We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Balmoral Hotel(San Jose)
US$117
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Adventure Inn(San Jose)
US$94
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Autentico Hotel(San Jose)
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Aranjuez(San Jose)(Great Value!)
US$58
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aldea San Jose(San Jose)(Great Value!)
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Alda's Place(San Jose)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Amon 1894(San Jose)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (887)
Filter reviews
887 results
Traveller rating
273
358
155
60
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
273
358
155
60
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdenny's restaurantdenny ssangria barcosta ricafree breakfastinternet roomlarge pooltennis courtspool viewgrocery storeclose to the airportfree airport shuttlehot tubsmall casinoflat screen tvwelcome drinkthe hotel offers
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 887 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2018 via mobile

Room needs refurbishing, old and stains on carpet and walls. No fridge or microwave. WiFi doesn’t reach the room. Shower not hot. Tv every Chanel and sub titles in Spanish so can’t even watch tv. Staff are friendly pool is nice but jacuzzi is small

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Hannah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Dear Hannah F, thank you for sharing your comments about your stay at our hotel.
We are very sorry that it was not up to your expectations so please accept our most sincere apologies for it.
There is nothing more important than our guests' total comfort, satisfaction and well being so we are distraught that you feel this way.
We strive to provide our guests with everything they might need in order to make their stay a very wonderful hotel experience.
We assure you that if you had let our front desk staff know how dissatisfied your were with the room you were assigned, they would have immediately changed you to another room more of your liking.
Our hotel does not have minifridges or microwaves in the rooms but if our guests really need either one, they only have to let our front desk staff know and they will be more than happy to send one to the room because as we mentioned before, nothing is more important than our guests' total comfort and satisfaction.
Our front desk staff would have also send a plumber to see fix the shower that was not heating.
Our Management is already aware about the issue with the free wifi and are doing everything they can to fix the problem as soon as possible.
On the other hand, we are glad that you found our staff so friendly and that you liked the swimming pool and its area so much.
Once again, we apologize for the inconveneinces you experienced.
It was a pleasure being at your service.
Thank you for staying with us.
Warmest regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018

The hotel is a $25 taxi ride from the airport. They offered a shuttle, but we had trouble finding it when we landed. The hotel gives coupons for free breakfast and a free drink when you arrive: there is a Denny's attached and an open air bar/restaurant at the hotel.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Dear Charlotte M, thank you for sharing your charming review.
There is nothing more important to us than our guests' total comfort and satisfaction so we are delighted that your stay was so pleasant and that you liked our complimentary breakfast options and our welcome drink so much.
We are truly sorry learning that you were not able to find our shuttle; next time you come and stay with us, please let us know beforehand that you are going to use the service and tell us the time you are arriving so we can ensure that the shuttle is going to be there waiting for you.
We apologize for the inconveneince of looking for it without finding it.
It was a pleasure being at your service.
Thank you for choosing us, we will be looking forward seeing you back soon.
Warmest regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

Reasonable 3 nights stay. Nice large clean rooms, small bathroom with no racks for bath linen, no shelves for bath amenities in shower although they encourage reuse of bath linen. Basic amenities. Minibar bottled water at$5 too expensive.
Food in Sangria bar not recommended. Wendy's serves better quality food and quick service. staff at both the restaurants are very good. Breakfast in the lounge excellent. would be great if they can keep house flies away from the open settings and cover cut fruits that's laid out in the breakfast buffet. Recommended rooms with pool view with balconies. Road side rooms with out. 15 minutes drive from airport. not sure of free airport shuttle as I had some transport arranged.

Room Tip: choose a room with balcony with pool view preferably on 4th floor
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barefootyatri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Dear barefootyatri, thanks for sharing your kind comments about your stay at our hotel.
We are glad that it was so pleasant because it is really important to us that our guests have everything they might need so they can have a very rewarding and comfortable hotel experience.
By providing comfy accommodations and excellent services (like our complimentary breakfast options among many others), we know for certain that our guests are going to have all the rest and sleep they might need without having to worry about anything or having any hassles at all.
We do offer shuttle transportation to and from the airport for $8 per person, our guests only have to check the shuttle's schedule and let our front desk staff know before hand that they are going to use the service.
We are also glad that you found our location so convenient, not only because we are 15 minutes from the airport but also because we are 10 minutes from downtown and from the country's best commercial and entertainment areas.
It was a pleasure being at your service.
Thank you for choosing us, we hope to see you again in the near future.
Warmest regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

Since the ratings is marked as 1 the best & not 10, My assumption of #1 being the best score. I've been coming to Best Western Irazu over 15 years as a second home. Being an inventor, the hotel staff is accomadating to my needs.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jpreallycares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Dear jpreallycares, thank you so much for such amazing comments.

We are more than thrilled and very proud to learn that you are part of our extended global family since you have stayed with us for such a long time and that you see the hotel as your second home. There is nothing more important for us than our guests' total comfort, satisfaction and well being so we are totally elated to know how happy you always are with our accommodations and services and to have you as part of our family.

It is always a pleasure having you as a guest. Thank you for making us your hotel of choice. The entire crew will be looking forward to your next visit.

Warmest regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

We ended up staying at this hotel inadvertently after the airline cancelled our flight out. Imagine an entire plane full of people being sent to this hotel in busses and everyone checking in at once. The hotel handled the situation with grace and warm, friendly service. Rooms were clean and comfortable. They had t.v., wifi, a pool and hot tub, and there was a Denny's restaurant attached, as well as a bar. Not really the way we envisioned our Costa Rican vacation ending, but I have to say we were impressed with how smoothly things went. If you're okay with staying at an American chain, this hotel is a reliable spot.

Room Tip: We had a pool view, and it was nice.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank volcanogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

Dear volcanogirl, thank you for sharing your terrific review about our hotel.
We are very sorry to learn about the inconvneience you experienced with the cancelation of your flight.
On the other hand, we are very glad that you got to stay with us and that you were so pleased with our accommodations and services because nothing is more important than our guests' total comfort, satisfaction and well being.
It is really rewarding that your stay was above your epxectations and that you felt so impressed with how smoothly everything went.
It was a pleasure being at your service.
Thank you for staying with us.
We hope to see you back again soon.
Warmest regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews