We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Best Western experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino
Ranked #16 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 May 2017

We decided to stay here for one night before we flew home because it was closer to the airport and the pictures of the pool looked good. Check in was easy and we were allowed to check in early since our room was ready. Unfortunately, our room was one of the outside facing rooms so our view was looking into another apartment building and not of the pool and gardens. It was your typical Best Western type room with 2 double beds. After staying in Laguna Lodge in Tortuguero and Lomas del Volcan in La Fortuna, the room seemed small. As with all of the hotels we stayed in, the room also had a small safe so that was nice. We stayed on the 3rd floor and the ice machines had been removed from the floor so we had to go to the 2nd floor to get ice.

We decided to go outside for a bit and visit the Parque Metropolitano La Sabana, which was only about 3km away, but there is no safe way to walk there as there are no sidewalks on the main highways. We took a cab there for $3 and a return cab for $4.

As I said, our room didn't face the pool so when we got back and decided to have a drink, we sat on the balcony off of the computer room since there were two chairs and a table there. The computer room with printer was nice, but I had to laugh as they all had international keyboards and everyone that came in from US didn't know how to type the @ symbol. Unfortunately, there were thunderstorms in the afternoon and evening so we didn't get a chance to try out the pool.

One of the nice perks about this hotel is that you get a complimentary drink the day you check in if you use it before 7pm at Denny's or at Sangria's. Also, breakfast is included, but since we had to leave for the airport at 5am we would miss it. The nice thing was that Denny's is open 24 hours so we got breakfast there at 4:30am. They have a set menu (2 items) for the complimentary breakfast. Still, it was nice to get a breakfast as most other hotels we would be out of luck. The shuttle to the airport ($8/person) was promt and got us there quickly.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the pool for a nicer view from balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eldon-Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Dear Eldon-Vancouver, thank you so much for sharing your very detailed comments about your stay with us.

We are totally committed in making our guests have a very pleasant hotel experience, surrounding them with comfortable accommodations, beautiful landscaping, excellent services (like our complimentary breakfast options and our computer room among others) and with a very convenient location (we are 15 minutes away from the airport, 10 minutes from downtown and from the country's best comercial and entertainment areas).

We are very sorry that you only saw 2 of the breakfast choices on the set complimentary breakfast menu since Denny's offers more options. On the other hand, since they offer 24 hour breakfast service, we are glad that you were able to grab a bite to eat before departing on such a long trip. Our entire staff want nothing more than to comply with our guests' needs and requests as quickly as possible since their comfort and satisfaction are so important to us so we assure you that if you had let our front desk staff know that you were not satisfied with the view of your room, they would have immediately changed you to another with a better view. Also, they would have been more than happy to help you with the keyboards in the computer room. We really hope that if something like this happens next time you stay with us, that you will not hesitate and ask any of our personnel for assistance.

It has been a pleasure having you as a guest. Thank you for staying with us; we hope to see you again in the near future.

Warmest regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 46 of 758 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Panama City, Florida
21
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

Love the jakuzzi and the swimming pool. Ideal to combine business with leisure.
I have traveled in more than 50 countries in my life.
ANDREY is the most amazing Front Desk leader i have ever met. Very customer oriented. He even remember the strange names of customers all over the world. ANDREY is a naturally gifted talent that i had the privilege to meet.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear A TripAdvisor Member, thank you so much for posting your amazing comments.

We are delighted that your stay was such a success since you felt very comfortable and totally satisfied the entire time you stayed with us which is exactly what we always strive for. We are very proud our having Andrey as part of our staff because he embodies exactly what our hospitality philosphy is and which you were able to see for yourself. Our entire staff are totally committed to our guests, complying with everything they might need as fast as they can and with big smiles across their faces so that our guests can see just how important they are to us and how proud we are of having them here with us.

It was a pleasure being at your service. Thank you for staying with us, the entire team will be looking forward to your next visit.

Warmest regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

Arriving in our room found it a mess. Beds were not changed and dirty towels were still in the bath tub. They were first just going to change the sheets and get clean towels until I said that we needed a different room. We got another room - it had been cleaned but smelled stale. Oh well, a place to sleep for the night.

Room Tip: Inner rooms have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Dear Marilyn K, thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay with us.

We are truly sorry about what happened with the room you were assigned, please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience; luckily, your were changed immediately to another room because nothing is more important to us than our guests' comfort, satisfaction and well being. We really do strive to provide our guests with everything they might need because we want to see them completely relaxed and comfortable, enjoying everything the hotel has to offer. We are also very sorry that you found that the new room smelled stale; we assure you that if you had informed our front desk staff about it, they would have immediately sent some air freshener meanwhile opening the sliding doors and windows to air the room.
Once again, we apologize for the inconvenience.

It was a pleasure beeing at your service. Thank you for staying with us.

Warmest regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

My fiancé and I stayed here before heading to La Fortuna and Jaco Beach. Pretty decent hotel nothing spectacular. The rooms were clean. There was a nice outdoor pool. The staff was very friendly. Great hotel for the price.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Dear Toni C, thank you for sharing your superb comments about your stay with us.

We are delighted that both, you and your fiance felt so comfortable and were totally satisfied with our accommodations and services. Our utmost desire is and will alway be our guests comfort and satisfaction so it is very rewarding knowing that we did achieve our goal.

It was a pleasure being at your service. Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you both back soon.

Warmest regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Been coming to San Jose for 17 years and over the last five years the crew here has been the best yet! In particular paula and Andre at the front desk and Norma in reservations do such a great job, always courteous and friendly. The only thing that would make this location better would be a heated swimming pool and a buffet breakfast! The location is very clean, the staff are attentive and I look forward to seeing you again next year! -tony mascia/batman

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank tony m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Dear tony m, thank you so much for posting your superb review about our hotel.

We are totally elated that you have stayed with us for so many years, making you a very dear member of our extended global family and showing us just how much you like staying with us. We thrive on our guests' complete comfort and satisfaction so it is very rewarding seeing you back again and again, and it makes us keep on trying to exceed your expectations every time.

We thank you for your advice regarding what improvements we should make, we are going to share them immediately with our Management so that they can take them into account. For our entire staff, complying with our guests' needs and requests and making them feel more than welcome and right at home is more than our job, it is a pleasure. It is always a pleasure being at your service. Thank you for making us your hotel of choice.

The entire crew will be looking forward to your next visit. Warmest regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.6 km away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#11 of 78 in San Jose
1,494 reviews
3.9 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
976 reviews
3.6 km away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
927 reviews
2.6 km away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
5.3 km away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino

Address: Km 3 Autopista General Canas | Edificio sur, La Uruca, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica (Formerly Best Western Plus Irazu Hotel & Casino)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#3 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#7 Green Hotel in San Jose
#11 Family Hotel in San Jose
#24 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $102 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Irazu Hotel San Jose
Best Western Hotel Irazu
Best Western San Jose
San Jose Best Western
Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing