We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$55
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$73/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$145
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Autentico Hotel(San Jose)
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aldea San Jose(San Jose)(Great Value!)
US$45
US$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Angels Hotel(San Jose)(Great Value!)
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angels Hotel(San Jose)
US$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
Amon 1894(San Jose)
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (873)
Filter reviews
873 results
Traveller rating
265
356
152
60
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
265
356
152
60
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdenny's restaurantdenny ssangria barcosta ricafree breakfastinternet roomlarge pooltennis courtspool viewrecommend this hotelgrocery storeclose to the airportfree airport shuttlehot tubsmall casinoflat screen tvwelcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 873 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2017

The staff was extremely courteous at every turn. They provided me with everything that I needed and was extremely friendly doing it I would definitely save here again. Also the pool area is a great place to hang out and the restaurant was the excellence place to eat

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Darius H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Dear Darius H, thank you so much for posting your delightful comments.

We are completely elated to learn that you found our hotel nothing less than excellent and that your stay was very pleasant. Our utmost desire is to make it possible for our guests to feel completely comfortable and satisfied so it is very rewarding that we accomplished our goal. For our entire staff, more than a job, it is a pleasure being able to help our guests with anything they might need and to make them feel more than welcome and right at home so knowing that you are definitely now a part of our extended global family makes us feel very proud.

It was a pleasure having you as a guest. Thank you for choosing us; the entire team will be looking forward to your next visit.

Warmest regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

Our group stayed in the Best Western Irazu Hotel for one night. The rooms were nice and clean and the hotel is in a convenient location both for San Jose business/leisure and for the airport. But strangely the pool closed at 6 PM. And be careful about the "free welcome drink". The marquee in the lobby advertised a free welcome drink. When we checked in and inquired at the front desk, they told us they were out of the free drink tickets but we could ask for our free drink at the hotel's Sangria bar. The bar staff asked for our tickets but when we informed them the front desk was out, they called the front desk and then told us there was no problem in getting a round of free drinks and proceeded to serve us. Of course at the end, they charged us for these first round of drinks (which weren't cheap) since we couldn't furnish tickets. Not sure if the front desk was in on this scam but beware.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank BrusselsRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Dear BrusselsRob, thank you so much for sharing your comments about your stay.

We really do thrive on our guests' total comfort and satisfaction so we are very disappointed to learn about what happen with the welcome drink so please accept our most sincere apologies for it.

We assure you that it was misunderstanding and we think it what due to the lack of communication either from the restaurant and the front desk staff, or with the staff members not informing each other about it for when they had to charge you with your stay.

On the other hand, we are glad that you liked our hotel and that you found it so conveniently located (we are 15 minutes from the airport , 10 minutes away from downtown and from the country's best commercial and entertainment areas.

Once again we apologize for the inconvenience you and your groud experienced. We will be looking forward hearing from you soon.
Thank you for staying with us.
Warmest regards.

Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

We had a great stay at this hotel. Nice bar and restaurant options in-house but close enough to down town for other options. Clean room and very friendly staff. We will for sure stay here again next time we can travel to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank marcush42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear marcush42, thank you so much for sharing your charming review.

We are very happy and proud that you have become part of our extended global family since you will definitely stay with us again when you return. Our utmost desire is to see our guests totally comfortable, satisfied and seeing them more than welcome and right at home because we want them to see our hotel as their home away from home.
We are also delighted that you found our locations so convenient, not too far from the airport (we are 15 minutos away) and close to downtown and to the country's best commercial and entertainment areas.

It was a pleasure being at your service. We will all be looking forward to your next visit, thank you for staying with us.

Warmest regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

It is a nice hotel we where there for 2 nights 3 days, the people at the front desk was so nice and friendly, the rooms where big and clean, the view was nice, they had a Spa, a big pool, jacuzzi, Gym and I played Tennis (I loved that), the restaurants where nice and they had 3 or 4 to choose where to go, I'm planning to go back next month. The only think where I would like to see an improvement is on the Bathroom area I don't know if they forgot to leave personal things for the guests or if they don't do that, but sometimes it's nice, in case you forget to pack a toothbrush or razors I don't know it was weird not to see those things there. To the girls who where at the front desk THANK YOU you where really nice and always smiling!!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Ana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Dear Ana V, thank you for sharing your charming comments.

We are very proud and happy to learn that you like staying with us so much that you are coming back again next month. There is nothing we want more than to see all our guests' completely comfortable and satisfied, so we do everything we can to ensure that they always have everything they might need and that they feel very welcome.

Please accept our apologies that there were not amenities in your bathroom. We are going to immediately inquire about it because we always provide those to our guests (shampoo, conditioner, soap, a sewing kit and a shower cap) and as so mentioned it before, they are supposed to be in the bathroom. If our guests forget a toothbrush, a razor or toothpaste, they only have to inform it to the front desk and they will immediately sent one to their room.

It was a pleasure being at your service. The entire team will be looking forward to your next visit. Thank you for making us your hotel of choice.

Warmest regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

The rooms are fresh and very clean and spacey enough. But most of all I would like to thank the very helpful staff, everyone of them I met greeted me not only with a smile but sincerity, creating a very welcoming feeling. A special Bravo to my friends Sira and Daiana, full of energy to help and guide me through a complex situation regarding my next stay and shuttles to go there :)

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Dear David S, thank you so much for posting your wonderful comments about your stay with us.

We are delighted to learn how much you liked staying at our hotel, finding our accommodations and services with everything you need and best of all, how welcome you felt with the our staff's services. For our entire staff, serving our guests as we would like to be served ourselves, is not only a duty but it is truly a pleasure since we all have to embody everything our Brand's hospitality phylosophy stands for , which is, to make our guests feel completely comfortable, more than welcome and right at home just as you were able to see with Sira and Diana. We are very glad that they were able to help and that you could solve the complex situtation.

It was a pleasure being at your service. The entire team will be looking forward to your next visit. Thank you for staying with us.

Warmest Regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews