking the grounds, you encounter monkeys, sloths (high up in the trees) and iguana. The are numerous pools so it never feels crowded - more like your own private pool tucked away by your villa. The beach is pristine and there are kayaks and other equipment just waiting for you to use.

The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Adres (our private concierge) was awesome! When we arrived, he walked us around the property to help us get aquatinted with everything it had to offer. He even left us his cell number to text anytime we needed help with restaurants, tours or any question at all. (And always with a smile on his face!) Our daughter is gluten free and it really helped to have his advice in finding the best restaurants.

A shout out to Manny at the restaurant for coming to our room to take our room service order to make 100% sure he was getting our gluten free order correctly, to Simon who was so helpful and to everyone at the front desk and resort!!

We can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MFamily33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buena_Vista_Chris, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Thank you MFamily33, for your kind review and for staying with us at the one and only Tulemar Resort during this Holiday Season! Glad we could assist with your dietary needs too! Most restaurants in our area including Tule Cafe will do everything they can to accommodate guests. That is where a personal concierge is great to have in order to prearrange everything perfectly. Thanks again for the stay and we too hope to host all of you again soon! Pura Vida, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017

Tulemar is extraordinary! We rented a beautiful casa with the most amazing views of the jungle and the ocean. Macaws and toucans flew daily by the balcony porch. One morning we were treated to Capuchin (White Face) and Squirrel monkeys in the trees off our balcony porch. The private beach was paradise. We saw sloths as we walked to the beach. A shuttle was always available to take you anywhere on the property. Our concierge arranged for a wonderful chef, Luis, who cooked our fresh catch of Mahi Mahi and Tuna! I would highly recommend Tulemar and hope to return as soon as possible!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cwsbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buena_Vista_Chris, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Thank you cwsbar, for your review and for staying with us at the one and only Tulemar Resort over the Holiday Season. Glad you enjoyed the private chef service; there is no better way than the "hook it and cook it" method. Guest goes on a fishing charter returns with a rich catch of fish and then a private chef shows up to your villa to prepare everything! Pura Vida for sure, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

Great house( bungalow). We rented two houses and both were extremely roomy with great views. We woke up to monkeys outside of the balcony and a pair of macaws flying across the property of Tulemar. Units are clean and well kept. No shortage of glass wines or silverware. All appliance worked well. Andres ( concierge ) was always a quick message or call away. We rented unit 407 and 413. Kayaking to snorkeling area is just a quick trip. Food at beach is great.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Frederick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buena_Vista_Chris, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Thank you Fred for your review and for staying with us at the one and only Tulemar Resort during your Holiday Season vacation. The Two bedroom Premium Villas are great for families and large groups traveling together. Manuel Antonio is a great destination whether you are looking for quiet or action the area comfortably affords both. Thanks again and Pura Vida, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

Tulemar is beautiful. We saw more animals up close there than anywhere else in costa rica. Squirrel monkeys playing on our balcony, around the property...sloths, howler monkeys, so many beautiful birds. And the view! Amazing! We stayed in a one bedroom. So well maintained, all dishes, pans etc for meals at home and a refrigerator. They provided a basket of treats for purchase or would deliver grocery snacks. On site restaurant was good as was beach service. Staff made you feel very welcome. Rudy, one of the drivers...so friendly. Same with maria and simon...made a difference to have such friendly staff. Our concierge was a bit aggressive, texting us twice to go to a particular restaurant and twice asking us to review, and did not seem as sincere as the others. Not sure what his job is, would have been helpful to have info about certain restaurants rather than just links. Easy to look up restaurants now, great if he provided us with insider info...which has good children’s menu, good music, best drinks, etc. (a suggestion for future). A fantastic experience, a truly beautiful place. We used the shuttles and the service was always very fast. The pools were gorgeous, infinity pools, waterfalls, amazing view of ocean and mountains. Housekeeping even did our dishes! Thank you staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank 144772dot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buena_Vista_Chris, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Thank you 144772dot, for your review and for staying with us at the Tulemar Resort. Glad to hear you enjoyed our unique Resort over the Holiday season. I've alerted Alex our head concierge to your concern with the concierge service. I hope this was a mix up of some sort as this is not a common complaint. Thanks again and Pura Vida! Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017

We absolutely loved Tulemar Resorts! We stayed in a bungalow that was situated in the jungle and overlooked the ocean. It was like being in our own animal kingdom. We got to see wild sloths, monkeys, Macaw parrots and iguanas right on the property. The staff at Tulemar was incredible. We were traveling with our 2 -10 year old nieces. Andres helped us set up activities, rides and restaurants, always taking into account what we were looking for. All of the staff would help us to see wildlife which they knew we loved. It is a very special and family -friendly place. You have 3 family pools and access to Tulemar's beach which is amazing. I highly recommend staying here. I cannot wait to go back to paradise.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kdyste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buena_Vista_Chris, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Thank you kdyste, for your review and stay with us at the number 4 ranked family vacation destination by Tripadvisor, Tulemar Resort. Our staff is eager to point out all the wildlife here in Tulemar; our guests reactions remind us just how special Costa Rica is! We look forward to hosting you again! Pura Vida, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews