We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveller rating
129
113
46
24
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
113
46
24
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla sirena hotelbudget hotelthe busmanuel antoniocosta ricabreakfast areafresh fruiteggs and toaststayed here for nightswi fiplenty of hot waterincluded breakfastnice poolevery morningrooms are cleanair conditionerpollo
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 325 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Clean room, nice staff. But, our room unfortunately was downstairs right across from breakfast area so we were awakened each day before 6am by the loud voices of the breakfast staff and their breakfast prep sounds.

The pool and breakfast areas are open to the outside air but enclosed by walls, so sounds at night include street noises (loud cars) and nearby bars and restaurants. Hotel is downtown and not on the nicest street, with only street parking unless you want to pay $10 a day for a secured lot (not part of hotel). We were able to park right in front of the front door, and front desk staff assured us they could watch it via the security camera our side.

Breakfast ok (pinto, coffee, cereal, fruit, juice) but if you want bacon or sausage it is extra. Breakfast area had ants which were all up in the cereal. Told staff the first day, but they were still there on day 2.

We had three people and wanted a third towel and a couple of extra pillows and got them with no problem, but I had to sign a receipt for them, which was annoying (we travel a lot and I have NEVER had that happen before). The mattresses are uncomfortable and wobble when you turn over.

All in all, would not stay here again.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank SK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry W, Owner at Serenity Boutique Hotel Quepos, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We are working to improve our hotel. Unfortunately with the breakfast area being outdoors - it is very difficult to keep insects away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

We spent 2 nights at the Serenity Hotel and it was fine. Our room was on the upper floor so we weren't bothered at all by any noise as other reviewers have mentioned who had rooms on the ground floor. The room was very large with a comfortable king size bed and best of all it was air-conditioned which is much appreciated in the hot humid weather that is typical of Quepos. The bathroom was very large with plenty of hot water. The included breakfast was eggs and gallo pinto, nothing special but it was OK. There is a nice little pool in the hotel but we didn't have time to use it. I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: As for a room on the upper floor
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PicMorDaisies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry W, Owner at Serenity Boutique Hotel Quepos, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thank you for your kind comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

Nice feeling about this hotel, nice pool ,rooms were pretty good although downstairs ones are close to breakfast area.
Breakfast was good and a nice touch was free fruit, coffee and water all day.
Staff nice and helpful

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Tsturgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucia S, Manager at Serenity Boutique Hotel Quepos, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Thank you very much for your feedback, it was a pleasure to have you in our beautiful place. Come back soon.

Gracias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018

Location is great - walk to restaurants, marina, or step next door to Wacky Wanda's for a drink.

Staff is very friendly - anxious to help. Breakfast staff was ready to go by 6:15 every morning, and serving a "typical" breakfast. Office staff (young guys) ready to answer any question, and offer ideas for wandering around.

Clean bathroom, clean floor, and ac keeps the room cool at night. Although on the street side, room #9 was quiet.

Need to add "Do not Disturb" signs to the door (I don't need maid service every day), and update the bed (my mattress preference).

Overall, a good value.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms next to the pool if you want to sleep in. Breakfast is served at 6:30. Great for those of us fishing...
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DBlevins62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry W, Owner at Serenity Boutique Hotel Quepos, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2018

Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

My wife and I stayed two nights. Quepos is a busy little city but the rooms are separated from the street. The courtyard and pool are very nice and restful. Breakfast is quite good as well. Only negative: the directions. Follow these directions and you should find it no problem. On the avenue facing National Bank of Costa Rica (not the same as Bank of CR), take the street to your left half a block toward the sea. It is on the left next to a bar called Wacky Wanda's. Wifi is free but can be weak in spots.

Room Tip: There is some confusion about whether the name is Hotel Serenity or Hotel La Sirena. It goes by both.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank touring24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry W, Owner at Serenity Boutique Hotel Quepos, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Thank you for taking your time to write a review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews