We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
US$82
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Aldea San Jose(San Jose)(Great Value!)
US$45
US$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angels Hotel(San Jose)
US$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
Amon 1894(San Jose)
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (858)
Filter reviews
858 results
Traveller rating
258
351
150
60
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
258
351
150
60
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdenny's restaurantdenny ssangria barcosta ricafree breakfastroom overlooking the poolinternet roomlarge pooltennis courtsairport shuttlegrocery storebusiness centerhot tubfree shuttleflat screen tvthe hotel offerscoffee maker
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 858 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2017

The only good thing about this hotel is the breakfast (which is provided by Dennys).
The swimming pool water is freezing cold.
The worse part are the rooms, these are really really filthy and you can hear everything from the room next door. Rooms are connected with a door so it lets you listen to any conversation, tv shows, sex from the other room. Sex!!!! I stayed there with my mother and around 8pm started hearing a girl wining and a dude screaming while having sex!!!!! Oh my freaking god!!!! Thank god I didn't bring my kids with me. It was so ackward that I had to put the tv on and turn the volume as high as possible to let it go. Don't go to this motel unless you are with a date....

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017 via mobile

We only stayed at this hotel one night but found the accommodations to be more than adequate. The facility was clean and the staff very friendly. The swimming pool and hot tub was beautiful. There is a small casino on site. The restaurant "Sangria" offered good food. The service on the other hand was not so good! Once the order was sat on the table - there was no more contact and trying to get their attention to request service proved very frustrating.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank marter101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2017

Dear marter101, thank you for sharing your review about your stay with us.

We are delighted to learn that our our hotel was above your expectations because nothing makes us happier than seeing our guests' totally satisfied with our accommodations and services. We are also very happy that you like the pool and all the landscaping surrounding it since we really thrive on our guests satisfaction and well being.
We are very sorry about the service you received from the restaurant; even though it is located in our premises, neither it our its management has anything to do with our hotel or its administration though we are definitely going to share your comments with its management so that they can take them into account as soon as possible because their services are affecting our guests and as we mentioned before, nothing is more important than our guests' total satisfaction. On the other hand, it is very rewarding that you found our hotel's entire staff so friendly and attentive because that is exactly what our Brand is all about.

It was a pleasure being at your service. Thank you for choosing us as your hotel.

Warmest regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

We decided to stay here for one night before we flew home because it was closer to the airport and the pictures of the pool looked good. Check in was easy and we were allowed to check in early since our room was ready. Unfortunately, our room was one of the outside facing rooms so our view was looking into another apartment building and not of the pool and gardens. It was your typical Best Western type room with 2 double beds. After staying in Laguna Lodge in Tortuguero and Lomas del Volcan in La Fortuna, the room seemed small. As with all of the hotels we stayed in, the room also had a small safe so that was nice. We stayed on the 3rd floor and the ice machines had been removed from the floor so we had to go to the 2nd floor to get ice.

We decided to go outside for a bit and visit the Parque Metropolitano La Sabana, which was only about 3km away, but there is no safe way to walk there as there are no sidewalks on the main highways. We took a cab there for $3 and a return cab for $4.

As I said, our room didn't face the pool so when we got back and decided to have a drink, we sat on the balcony off of the computer room since there were two chairs and a table there. The computer room with printer was nice, but I had to laugh as they all had international keyboards and everyone that came in from US didn't know how to type the @ symbol. Unfortunately, there were thunderstorms in the afternoon and evening so we didn't get a chance to try out the pool.

One of the nice perks about this hotel is that you get a complimentary drink the day you check in if you use it before 7pm at Denny's or at Sangria's. Also, breakfast is included, but since we had to leave for the airport at 5am we would miss it. The nice thing was that Denny's is open 24 hours so we got breakfast there at 4:30am. They have a set menu (2 items) for the complimentary breakfast. Still, it was nice to get a breakfast as most other hotels we would be out of luck. The shuttle to the airport ($8/person) was promt and got us there quickly.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the pool for a nicer view from balcony
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eldon-Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Dear Eldon-Vancouver, thank you so much for sharing your very detailed comments about your stay with us.

We are totally committed in making our guests have a very pleasant hotel experience, surrounding them with comfortable accommodations, beautiful landscaping, excellent services (like our complimentary breakfast options and our computer room among others) and with a very convenient location (we are 15 minutes away from the airport, 10 minutes from downtown and from the country's best comercial and entertainment areas).

We are very sorry that you only saw 2 of the breakfast choices on the set complimentary breakfast menu since Denny's offers more options. On the other hand, since they offer 24 hour breakfast service, we are glad that you were able to grab a bite to eat before departing on such a long trip. Our entire staff want nothing more than to comply with our guests' needs and requests as quickly as possible since their comfort and satisfaction are so important to us so we assure you that if you had let our front desk staff know that you were not satisfied with the view of your room, they would have immediately changed you to another with a better view. Also, they would have been more than happy to help you with the keyboards in the computer room. We really hope that if something like this happens next time you stay with us, that you will not hesitate and ask any of our personnel for assistance.

It has been a pleasure having you as a guest. Thank you for staying with us; we hope to see you again in the near future.

Warmest regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Panama City, Florida
21
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

Love the jakuzzi and the swimming pool. Ideal to combine business with leisure.
I have traveled in more than 50 countries in my life.
ANDREY is the most amazing Front Desk leader i have ever met. Very customer oriented. He even remember the strange names of customers all over the world. ANDREY is a naturally gifted talent that i had the privilege to meet.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear A TripAdvisor Member, thank you so much for posting your amazing comments.

We are delighted that your stay was such a success since you felt very comfortable and totally satisfied the entire time you stayed with us which is exactly what we always strive for. We are very proud our having Andrey as part of our staff because he embodies exactly what our hospitality philosphy is and which you were able to see for yourself. Our entire staff are totally committed to our guests, complying with everything they might need as fast as they can and with big smiles across their faces so that our guests can see just how important they are to us and how proud we are of having them here with us.

It was a pleasure being at your service. Thank you for staying with us, the entire team will be looking forward to your next visit.

Warmest regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

Arriving in our room found it a mess. Beds were not changed and dirty towels were still in the bath tub. They were first just going to change the sheets and get clean towels until I said that we needed a different room. We got another room - it had been cleaned but smelled stale. Oh well, a place to sleep for the night.

Room Tip: Inner rooms have less noise
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Dear Marilyn K, thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay with us.

We are truly sorry about what happened with the room you were assigned, please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience; luckily, your were changed immediately to another room because nothing is more important to us than our guests' comfort, satisfaction and well being. We really do strive to provide our guests with everything they might need because we want to see them completely relaxed and comfortable, enjoying everything the hotel has to offer. We are also very sorry that you found that the new room smelled stale; we assure you that if you had informed our front desk staff about it, they would have immediately sent some air freshener meanwhile opening the sliding doors and windows to air the room.
Once again, we apologize for the inconvenience.

It was a pleasure beeing at your service. Thank you for staying with us.

Warmest regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews