We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$70
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/01/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$64
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/01/22
Trip.com
US$63
View deal
Hotels.comUS$64
PricelineUS$70
travelup.comUS$111
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,157)
Filter reviews
1,157 results
Traveller rating
624
390
104
25
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
624
390
104
25
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews costa rica pool and hot tub old mansion within easy walking distance few blocks breakfast included thomas santa downtown country oasis
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,157 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2021

I just stayed at Hotel Santo Tomas with a group of friends and family. This hotel is one of those gems that I feel fortunate to have stumbled onto. The location is perfect and the areas to lounge abound in this historic building. Most important, however, is the customer service, especially if it is your first time in Costa Rica. Thomas, the owner, and his staff, do an amazing job helping with anything you need and clearly have a passion for Costa Rica and clearly want to contribute to each of their guests' experiences. The only thing I will do differently next time is book directly through their website.

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tcv1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William Douglas, General Manager at Santo Tomas Hotel & Wellness Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2021

Hi TCV, What a joy meeting, greeting, and spending time with you and your family. I have absolutely the best job!
Over the past 32 years, my wife and I have been able to purchase the original property and adjoining ones and continue to polish this gem of a home. Built in 1908, almost 9000 sq.ft, 15-foot tall ceilings, mosaic and mahogany floors, add in the other additions, such as the floral gardens, open-air terraces, poolside seating, gym, massage services and we strive to create a memorable Costa Rica travel experience. How much fun is that !

In the past 32 years, we have had many many return clients. The neatest thing now is that children that were here in the '90s are returning with their families!

Thank you so much for the wonderful review.

Awaiting your return.
Thomas, Heidy and Our Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2021 via mobile

Fantastic experience. Great location, excellent staff, tasty breakfast, especially enjoyed the beans and rice. The staff spoke excellent English and was exceptionally helpful providing information on transportation, places to see and eat. The owner, Señor Tomàs, was a a great source of information on Costa Rican history and culture.

Room tip: Parking on site, pool and fitness center. Hot breakfast and excellent coffee.
Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 281tomv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William Douglas, General Manager at Santo Tomas Hotel & Wellness Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2021

Hola tomv, That was outstanding having you and your sons stay with us. Lots of families have passed thru those doors in the past 32 years. Most of our staff have been with us for many years, Jose our night clerk has the record of 24 years!

So happy that we were in a financial position to keep them all thru this Covid. There was no government assistance. The hotel was closed for 15 months, we took care of them.

You received the best price by booking on the hotel's direct website and paying cash.

Really looking forward to seeing you and your family again.

Thank you for such a great review!
Thomas, Heidy & Our Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2021

Hotel Santo Tomas is a beautiful century old building.
With 3 star prices and 5 Star service without the snooty attitudes you'll find in 5 Star Hotels.
The staff are super friendly and very helpful in every regard.
Cute little pool with jaccuzi, onsite laundry, cozy rooms (some with balcony overlooking pool)
The owner is hands on and you'll often find him chatting with the guests in the breakfast area.
As a solo traveller on my fouth return, I'd like to assure you all this is one of the best places to stay while in San Jose

Room tip: rooms 25-26-27 have a balcony overlooking pool/jaccuzi
Date of stay: November 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F5249QJjohnf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William Douglas, General Manager at Santo Tomas Hotel & Wellness Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2021

Hi, F5249QJjohnf, You were smart and booked on the hotel's direct website for the best, price, inventory, and service. Correct built-in 1908, almost 9000 sq. ft. in the original building, From the street, it is very deceiving, one does not see the gardens, pool, jacuzzi, waterslide, and all of the covered and open-air seating areas for your enjoyment.
The Free Hot Cooked Breakfast is served in these areas.

I try to be there most mornings to chat and assist with any type of information you may require and toss along some travel tips I have gained over all of these years.

Our Costa Rica Anti-Aging Clinic ( many different treatments see website ) is also located here in the hotel for the convenience of our guests and we are here to assist with your Covid testing.

A real pleasure meeting you and looking forward to your return.

Thank you so much for the wonderful review!
Thomas, Heidy and Our Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2021 via mobile

This is where we stay whenever in SJO.
Safe and clean. Comfy bed. Great pression and temperature of water in the shower.

Great location, free parking! Little gym, pool and jacuzzi, breakfast included.

Great value for money and helpful welcoming staff.

We will be back again.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Rodolfohikingtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William Douglas, General Manager at Santo Tomas Hotel & Wellness Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2021

Hola Rodolfo, always great to have you and Inka stay with us. As a tour provider in Puerto Jimenez, you know what a traveler wants in lodging services. We also are Covid compliant and have free, high-speed fiber-optic internet. And free parking.
Looking forward to your next visit. The both of you are always so pleasant.
Thank you
Thomas, Heidy and our Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2021

I again experienced the pleasure of a stay at the Hotel Santo Tomas in central San Jose. Everyone was very nice. My partner and I both enjoyed the facilities and atmosphere very much. Next time we will take more advantage of the hotel's health clinic.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank H3114BUdavidf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William Douglas, General Manager at Santo Tomas Hotel & Wellness Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2021

Hi David, Always wonderful to see our repeat guests again! I forgot to mention to you, my wife Heidy is an attorney and has performed more than 60 weddings for all couples ( legal in Costa Rica) in case you and your partner require this service.

In our Anti-Aging Clinic, we perform the Covid test in house, as well as many other treatments.

Looking forward to your return!
Thomas, Heidy & Our Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews