We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in the Jungle”
Review of Pueblo Real

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pueblo Real
Reviewed 7 August 2016

We stayed at Pueblo Real as the main base for our Pacific Coast Costa Rican adventure. The resort is just off the main highway on the Pacific Coast. It is approximately 5 KM north of the town of Quepos. You need to be VERY aware or you will miss the turn off the highway. I would absolutely recommend that anyone staying at this resort have a vehicle (preferably a 4x4). The resort is 1 KM off the highway down a typical Costa Rican unpaved road. The resort is located at the end of the road. The resort is intimate. Not overwhelming in size. Check in was fast and efficient. We were assigned to unit 210. It is a beautiful 2 bedroom unit overlooking the pool. Decor was very tasteful, furnishings were comfortable and new. Kitchen was well equipped with all modern appliances including a microwave convection oven. Bedrooms were roomy and comfortable. Some may consider the mattresses to be too firm but it was not a problem for me. The pool area was amazing. The resort does not have a full-time restaurant but does offer breakfast for a very nominal fee. Maria is amazing in the kitchen and her breakfast combo plates were unbelievable. The resort does offer tours that leave directly from the resort, we had our own 4x4 so we spent our days exploring on our own. If you are looking for a peaceful and intimate resort to use as a home base as you explore the Central Pacific coast you should consider Pueblo Real. If you are looking for wild parties do not book here. Overall the resort was a pleasant surprise.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit facing the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

We tremendously enjoyed our stay in the second floor, 2 bdrm, 2 bath with a spacious living area and 3 tvs! Wonderful setting though road in is rough. It is 5 km from Quepos which is a quaint but full service town. Staff is great...most speak English. Swim up bar in pool! Just a great place.

Stayed: August 2016
Thank Lynne_n_Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2016

The property was clean, the staff was helpful and although the location is not directly in town, it is less than an hour away from all the places we went during out stay.
Manuel Antonio - 15 minutes
Quepos - 10 minutes
Uvita - 45 minutes
Playa Herradura - 55 minutes
Jaco - 50 minutes
Rainmaker - 10 minutes
I strongly suggest the following activities during your stay in Costa Rica
Golf at La Iguana (book tee time via teeoff.com for great discount) amazing course
Jungle ATV Tour in Uvita (well worth the drive)
Jade Tour Manuel Antonio (good price and very informative)
La Langosta Feliz for seafood
The only negatives from our stay at Pueblo Real
$15 for wifi (only available in the Lobby & Pool - not in your room)
$15 for laundry (no washing machines in room or on site)
They mention a shuttle bus into Quepos & Manuel Antonio but during our stay it wasn't operating.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank kaiser_sosae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2016 via mobile

Transportation from San Jose Airport expensive and difficult to arrange for a first-timer. Very nice and well equipped room. Beautiful, well kept grounds. Rather remote location with limited local food options; needed transportation off grounds even to grocery shop. Excursions arranged by staff were great!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
3  Thank kwletsgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

When we checked in to the hotel there were what we thought were spiders all over our room. Luckily for us once we talked to the helpful people at the front desk we were informed they were baby crabs and not spiders, huge relief! While having baby crabs all over your room isn't the best, it certainly beats having spiders all over your room!

Overall, we really enjoyed the hotel. It is quiet and the grounds are lovely. We really enjoy being off the beaten path and also being close to some of favorite activities. Manuel Antonio National Park is a must. The Nuyaca Waterfall Horseback ride, which we HIGHLY recommend, is one of our very favorite things in all of Costa Rica. While the horseback tour is about an hour away from the hotel it is absolutely worth the drive.

A few cons about the hotel:
1) The $15 (although apparently one reviewer only had to pay $10 last month) for WIFI is just silly. Normally I don't need WIFI while on vacation, but after having a car accident our first day it was essential that we have the Internet. Overall, it doesn't bother me that there isn't WIFI in the individual rooms, just that they try to make an extra buck off of it, instead of just giving people the password.

2) We could only get hot water in one of our bathrooms. Not a huge deal, mostly frustrating because it was the en suite that didn't have hot water and we didn't actually try the guest bath until our last day, so we took cold showers most of the week.

This is certainly not a luxury resort, but I am definitely NOT looking for a "Sandals" type vacation. We had a good stay and appreciated the knowledgable staff.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Tilli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
6.1 km away
Hotel Mono Azul
Hotel Mono Azul
#1 of 14 in Quepos
412 reviews
4.8 km away
Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk
5.4 km away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#17 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Serenity Boutique Hotel Quepos
11.6 km away
Cocomar Beachfront Hotel
Cocomar Beachfront Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palo Seco
281 reviews
5.8 km away
Hostel Plinio
Hostel Plinio
#4 of 42 in Manuel Antonio
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Real

Address: Quepos 6350, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Quepos
Price Range: $187 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pueblo Real 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Pueblo Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Real Hotel Quepos
Pueblo Real Quepos, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing