We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
81
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor kitchen yogurt delicious homemade every morning special property gorgeous bathroom howler monkeys the owner tile work costa rica spread out santa teresa mal pais comfortable beds flora and fauna beautiful place nicoya peninsula
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2015

There is a reason Kalapiti has all excellent reviews and 5 star ratings. It is a true gem in the jungle. I have been spending the winters in Montezuma for 4 years and had the pleasure of staying at Kalapiti for a few days in December 2014. In contrast to other hotels, rental homes, etc, in the area, Kalapiti is an oasis in the middle of a rural location.

As other reviewers have noted, the owners have spared no expense in making Kalapiti into 2 Moroccan themed villas that are very modern, comfortable, and extremely well built. Not to forget the amenities such as exquisite bathrooms and showers with HOT water, LARGE pool with water slide, and nice outdoor sitting and dining areas. My daughter and I had a very relaxing time and spent both days at the pool. We only left the premises for dinner although Miguel does offer dining at Kalapiti with a bit of advance notice on menu desires.

Just a suggestion...if you are planning to also stay at other places within the area, make Kalapiti your last stop as you want to leave Montezuma on a very high note. The other way around (Kalapiti first, others last) will have you wishing you were back at Kalapiti.

Highly recommend!

Room Tip: The bottom villa has more space and is good for multiple families.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KALAPITI, Propietario at Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2015

Dear Friend
It was a real pleasure having you at Kalapiti. Thanks for appreciate our effort to do something, different, special and really unique for our customers.
Don´t forget the way back to Kalapiti. We will be waiting to spoil you :-)
Miguel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2014

Once again, I can't say enough about this beautiful villa. Second time to stay at Kalapiti and it was just perfect! Miguel and Piti are amazing hosts. You will have complete privacy when you want it and excellent service when you need it. We invited friends for a dinner party of six one night during a storm...lost power for quite a while but Miguel had candles everywhere and he made trip after trip from their house in the pouring rain. They set a beautiful table and served Piti's paella...absolutely a must have dinner while you are there. It was romantic and fun and they made the best of what could have been a difficult task! It was a blast! We feel like we have friends for life with this fantastic family. Con mucho gusto Miguel and Piti! Pura vida!

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank carlito4ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KALAPITI, Propietario at Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2014

Dear family
it was a real pleasure having you at Kalapiti again. For us i´is a pleasure and an honor serve you and attend you as you deserve
Don´t forget your costarrican friends down here :-)
A big hug
Miguel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2014

my second time in the area and the first staying at kalapiti. What a beautiful place perfectly nestled in the jungle but with 5 star amenities. The owner brought fresh bread and eggs to us daily with jams as well. Rooms were great and was nice to have a house keeper service daily. The only downside which wasn't a big deal was spotty wi-fi and it was slow but I wasn't there to be on the Internet all day anyways. Was a great time and I would recommend it highly to anyone headed that way.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
Thank Merchantsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KALAPITI, Propietario at Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2014

Thanks a lot for your words
You know I am here for serve you any time.
Sorry for the wifi. I know it is low specially on raily weather. It is much better at summer time. I have the highest speed that I can. We are to far from main central.
I am happy you appreciatte our place
Sincerely
Miguel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2014

We had a wonderful four day stay at Kalapiti! The owner, Miguel, was prompt to answer emails before our stay and greeted us at the home when we arrived. He also periodically checked in to make sure we had everything we needed.
The house was spacious and comfortable. The outdoor kitchen and large pool was where we spent the majority of our time and was very relaxing. When we arrived Miguel had left us fresh fruit, fresh baked bread, champagne and eggs. The bread was amazing! Everyday the bread, eggs and fruit were restocked which was so nice for breakfast each morning.
The pool is huge and the waterslide was so much fun!

The house is a 8-10 minute drive to get into the main part of Montezuma but it is easy to find and once you do it a few times it is no problem at all. You definitely will need a car if you stay here because I think it would be very difficult to get a taxi everytime you wanted to leave.

Overall we had an amazing stay at Kalapiti and we would stay there again in a heartbeat!

Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kathryne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KALAPITI, Propietario at Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2014

Dear friends
Thanks a lot for your words. It was a pleasure attend you as you deserve.
We'll be here for serve you anytime.
Don't forget the way back to Kalapiti :-)
In case you come without car it will be a pleasure call a taxi for you. I have a list with taxi numbers ready to come in 10 minutes :-)
All the best !!
Miguel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2014

We had no idea what to expect when we arrived at Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites. What a wonderful surprise! Our suite was breathtaking with all the amenities of a five star hotel nestled in the jungle. The owner of the property couldn't of been more helpful. He wanted to make sure we were pleased with our stay. We would wake up every morning to freshly baked bread and fruit that made our stay special. The pool and surrounding architecture was beautiful! Being in the middle of the jungle in such a beautiful property will be a memory we will treasure forever.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CurtP6200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeliciasMontezuma, Propietario at Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

Thanks a lot for your comments
We really apreciatte to know about your satisfaction level because we tried to the best for you
Kalapiti is our dream come true
Don't forget the way back to Kalapiti
All the best untill then
Miguel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews