We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
S$125
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
No prepayment needed
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Stephanie M

Good stay

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Jul 2022via mobile
They hosted many high school groups touring for the summer and accommodated us well. Meals were staggered and multiple locations available. We would recommend this as it was also a convenient location. They rooms were clean and basic. Meeting facilities good too
Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mónica Sancho, Owner at Irazú Hotel & Studios, responded to this review
Responded 7 Jul 2022
Dear Stephanie M, we really thank you for your post.

We are happy to know that you found our hotel so clean and comfortable. We are glad to learn that you have enjoyed our convenient location and our meeting facilities too. We are truly committed to our guests' total and satisfaction. We are elated to have an amazing team who are always a step ahead, making sure that our guests have everything they need, helping them in away they can and making them feel like home. Our guests' feedback is extremely important and valuable to us. It is a pleasure being at your service. We hope to hear from you in a near future.

Thank you for your visit. Best regards.

Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
S$229
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
2.4 km from Irazú Hotel & Studios
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
S$262
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Tripadvisor
    S$262
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
3.8 km from Irazú Hotel & Studios
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
S$147
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
2.2 km from Irazú Hotel & Studios
Free Wifi
Free parking
Barcelo.com
S$95
S$90
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Irazú Hotel & Studios
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
S$187
S$158
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Choice Hotels
    S$187
2.5 km from Irazú Hotel & Studios
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Tripadvisor
S$167
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Choice Hotels
    S$167
  • Expedia.com
    S$167
3.5 km from Irazú Hotel & Studios
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
S$67
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
4.9 km from Irazú Hotel & Studios
Free Wifi
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    S$91
  • Booking.com
3.8 km from Irazú Hotel & Studios
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    S$281
  • ZenHotels.com
    S$255
  • Booking.com
1.5 km from Irazú Hotel & Studios
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    S$155
  • Expedia.com
    S$168
4.0 km from Irazú Hotel & Studios
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in San Jose
Reviews (1,176)
Filter reviews
1,176 results
Traveller rating
397
444
193
82
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
397
444
193
82
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews costa rica airport shuttle beautiful pool breakfast was included iguazu casino supermarket
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 1,176 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2022

Perfect rooms for accommodating large groups. No one has to share a bed. Pool is not lit at night so it could be dangerous. Halls need monitoring for kids racing and disturbing others. The front desk is VERY helpful for problems and minor emergencies. Convenient to market or pharmacy but not for sight-seeing or activities. Air conditioned rooms.

Room tip: Great for group travelers.
Date of stay: June 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GracieLynn20
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mónica Sancho, Owner at Irazu Hotel & Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2022

Dear GracieLynn20, thanks for sharing your experience at our hotel.

Your feedback is extremely important and valuable to us, we always want to provide our guests the best experience. We are happy to know that you love our customer service. We are proud to have an amazing team who are always a step ahead, making sure that our guests have everything they need, helping in anyway they can and making them feel like at home. It’s wonderful that you felt so satisfied with our rooms and our convenient location, near from a market and a pharmacy. We are sorry if the pool is not lit and if the noise at the halls disturbe you. We apologize for any inconvenient this may caused you. Our hotel is always in constant renovation, making sure that the entire infrastructure will offer a very pleasant stay at our hotel.

Thanks for staying with us, we hope to see you back again in the near future.

Best regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2020

I stayed at this hotel with my son using points, when I arrived I was told I had to pay for my extra guest $22.60. The A/C took hours to get cold, the front desk was sketchy. Now I check this months credit card statement and I have been charged $72.00 on 3/6/2020 fraudulently. I now have to get a new credit card and have lost all trust in Bestwestern.

Date of stay: December 2019
2  Thank IslandJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Irazu Hotel & Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2020

Dear IslandJimmy, thank you for sharing your comments.

We are very sorry to learn about what happened to you; please accept our most sincere apologies for it, we assure you that it was a mistake and we will see to it that the extra charge is refunded to you as soon as possible as soon as you contact the hotel directly to provide them with all the data we need for us to be able to do that. Never has our hotel been fraudulent or sketchy, both, our hotel and our brand are reliable and reputable businesses so we are truly distressed that you called us like that. Honest mistakes happened and they can be solved when there is direct communication between both parties involved . We will be looking forward hearing from you soon so you can speak to our manager on duty and provide him with all the infomration he might need because there is nothing we want more than our guests' total satisfaction.

It was a pleasure being at your service.
Warmest regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2020

Been staying at this hotel, Always very nice. Edgar and Juan Carlos have been very helpful. My only complaint is that I wish I could reserve a specific room - the computer system doesn’t allow it. Otherwise I always have a great experience while I am there- breakfast buffet is excellent, please keep it.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Tonypacifica
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Irazu Hotel & Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2020

Dear Tonypacifica, thank you so much for sharing your fabulous review.

We are very happy and proud to learn that you have been staying with us for quiet some time because besides showing us how much you like our hotel, it makes you part of our extended global family.

Also, that this time as well as all the previous ones, your stay was a wonderful hotel experience.

We are very lucky to have a staff with people like Edgar and juan Carlos that ruly embodies everything that our brand and our hotel stands for and represents.

It is always a pleasure being having you as a guest.

Thank you for making us your hotel of choice. The entire team will be looking forward to your next visit.

Warmest regards.

Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2020

Good for low cost travellers looking a standard hotel with the basics for a short term stay and spend the night while being out most of the day working or touring. Amenities are limited and breakfast is not confortable. Restaurant is good.

Room tip: Standard room. Bring your own shampoo, conditioner and soap.
Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Arcilio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Irazu Hotel & Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2020

Dear Arcilio L, thank you for sharing your comments about your stay with us.

We hope that it was very pleasant and that you got all the rest you needed. We are very sorry that our complimentary daily breakfast was not up to your expectations so please accept our most sincere apologies. We are also sorry that you found that the amenities we offer are limited. We would really appreciate if you could let us know what we could do to improve so that we can take your advice into account and see to it as soon as possible.

It was a pleasure being at your service. Thank you for staying with us.

Warmest regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2020

The property is nice, however the lobby employees were not very helpful. They didn’t provide me the room I reserved and I overheard one of them tell the other to just give away other people’s reserved rooms which explains why they didn’t have my room. They ended up giving me a room similar to the one I reserved. The room wasn’t very clean and when we brought it to their attention they were able to address it. The highlight of the hotel was the staff in the breakfast area, they were delightful. Area is pretty safe. Water pressure goes out from time to time and it takes a minute or two to come back.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 7TravelDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Irazu Hotel & Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2020

Dear 7TravelDude, thank you for sharing your kind review.

We are very glad that in general, you had a pleasant hotel experience since you liked our facilities and was very pleased with our Food & Beverages Staff customer service. We are truly sorry and very embarrassed about the way our front desk staff personnel treated you, not providing you with the room you had reserved and not being very helpful; we ask you to please accept our mos tsincere apologies. We assure you that this is something completely unacceptable since it goes against our hospitality philosophy and against our customer service standards which are very high and strict. We are going to share your comments about it with our Management so that they can take the according measures and ensure that this never happens again. We are also very distressed to learn that your room was not clean enough, one again, please accept our most sincere apologies; lucklily the problem was solved as soon as you informed our staff about it. We would also like to apologize for the inconvenience you epxerienced with the shower's water pressure; we really appreciate your comprehension.

It was a pleasure being at your service. Thank you for staying with us.

Warmest regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews