We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”
Review of Hemingway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hemingway Inn
Ranked #35 of 68 San Jose B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 February 2016

I had a great experience here due to the professionalism and hospitality of the entire staff. This is an older building which is very well maintained and clean. The free breakfast was an added treat consisting of coffee, fresh squeezed orange juice, choice of scrambled or fried eggs, fresh fruit, toast, and rice and beans. The famous writer for whom this property is named after Earnest Hemingway actually used to come and stay here. There is a room also named after him where he stayed in. This property has many great photos of him as well. I would recommend earplugs to any light sleeps or stuffing toilet paper in your ears to counter the sounds from the street below. Although there was no air conditioning in the room, the fresh mountain air and ceiling fans were all I required to stay comfortable. Literally minutes away from great food, museums, parks, and shopping.The embassies and hospitals are also close by.

Room Tip: Room 8 has no exterior windows and would probably be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2016

Lots of Charm and Atmosphere! Convenient walking distance to fascinating museums, banks, beautiful parks, good restaurants and everything downtown. Particularly interesting to those with a literary background. The present manager/owner and by far the best - is well versed on Hemingway and is a writer himself. He's an interesting character with many fascinating tales to tell - if you are lucky enough to meet him. Together he and his beautiful wife and family, run the hotel in a very efficient manner. I have stayed here every year for maybe 8 years and since they took over the place, it just gets better and better. Clean, friendly, safe, and definitely charming! Used to be the home of someone wealthy, I would say.

Room Tip: I've stayed in at least a dozen different rooms over the years - depending on availability and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tabra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2015

We had a reservation for ten days and gave notice and changed hotels after 2nd night. The beds are like bricks with no mattress covers and fitted sheets that don't tuck under so that you wake up with your face on bare mattress which was stained. The lighting consisted of a bare ceiling bulb so that reading and makeup was a blur. The bathroom sink was broken and glued back together and had only very cold water. The shower in the AM had only cold water and came out in slow dribble, making it almost impossible to ash and forget your hair. They started cement work on their sidewalk so we had a 10" board up to the office door which was locked as you balanced there waiting to get in. They did have a good breakfast which was cooked one at a time so rather slow and the staff did the best overall with what they have to work with.

Not that it would have made any difference to us but with tax it was $70 a night - only $10 less than many far superior hotel in San Jose. In fact we hit a sale on a room at a great downtown hotel for $70 per night inc tax.



The pictures looked great and I don't know where on earth all those positive reviews came from. The reviews and the three stars cause me o lose all faith in Travelocity. The hotel charged me for two extra nights and said it was Travelocity policy, so I not only had a miserable two nights but paid for four (like a fool.)

Room Tip: Lots of luck
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2015 via mobile

This isn't the Hilton, it's Costa Rica! If you want the same thing you can find in any other country in the world, stay somewhere else. The owner and the staff went above and beyond to make our stay in San Jose fun, productive and safe. Parking is out front of the hotel. The night clerk guards your car. How great is that? Our trip was for shopping and Deacon, the owner, negotiated a deal with the taxi driver across the street, helped plot our route and looked up addresses on the net for us. When we went to leave, our car's battery was dead and before I could open up my tablet to entertain myself while the Mr. solved this, Deacon had found booster cables, offered free parking to a gentleman in exchange for a boost and we were on our way. In addition, the included breakfast and coffee were delicious and generous, the owner was a character worth knowing and the decor was a cross between a library-like shrine to Hemingway and an invitation to Costa Rica. Sure the mattress sucked but who cares?
We walked to Avenida Central after our trips to home supply stores and found great bargains as well as lovely parks, and little surprises like the random wall of tiles pictured below. It was the rainy season so the rain bucketed down, but we were safe inside an excellent bar kitty corner to the Hemingway.
Highly recommend this place to help you encounter Costa Rica.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank pstrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2015 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here our last night in CR after traveling the "gringo" trail. Initially, the hotel had a charming, vintage but functional aesthetic to it. We figured we could look past the fan that was buzzing because the motor bearings were worn out, or the sink that wasn't attached to the cabinet, or the bugs that came in the window because there weren't any screens in it, or the feral dogs that were barking outside the window from the abandoned construction site, or whoever was throwing rocks outside our window most of the night. Once we got to bed, the party started downstairs and kept us up for a few hours. It was frustrating because we needed to leave very early to catch a plane. It would have been nice if they had coffee on for the early travelers, but they didn't, so we didn't have any experience with their breakfast. Maybe that would have been their redemption. This was our only poor experience at any B&B in CR.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kearnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
6.3 km away
Colours Oasis Resort
Colours Oasis Resort
#30 of 78 in San Jose
243 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
973 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Casa 69
Hotel Casa 69
#1 of 68 in San Jose
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 78 in San Jose
1,457 reviews
1.8 km away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 78 in San Jose
298 reviews
0.6 km away
San Jose Cocoon Hotel
San Jose Cocoon Hotel
#56 of 78 in San Jose
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemingway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingway Inn

Address: Avenida 9, Calle 9 | Barrio Amon, San Jose 10000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range: $47 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hemingway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hemingway Inn is an authentic Spanish mansion in Barrio Amón. Hemingway Inn is a famously photographed building in San José, Costa Rica. Though the city has grown around it, it was originally built as a large hacienda for the family of a wealthy coffee plantation owner in the 1920´s. Though none of the seventeen guest rooms are the same, they all have singles, queen or king beds, WiFi/Wireless Internet, cable television with over 60 channels in English and Spanish, telephone with free calls within Costa Rica (and ability to make international calls with a credit card or charged to your bill).Hemingway Inn is in an excellent location, in the historic quarter of Barrio Amon San José, within easy walking distance of all the museums, great restaurants, the National Theater,Parks, souvenir shopping, banking, the central market and the infamous night life circuit.It will be a pleasure to host you at the Hemingway Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hemingway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hemingway Hotel San Jose
Hemingway Inn Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing