We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel El Jardin(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sano Banano Beachside Hotel(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Amor de Mar(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Proyecto Lodge(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Luna Llena Hotel(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
US$34
US$29
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
61
27
11
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
27
11
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstudio apartmentpool villaaccess roadlarge porchin townthe ownerliving spaceprepare mealswindows and doorsoutdoor showerview is amazingcosta ricabeautiful placemontezuma beachhot watersan josehowler monkeys
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile

What? 162$ / for this? After travelling for 10 days in various parts of the country, this was probably our worst deal. Shabby villas tastelessly decorated, mosquito nets full of holes, hard bed, pathetic shower,no breakfast, shabby finishings and broken window nettings that would never keep a mosquito away if we had left the windows open. The only thing I liked was the view, although I have seen much better in this beautiful country. Was relieved when they accepted to cancel our second night - we found much better and much cheaper in town.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Saleem E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

We stayed here in the 2nd floor studio apartment ("Arriba") for 1 week (12/27 through 1/3) and had the best experience we could have asked for, especially since this was our first real international vacation. Casitas Sollevante combined the comforts of home with the rustic carefree nature of the jungle and the relaxed breezy feel of the beach.

I booked this way back in May (book ahead for high & dry season/holidays!) and requested an upstairs room for a better view and they were more than happy to accommodate my request. The room was equipped with all the kitchen & bathroom necessities (though you'll spend most of your time outside anyway), and was very clean from the daily housekeeping service. Note you will need matches or a lighter for the stove burners and coffee and sugar are already provided. Our apartment didn't have the outdoor shower, but I was fine not seeing spiders the whole week! Plus, the water pressure was fantastic and we had zero problem getting hot water. Toilet flushed better than the one we had in Alajuela.

On the very large porch, we draped our wet clothing, towels and bathing suits on the rail everyday, and there were 2 adirondack chairs and table with stools in lieu of a hammock (which I was hoping for but forgot to ask the staff for). They were comfy enough to sip coffee in. We ate breakfast everyday outside at the table and watched the sun rise (there is no indoor seating). The bed was very firm, but I love a firm mattress. Still got great sleep every night. We opted to keep windows and doors closed at night and the AC on, but a mosquito net is provided should you want more of an open feel. The AC worked VERY well - I actually got a little chilly in the middle of the night.

From day 1, the staff was nothing short of wonderfully helpful, informative, congenial and accommodating. Matilda helped us check in on our first night and explained the grounds and the breakfast/dinner times and showed us the map on where to dine and shop in town. Varina was our go-to the rest of the week, who answered all my questions about booking tours, and even offered us a shortcut to get to the waterfalls. Both women helped prepare meals and serve drinks, as well. The owner, Marco, was always available and cooked very delicious swordfish, mahi mahi, burgers and breakfast (I unfortunately did not try the pasta), and even called us a cab to take us into town on NYE. Meals are more frequent than I had anticipated, so don't worry if you can't get into town on that first hectic day/night. FYI, you don't have to carry around cash for the meals - they will put it on your room tab.

The grounds/landscaping are beautifully done and the pool is clean (but gets a little warm from the sun). Note that parking is limited (about 4 spaces max) so if you arrive at a busy time, you will need to park on the access road to the left, which is very bumpy but has a helpful turnaround area at the end. Yes, you DO need a car or SUV to easily go to and from here and elsewhere, otherwise you're at the mercy of cabs or burning a TON of calories hiking up and down the steep, steep winding mountain roads (which we did a couple days for exercise - well worth the cool-off in the sea). Additionally, the apartment we were in is not accessible via the pathways on the main grounds - we had to access it through the side gravel access road that leads to a private property (not a huge deal, as this made it more private anyway and there were helpful motion sensor lights on the adjacent properties). If you're not keen on walking more, stay in the main villas (however, don't be alarmed if confused people like me accidentally walk up to your porch via the sidewalks!)

Come here for the view - 100%. The venture up the mountain and rocky roads is SO worth it. Even from our sideways angle, the sweeping panorama of the grounds, jungle and ocean were breathtaking - I could never tire of that view. We were woken up everyday by the smell of the fragrant jungle flowers and the sounds of the ocean waves, howler monkeys, barking geckos (yes, they exist and yes, they are harmless little creatures that occupied our room the whole week), blue white-throated magpie jays, squirrels and funny iguanas that like to hang out in the porch awning. Embrace it all, that's what makes the experience so unique.

Would definitely stay here again next time I'm in Montezuma (hopefully soon!)

Room Tip: Request an upstairs apartment for the view. Definitely rent a car or SUV.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Andi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

Casitas Sollevante is a wonderful place..I am writing this review as we pack bags to go back to San Jose..we stayed at Villa Piscina,one of the houses at this wonderful place..this 2 bedroom house,fully equipped that can sleep 6 people..a/c at each bedroom can cool the house even on this 90 degrees temperature..service is great and the views from our house are great..my only personal complain is that there are no televisions in the house,but after a day at Montezuma beach and the pool,who needs one..??
Keep in mind that a 4x4 is needed to reach this beautiful place..
Hope to come back in the near future and as they say in Costa Rica "Pura Vida"...

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank fofo527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
9
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel was a little always from town and you needed to take a taxi to get there. But once you were up there, the views of the ocean were amazing. The pool is decent and can do some laps. The rooms were tastefully done. AC worked well. Nice to have an open air shower. The wifi doesn't work in the rooms. Only at the bar which was fine but it worked well.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

It's a great place if you have a car and want to be away from the crowds. But still very close to the village. View is amazing. Would be nice if there would be more meals available also in low season. Rooms could also maybe be a bit more cosy, but the view and the gardens make up for it! Also great with kids!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Monique J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews