We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A house and a host who are one with nature”

Review of Melvin"s House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
NathanA_1...
Tyler, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A house and a host who are one with nature”
Reviewed 23 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Melvin's house is a beautiful home that is built to breathe with the cloud forest in which it resides. We loved the picture windows in the master bedroom, the large ficus for climbing in the backyard, the beautiful birds, agouti, coati, and other critters that surrounded us. Our family of 6 fit in this house nicely and thoroughly enjoyed it.
Melvin is a gracious and friendly host. His love of Monteverde is infectious. You will not regret hiring him as a guide for the day, or at least asking his advise for local activity bookings and directions. He showed us so many things we would have otherwise missed without him. My children love him and want to go back and see him again some day.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip to Costa Rica!”
Reviewed 8 May 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The location of Melvin's charming house was perfect for us--nature all around yet Saint Elena was just a quick drive away. And we could not have asked for a more knowledgeable, helpful and fun host and guide than Melvin. During the three days we spent in Monteverdi we learned so much from Melvin! And made so many wonderful memories! He and his delightful family truly made our stay in the cloud forest the best!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samanthaw...
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional house and experience”
Reviewed 20 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We had the most enjoyable stay at Melvin's house while visiting Costa Rica. The location is absolutely beautiful . Our home was stunning, beautifully cleaned and very large, photos do not do it justice as its amazing. With a wonderful garden, we saw so much wildlife! Absolutely must stay Monetverde. Melvin is a phenomenal host from the beginning to the end of our stay. A very warm welcome and helping us with everything we needed from local advice to booking up our days, as he is on site in his home you feel safe and relaxed. We also booked him as a guide for the day and night and his knowledge is incredible, we met his family (pizza is incredible!) and his kindness and openness left us feeling like we'd left part of our hearts in Monteverde, we actually cried when we left. What a fantastic experience! Thank you for making our holiday so special. I cannot recommend Melvin and his home more, we will be back!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimro13
boston
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed 24 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Melvin's house is a wonderful place. His home is very comfortable, well maintained and in a great location. Melvin himself is a wonderful host and his knowledge of the local area is tremendous. Our family of 5 (three kids 4,6,8) will never forget the amazing time we spent with him in Monteverde and San Luis.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayumi W
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Best naturalist Melvin”
Reviewed 25 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We didn't stay at the Melvin's house however we hired Melvin for our private tour to find the mysterious bird quetzals at the Curi Cancha Park. He was such a keen and profetional naturalist! Not only he was great in guiding, but also he was a true hearted nice man. Since it is not always and not so easy to see the quetzals, we wanted to go only with Melvin, who is the most knows specialist to find this birds. And yes we did see them!!!
Thank you very much Melvin and I will hope to see you soon and meet Saray next time I go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing