We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$85
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Autentico Hotel(San Jose)
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$149
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aldea San Jose(San Jose)(Great Value!)
US$50
US$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Angels Hotel(San Jose)(Great Value!)
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amon 1894(San Jose)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Angels Hotel(San Jose)
US$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
21
9
6
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
9
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskshuttlepoolbreakfastlocationairport
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2018

After several nights having to endure the BW Irazu, (please read my review of this hotel) we were finally moved to our rightful room on the BW Plus side. As I mentioned earlier, the BW Irazu and the BW Plus is the same hotel, separated only as a separate wing. There is a major difference between the '2' hotels. Again both hotels are in the same location, with the same front desk and same lobby, just a different wing that reportably has been recently renovated. This side of the hotel offered very heavy sliding glass doors to the balcony that reduced the outside noise which was very prevalent on the Irazu side. The rooms were somewhat updated, but still required new furniture, bedding etc. The 'mini bar' was a table top so-called refrigerator that sat on top of the desk, but was in no way cold - ever.
The hallway and the rooms were much quieter than on the Irazu side. Our room overlooked the garden and pool which was kept clean. The seating at the pool however was the worst. You literally sunk to the ground upon sitting on the chairs or lounges.
Unlike the Irazu, this room actually offered tissues in the room. There is only one chair in the room, so in order to watch TV (mainly Spanish broadcasting as expected) you had to sit on the bed. That became very uncomfortable. The elevators (2) indicated they held 5 or 6 people. Two people with luggage is about it.
The location is actually pretty good. About a 5 minute ride to the National Stadium (soccer) About a 15 minute ride to the central Mercado and about a 20 minute ride (with no traffic) to the airport. Use Uber. It is much cheaper than the taxis. There is a small market within walking distance to buy water or drinks. The hotel charges $5. for a liter of water.
Also on this side of the hotel, there is free WIFI, free limited breakfast at Denny's and coupon for a free drink in the restaurant adjoining the hotel (Sangrias).
Limited English is spoken, so bring your translation phone apps.

Room Tip: The BW properties are not our first choice. Management is not very good, having had a problem when we first checked-in
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Dear Larry R, thank you so much for sharing your very detailed comments regarding your stay at our hotel.

Yes, you are right, both, the Best Western Irazu hotel and the Best Western Plus are both located at the Irazu Complex and they share the common areas. There is nothing more important for us nor that we want more, than to see our guests totally comfortable and satisfied so we strive to provide them with everything they might need, from very comfortable accommodations to excellent services (like our complimentary breakfast and our welcome drink among many others). Please accept our apologies that there was only one chair in your room and that the mini fridge was not cooling. We assure you that if you had let our front desk know about it, they would have immediately send another chair to your room and send a technician to fix the fridge because as we mentioned before, nothing is more important than your total comfort and satisfaction. We are also very sorry about the lounge chairs around the pool; we are going to let our Management know of how you kept sinking to the ground so that they can see to it immediately. We are very glad that you found our location so convenient which always is a big plus for our guests.
It was a pleasure being at your service. Thank you for staying with us.
Warmest regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

This newly renovated property is delightful. The rooms are sleek and comfortable with great linens and super fast internet connection.

The hotel is conveniently located, has a lively cantina and a beautiful breakfast service in a stunning garden lounge. A great option for a stay in San Jose.

Just lovely.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank greenie506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

Dear greenie506, thank you so much for posting your magnificent comments regarding your stay with us.

We are delighted that really like all the renovation done to the hotel and that you felt so happy with our accommodations and services (especially with our delicious complimentary breakfast) because there is nothing more important to us than our guests' total comfort, satisfaction and well being. Last but not least, it makes us very happy that you found our location so conveniently located since we are 15 minutes away from the airport and just 10 minutes from downtown and from the country's best commercial and entertainment areas.

It has been a pleasure being at your service. Thank you for choosing us, we will be looking forward to your next visit.

Best regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed here one night unplanned due to flight delays on our way out of Costa Rica (I mean it really wasn’t a huge deal and come on there are much worse places to have to spend an extra day in) but we had a few transportation issues on our way to the hotel which we booked that moment on the spot and when we got there and got into a conversation about our “adventure” (I really really wish I could remember her name but it was a very long day I apologize)... anyway after hearing about our ordeal she completely bent over backwards and did everything in her power to make our lesson 24 hour stay absolutely amazing. ave us drink vouchers and breakfast vouchers (we did not use the breakfast vouchers seeing as we left at 4:30am, and ended our trip on such a positive note when our trip was amazing and really truly could have ended in such a crappy way instead the front desk staff totally came through times 10!!! Our trip ended with us checking in, dropping our bags in the room which was very nice, and then we went and had dinner at the bar (omg you gotta try the mozzarella onion rings... why do we not have these in San Diego sooooo yummy!!!)

The front desk woman (so sorry I really wish I could remember her name (It was around 4-5pm on Thursday December 7,2017... if anyone from the hotel sees this please tell me her name because she really does deserve the credit for “saving” the last day of our trip and literally for making sure we got to the airport safely and on time at 5am the next day she was absolutely amazing!!!) She was so sweet wanting to leave us with a good impression of Costa Rica (which even with all of our last day trip bs I absolutely loved Costa Rica and highly recommended you get adventurous and visit farther down the Pacific Costa and go see Paritta, or Dominical or Uvita and honestly I’d book this hotel as my last hotel so your close to the airport if you have a morning or afternoon flight) all and all loved our stay here!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Best Western Plus San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear Lindsay B, thank you so much for sharing such wonderful and very detailed comments regarding your stay with us.

We are truly sorry for all the inconvenience you experienced with the delay of your flight, but on the other hand, we are very happy that you got to stay with us and that you were so pleased with our accommodations, services and with our fantastic staff since nothing is more important to us than our guests' total comfort and satisfaction. We are very proud to have a staff that embodies everything our Brand stands for; a staff who are always willing to go the extra mile for our guests, so it is very rewarding knowing how much you appreciated their services.

It has been a pleasure being at your service. Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you all back soon. Warmest regards. On behalf of our entire team, we wish you and your family a very happy New Year.
Warmest regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

Front desk: Sira was excellent and helped me with a problem on my Reservation. I spite of being mobbed with guests she always smiled and was pleasant. She also remembered me when I returned.
Jaun Carlos whom I met in the Rewards members breakfast also was very friendly and introduced himself to me. I have traveled the world and this was the best breakfast of all.

Room Tip: Great room with balcon, secure, well located in San Jose the Irazu has been my favorite for 12 years.
Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Edwin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Best Western Plus San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Dear Edwin L, thank you so much for sharing your phenomenal review.

We are beyond happy and very proud that your stay with us was such a wonderful and unforgettable hotel experience since nothing is more important for us than our guests' total comfort, satisfaction and well being. We are also delighted to learn that you are already part of our extended global family since you stayed with us twice during your trip. Our awesome staff are always making sure that our guests feel more than welcome and right at home (just like Juan Carlos and Sira), they comply with our guests' requests and needs as quickly as possible and always with a big smile across their faces. Also, we are more than thrilled to learn that you found our complimentary breakfast the best breakfast you had try in all the hotels around the world.

It has been a pleasure being at your service. Thank you for staying with us. The entire team will be looking forward to your next visit.

Warmest regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews