We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rio Tico Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Brisas Del Campo(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveller rating
228
21
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
228
21
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstilapiadutch ownerdutch pancakesnice bathroomhardwood floorsbreakfast was delicioushot showerstayed longerpacific coastmain buildingfresh fruitstayed for nightsdrake baytentswaterfalljunglenature
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 250 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2016 via mobile

To stay in the beautiful tents fully equipt with comfortable beds, very nice bathroom and great views from your balcony is a true paradise. In addition to this, whole place around is fantastic, everything is very well kept, taken care of and very clean. Breakfast is very nice and tasty, and the owner is a fantastic and helpful guy. Close to the lodge you have beautiful waterfall to swimm in and just by the tents you have crystal clean river with different ponds to spend your days.

Stayed: March 2016
Thank Barcatko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2016

River setting is beautiful and fun to play in the river. Good for a short stay as the bed is not super comfortable and the rooms can get hot. However, a large fan is provided and we did not have issues with bugs in our room. Fun to relax on rocks in the river or be more adventurous and use some of the ropes to travel downstream. There is hiking on site and a restaurant and large waterfall within walking distance. The drive to the main road is not bad so you can try out local Ojochal restaurants. You can get beer and wine until 10pm which is nice and they serve a good sauvignon blanc. Bring plenty of bug spray!

Stayed: January 2016
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2016 via mobile

Short drive off the main paved road.

Nice stay. Our host was helpful and accommodating.
We stayed in one of the tents backing onto the river.
Comfy bed and nice bath.
Breakfast was very good.
The river is a great place to hang out and there's even a small swimming hole.
The near by restaurant is good and reasonably priced, and within walking distance.

Highly recommended

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2015

We stayed for four nights at Miranda and Cees' property. The experience was unique and I recommend it fully. The tents have all the amenities that you need and the bathrooms are very clean. Everything is kept neat and tidy and Angelika and Sadie, the Rio Tico employees, are extremely helpful and friendly. Cees was great at giving me directions to get to places as navigation is not a forte of mine and the trips he recommended were thoroughly enjoyable. The whale and dolphin tour was fabulous and we saw 14 whales which was a highlight. We got lucky as usually sightings are of between 4- 6 whales. The other tour my son and I enjoyed was an early kayak amongst the mangroves with a guide called Jaime. We were in the water by 5 30am and the tranquility and serenity was priceless. We also did a hike with Jaime in the afternoon and saw and heard a range of creatures including Toucans and Howler monkeys. Jaime is very knowledgeable about his environment and showed us much we had never encountered before in the rainforest. The property has a a few steps to negotiate to get to the tents but there are tents near the restaurant reserved for those who are less able to climb. Just ask at the time of your reservation. Thank you Cees and Miranda for offering this opportunity. I hope many people come and experience what you have created.

Room Tip: Rooms at the riverside offer a lovely outlook but if you are not used to the sound of water outside it might keep you awake.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MuriwaiLot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2015 via mobile

This is s great place when you like to be in The tropical rainforest. 8 luxurious safari Tents with private bathrooms are located on The river/cascade. Great swimming in The river and opportunities to walk and spot toucans. Simpele, but good breakfast. Great stop before going into Corcovado.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank Minke V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews