We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostel”
Review of Hostel Casa Colon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostel Casa Colon
Ranked #27 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

I never visited hostels before and this was my first one ever. And i was always sceptical of these places since i watched the movie hostel lol, but i must say this is amazing place. 7$ a night, free towel (deposit required) right in downtown, clean place, bar right there. You just cant go wrong. Hotels are 100$ a night, versus 7$. Thats 93$ that you save every night. More money to spend for activities! Just ask for the rooms upstairs, DONT get room 101, its noisy from traffic outside.

Anyway, cheers!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank titoija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

My friend and I shared a private room. It was clean, the breakfast was tasty, and the staff was very prompt and helpful! They also helped us book our Volcan Irazu tour which was very helpful since we only had one real day in San Jose. Would definitely stay there again!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Shelby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostelCasaColon, Front Office Manager at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

We really appreciatte your comment, will be a pleasure to see you again in Casa Colon!
Greetings for all the staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

Stayed at this hostel with family. The staff were great and really nice. The room were clean and beds comfy. The only con to this hostel is that there's a restaurant connected so it can get really loud at times. It's close to shops and restaurants if you want to take a walk.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtchante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostelCasaColon, Front Office Manager at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Thank you very much for your comment!
Greetings from all the staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

We were staying at a nearby hostel, and their front desk referred us to Hostel Casa Colon for dinner, so we walked over. It's a nice Spanish colonial type building, with a restaurant and bar downstairs. We thought the food was delicious and the prices were quite reasonable for the city. Friendly, great service. Try the Aztec soup...mmmm!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mangomum2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostelCasaColon, General Manager at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Thank you! Very much for your comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

Decent place, friendly and helpful staff. It's San Jose so expect it to be noisy, but with earplugs I slept fine. Stayed in a dorm room just for a night on my way in between the south and the north and had no problems, but also didn't get all that much of a feel for it. The bed was surprisingly firm and even, without the sagging middle that's almost ubiquitous in hostel beds. The Terminal 7/10 bus station, where the Monteverde bus goes from, is about a 15 minute walk away, so it's a convenient location (the only other closer ones are pretty shady looking and not listed on TA).

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostelCasaColon, Front Office Manager at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Thanks you for your comment! We really appreciatte that you choose Hostel Casa Colon, during your stay in San José!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.2 km away
San Jose Cocoon Hotel
San Jose Cocoon Hotel
#55 of 78 in San Jose
510 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#44 of 78 in San Jose
113 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel Kaps Place
Hotel Kaps Place
#26 of 78 in San Jose
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#39 of 78 in San Jose
163 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
976 reviews
4.7 km away
Colours Oasis Resort
Colours Oasis Resort
#31 of 78 in San Jose
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Casa Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Casa Colon

Address: Paseo Colon, Calle 24 Norte | Contiguo a Torre Mercedes, San Jose 1255-1200, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range: $24 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Casa Colon 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Casa Colon is a beautiful colonial house in the 50s, with an architectural design typical of the period, with artisan hand carved cedar. We are a boutique Hostel with excellent quality, higher standards of each of the services Located in an excellent tourist and commercial area with easy access to services (banks, ATM machines, supermarkets, bars, restaurants, gas stations, shops, transport, etc) We offer private and shared rooms, bar and restaurant, security, excellent customer service and tourist information, free parking, TV room with flat screen cable TV. The comfortable private rooms have flat screen, cable TV, wireless internet access and housekeeping. (In addition sofa in Junior Suite) The dorms have bunk beds, free lockers, shared bathrooms spotless. The bar and restaurant offers delicious dishes for breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Casa Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Casa Colon Hotel San Jose
Hostel Casa Colon Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing