We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top 10 Reasons to stay at BW Irazu Hotel & Casino if coming to San Jose”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino
Ranked #15 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Leaving Costa Rica, Our Family did not want to spend a night in the airport hotels so opted for a little farther place, with pool and jacuzzi to ease the pain of hiking every day, here are our Top 10 Reasons to stay here:
1- Best Western, an established American hotel brand
2- Comfortable beds comparable with some of the best 4 start hotels i have stayed at
3- various on property and off property dining options within walking distance
4-Pool and Jacuzzi that was actually heated in Costa Rica, something I was not expecting
5- Another safe feeling property, that allowed to to let my teen girls 12 and 11 get their own rooms for their privacy and ours as well
6- Great Hot water shower head and plenty of hot water that just would not run out, ahhhhhhh
7- Excellent Bar, Restaurant on Location with ABOVE quality Food and a varied menu indicative of great culinary skilled cooks in the back
8- Fantastic warm friendly front desk staff very efficient in check in and check out process
9- Souvenir shop on location, for that last minute gift you forget to get the kids or wife
10- Casino on property allows you to have adult fun...

Room Tip: Lobby Floor rooms prevent you from having to ride luggage up elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TheAcostaJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear TheAcostaJourney, thank you so much for your very detailed review.

We are delighted that you and your family were so pleased with our accommodations and services because our utmost desire is and will always be our guests' total comfort, satisfaction and well being.

We are committed in making our guests have all the comforts they might need bu providing them with excellent and comfortable accommodations, with a very attentive and friendly staff and with all the services and amenities they might need, so it is very rewarding knowing that your stay was a wonderful hotel experience and that we were able to exceed all your expectations. Our location is also a very big plus because we are only 15 minutes away from the airport, 10 minutes from downtown and from the country's best commercial and entertainment area besides being surrounded by nice restaurants and bars and by having an in house casino for our guest' entertainment.

It has been a pleasure being at your service. Thank you for choosing us as your hotel. We hope to see you and your family back again soon.

Warmest regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (792)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 56 of 792 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2017

The staff was extremely courteous at every turn. They provided me with everything that I needed and was extremely friendly doing it I would definitely save here again. Also the pool area is a great place to hang out and the restaurant was the excellence place to eat

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Darius H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Dear Darius H, thank you so much for posting your delightful comments.

We are completely elated to learn that you found our hotel nothing less than excellent and that your stay was very pleasant. Our utmost desire is to make it possible for our guests to feel completely comfortable and satisfied so it is very rewarding that we accomplished our goal. For our entire staff, more than a job, it is a pleasure being able to help our guests with anything they might need and to make them feel more than welcome and right at home so knowing that you are definitely now a part of our extended global family makes us feel very proud.

It was a pleasure having you as a guest. Thank you for choosing us; the entire team will be looking forward to your next visit.

Warmest regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

Our group stayed in the Best Western Irazu Hotel for one night. The rooms were nice and clean and the hotel is in a convenient location both for San Jose business/leisure and for the airport. But strangely the pool closed at 6 PM. And be careful about the "free welcome drink". The marquee in the lobby advertised a free welcome drink. When we checked in and inquired at the front desk, they told us they were out of the free drink tickets but we could ask for our free drink at the hotel's Sangria bar. The bar staff asked for our tickets but when we informed them the front desk was out, they called the front desk and then told us there was no problem in getting a round of free drinks and proceeded to serve us. Of course at the end, they charged us for these first round of drinks (which weren't cheap) since we couldn't furnish tickets. Not sure if the front desk was in on this scam but beware.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank BrusselsRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Dear BrusselsRob, thank you so much for sharing your comments about your stay.

We really do thrive on our guests' total comfort and satisfaction so we are very disappointed to learn about what happen with the welcome drink so please accept our most sincere apologies for it.

We assure you that it was misunderstanding and we think it what due to the lack of communication either from the restaurant and the front desk staff, or with the staff members not informing each other about it for when they had to charge you with your stay.

On the other hand, we are glad that you liked our hotel and that you found it so conveniently located (we are 15 minutes from the airport , 10 minutes away from downtown and from the country's best commercial and entertainment areas.

Once again we apologize for the inconvenience you and your groud experienced. We will be looking forward hearing from you soon.
Thank you for staying with us.
Warmest regards.

Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

We had a great stay at this hotel. Nice bar and restaurant options in-house but close enough to down town for other options. Clean room and very friendly staff. We will for sure stay here again next time we can travel to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank marcush42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear marcush42, thank you so much for sharing your charming review.

We are very happy and proud that you have become part of our extended global family since you will definitely stay with us again when you return. Our utmost desire is to see our guests totally comfortable, satisfied and seeing them more than welcome and right at home because we want them to see our hotel as their home away from home.
We are also delighted that you found our locations so convenient, not too far from the airport (we are 15 minutos away) and close to downtown and to the country's best commercial and entertainment areas.

It was a pleasure being at your service. We will all be looking forward to your next visit, thank you for staying with us.

Warmest regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

It is a nice hotel we where there for 2 nights 3 days, the people at the front desk was so nice and friendly, the rooms where big and clean, the view was nice, they had a Spa, a big pool, jacuzzi, Gym and I played Tennis (I loved that), the restaurants where nice and they had 3 or 4 to choose where to go, I'm planning to go back next month. The only think where I would like to see an improvement is on the Bathroom area I don't know if they forgot to leave personal things for the guests or if they don't do that, but sometimes it's nice, in case you forget to pack a toothbrush or razors I don't know it was weird not to see those things there. To the girls who where at the front desk THANK YOU you where really nice and always smiling!!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Ana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Dear Ana V, thank you for sharing your charming comments.

We are very proud and happy to learn that you like staying with us so much that you are coming back again next month. There is nothing we want more than to see all our guests' completely comfortable and satisfied, so we do everything we can to ensure that they always have everything they might need and that they feel very welcome.

Please accept our apologies that there were not amenities in your bathroom. We are going to immediately inquire about it because we always provide those to our guests (shampoo, conditioner, soap, a sewing kit and a shower cap) and as so mentioned it before, they are supposed to be in the bathroom. If our guests forget a toothbrush, a razor or toothpaste, they only have to inform it to the front desk and they will immediately sent one to their room.

It was a pleasure being at your service. The entire team will be looking forward to your next visit. Thank you for making us your hotel of choice.

Warmest regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
3.9 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
998 reviews
3.6 km away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
0.6 km away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#11 of 78 in San Jose
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
963 reviews
4 km away
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
1.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino

Address: Km 3 Autopista General Canas | Edificio sur, La Uruca, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica (Formerly Best Western Plus Irazu Hotel & Casino)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#4 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#7 Green Hotel in San Jose
#11 Family Hotel in San Jose
#24 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $102 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full-service San Jose, Costa Rica hotel offers convenient access to many local attractions including the Costa Rican Art Museum, the Braulio Carrillo National Park and the Poas Volcano. Whether traveling on business or just taking a trip for fun, the Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino offers all of the amenities and conveniences to ensure a worry free and enjoyable stay. This full-service San Jose, Costa Rica hotel provides comfortable accommodations, superb customer service and a centralized location, all for a great value. The hotel is ideally situated just a few minutes from the heart of downtown San Jose and a short distance from the Juan Santamaria International Airport. Each of the 194 well-appointed guest rooms features cable satellite television, unlimited international IP calls (small fee applies) and free wireless internet access. Enjoy a complimentary full breakfast each morning and find a great selection for lunch and dinner at Denny's® Restaurant located on the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Irazu Hotel San Jose
Best Western Hotel Irazu
Best Western San Jose
San Jose Best Western
Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing