We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel needs lots of upgrades”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino
Ranked #15 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 June 2017

I had a terrible experience in this hotel, first night the account started making a noise and had to move in the middle of the night. This morning had no hot water and had to shower in cold water not to miss my flight. What bothers me the most is the attitude of some of the employees. First morning did not get a wake up call and the lady at the desk instead of being apologetic said the red light in my phone os off so you must not have heard it, i was awake one hour before due to jet lag, the Dennys is under renovation, so forget about some good breakfast and other areas of the hotel are under construction

Room Tip: Fourth floor looking back towards the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pedroofluquillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Dear Pedrofluquillo, thank you for sharing your comments about your stay, we really appreciate our guests' feedback.

We are truly sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations so please, accept our most sincere apologies for it. There is nothing we want more than to see our guests completely comfortable, satisfied and happy during their entire stay so we feel very saddened and troubled for all the inconveniences you experienced. We want to assure you that our receptionist's attitude goes against everything the our hotel stands for and our hospitality philosophy and guidelines and we our Management is currently following up on your report to ensure that this never happens again. We are also very sorry if our renovations disturbed you and that the water heater had a malfunction exactly at the time you had to shower. We are glad to inform you that the all the work being done at Denny's will be finished in about 2 weeks so after everything is done, our guests are going to be able to enjoy their delicious meals and their remodeled premises. Once again, please accept our apologies for everything that happened but as you could see, some of the problems were out of our control and we are going to do everything we can to fix everything that needs improvement.

It was a pleasure being able to serve you. Thank you for staying with us.

Warmest regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 42 of 757 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2017

The only good thing about this hotel is the breakfast (which is provided by Dennys).
The swimming pool water is freezing cold.
The worse part are the rooms, these are really really filthy and you can hear everything from the room next door. Rooms are connected with a door so it lets you listen to any conversation, tv shows, sex from the other room. Sex!!!! I stayed there with my mother and around 8pm started hearing a girl wining and a dude screaming while having sex!!!!! Oh my freaking god!!!! Thank god I didn't bring my kids with me. It was so ackward that I had to put the tv on and turn the volume as high as possible to let it go. Don't go to this motel unless you are with a date....

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017 via mobile

We only stayed at this hotel one night but found the accommodations to be more than adequate. The facility was clean and the staff very friendly. The swimming pool and hot tub was beautiful. There is a small casino on site. The restaurant "Sangria" offered good food. The service on the other hand was not so good! Once the order was sat on the table - there was no more contact and trying to get their attention to request service proved very frustrating.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank marter101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2017

Dear marter101, thank you for sharing your review about your stay with us.

We are delighted to learn that our our hotel was above your expectations because nothing makes us happier than seeing our guests' totally satisfied with our accommodations and services. We are also very happy that you like the pool and all the landscaping surrounding it since we really thrive on our guests satisfaction and well being.
We are very sorry about the service you received from the restaurant; even though it is located in our premises, neither it our its management has anything to do with our hotel or its administration though we are definitely going to share your comments with its management so that they can take them into account as soon as possible because their services are affecting our guests and as we mentioned before, nothing is more important than our guests' total satisfaction. On the other hand, it is very rewarding that you found our hotel's entire staff so friendly and attentive because that is exactly what our Brand is all about.

It was a pleasure being at your service. Thank you for choosing us as your hotel.

Warmest regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

We decided to stay here for one night before we flew home because it was closer to the airport and the pictures of the pool looked good. Check in was easy and we were allowed to check in early since our room was ready. Unfortunately, our room was one of the outside facing rooms so our view was looking into another apartment building and not of the pool and gardens. It was your typical Best Western type room with 2 double beds. After staying in Laguna Lodge in Tortuguero and Lomas del Volcan in La Fortuna, the room seemed small. As with all of the hotels we stayed in, the room also had a small safe so that was nice. We stayed on the 3rd floor and the ice machines had been removed from the floor so we had to go to the 2nd floor to get ice.

We decided to go outside for a bit and visit the Parque Metropolitano La Sabana, which was only about 3km away, but there is no safe way to walk there as there are no sidewalks on the main highways. We took a cab there for $3 and a return cab for $4.

As I said, our room didn't face the pool so when we got back and decided to have a drink, we sat on the balcony off of the computer room since there were two chairs and a table there. The computer room with printer was nice, but I had to laugh as they all had international keyboards and everyone that came in from US didn't know how to type the @ symbol. Unfortunately, there were thunderstorms in the afternoon and evening so we didn't get a chance to try out the pool.

One of the nice perks about this hotel is that you get a complimentary drink the day you check in if you use it before 7pm at Denny's or at Sangria's. Also, breakfast is included, but since we had to leave for the airport at 5am we would miss it. The nice thing was that Denny's is open 24 hours so we got breakfast there at 4:30am. They have a set menu (2 items) for the complimentary breakfast. Still, it was nice to get a breakfast as most other hotels we would be out of luck. The shuttle to the airport ($8/person) was promt and got us there quickly.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the pool for a nicer view from balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eldon-Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Dear Eldon-Vancouver, thank you so much for sharing your very detailed comments about your stay with us.

We are totally committed in making our guests have a very pleasant hotel experience, surrounding them with comfortable accommodations, beautiful landscaping, excellent services (like our complimentary breakfast options and our computer room among others) and with a very convenient location (we are 15 minutes away from the airport, 10 minutes from downtown and from the country's best comercial and entertainment areas).

We are very sorry that you only saw 2 of the breakfast choices on the set complimentary breakfast menu since Denny's offers more options. On the other hand, since they offer 24 hour breakfast service, we are glad that you were able to grab a bite to eat before departing on such a long trip. Our entire staff want nothing more than to comply with our guests' needs and requests as quickly as possible since their comfort and satisfaction are so important to us so we assure you that if you had let our front desk staff know that you were not satisfied with the view of your room, they would have immediately changed you to another with a better view. Also, they would have been more than happy to help you with the keyboards in the computer room. We really hope that if something like this happens next time you stay with us, that you will not hesitate and ask any of our personnel for assistance.

It has been a pleasure having you as a guest. Thank you for staying with us; we hope to see you again in the near future.

Warmest regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Panama City, Florida
21
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

Love the jakuzzi and the swimming pool. Ideal to combine business with leisure.
I have traveled in more than 50 countries in my life.
ANDREY is the most amazing Front Desk leader i have ever met. Very customer oriented. He even remember the strange names of customers all over the world. ANDREY is a naturally gifted talent that i had the privilege to meet.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear A TripAdvisor Member, thank you so much for posting your amazing comments.

We are delighted that your stay was such a success since you felt very comfortable and totally satisfied the entire time you stayed with us which is exactly what we always strive for. We are very proud our having Andrey as part of our staff because he embodies exactly what our hospitality philosphy is and which you were able to see for yourself. Our entire staff are totally committed to our guests, complying with everything they might need as fast as they can and with big smiles across their faces so that our guests can see just how important they are to us and how proud we are of having them here with us.

It was a pleasure being at your service. Thank you for staying with us, the entire team will be looking forward to your next visit.

Warmest regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.6 km away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#11 of 78 in San Jose
1,486 reviews
3.9 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
975 reviews
3.6 km away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
925 reviews
2.6 km away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
5.3 km away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino

Address: Km 3 Autopista General Canas | Edificio sur, La Uruca, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica (Formerly Best Western Plus Irazu Hotel & Casino)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#3 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#7 Green Hotel in San Jose
#11 Family Hotel in San Jose
#24 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $101 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Irazu Hotel San Jose
Best Western Hotel Irazu
Best Western San Jose
San Jose Best Western
Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing