We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barcelo San Jose
Nearby Hotels
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
US$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Aranjuez(San Jose)(Great Value!)
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmoral Hotel(San Jose)
US$73
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,650)
Filter reviews
1,650 results
Traveller rating
587
586
306
87
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
587
586
306
87
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscaravan tourjapanese restaurantcosta ricaroom servicetennis courtspool areabreakfast buffettour desktour groupfree airport shuttlevery nice hotelnice poolclose to the airportpura vidapollopalaciohammocks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 1,650 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a well maintained hotel, but the location is in a heavily trafficked area and takes some time to get in and out of. My room was well appointed, modern furniture and artwork, attractively decorated. The bathroom was very spacious and clean. Nice restaurants, interesting shop on premises, beautiful gardens and pool. I would return here.

Room Tip: Rooms off the street are quieter.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 27VMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest

We are sincerely grateful for the time you spent to share your comments on your recent stay in our Barceló San José hotel,

Your detailed review will certainly assist in order to keep on improving the quality of our services for our valued guests.

Carlos Ruiz
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was amazingly beautiful, set with lots of lush tropical vegitation. Very clean, pretty and the staff was amazing. The breakfast buffet was also very good. Lots of fresh fruit, and plenty of choices for a typical breakfast. The hotel was only 2 miles from downtown, and 15 minutes from the airport. The taxi infront of the hotel was expensive $10.00 to go downtown, and our trip back was only $5.00, so I would definitely negotiate a better price. The room had all the amenities a typical USA room would have, hot water, tv, iron, and ice bucket. No fridge. The pool is not heated....so beware! Plus there was not hot tub by the pool either.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Lynne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago


Dear Lynne

In Barceló we strongly believe that there is always room for improvement and your comments will assist our team in their continuous efforts aimed at meeting our guests' expectations, therefore we greatly appreciate the time you took out of your day to share your constructive critics

Carlos Ruiz
Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family and I stayed at the Barceló in San Jose, Costa Rica in March 2018.

One word of advice...we paid the extra to stay on the Premium Level...WELL WORTH THE MONEY!!

We didn't arrive to the hotel until about 8pm and we hadn't had anything to eat. There is a "snack buffet" on the Premium Level which had enough food at the that we didn't have to go for dinner. They had free drinks, everything. The incremental cost to us was only $4 USD. I can't imagine anywhere offering dinner for 3 people with alcohol for $4 USD. AMAZING!! The pork skewers with mango was one of the best things I have ever tasted.

To top it off, we had to catch the shuttle at 5am to go to the airport. As the breakfast buffet didn't open until 5am, our Premium Level Concierge gave us some fruit, cereal, milk, bowls, and spoons so we could have breakfast before we left in the morning. On top of that, the front desk gave us a "box lunch" each to take with us. Included in that was some fruit, yogurt, a sandwich, and a bottle of water. That covered us for lunch on the flight home.

We travel quite a bit, but the Barceló certainly went above and beyond my wildest expectations...and I would like to take the opportunity to that the staff and the hotel for the experience.

You can find cheaper places, but the value you get from the Barceló will be tough to match. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Get the Premium Level - Floors 5 or 6 - well worth the money!!
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CanadaChris_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel M, Director General at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Chris:

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your recent visit. They help us to understand how our guests experience their stay with us.

It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to hear that your holiday at Barceló San José was an enjoyable one.

We continuously strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that all our guests leave with beautiful vacation memories.


Carlos Ruiz
Director General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Overall a good hotel with a wide range of facilities. ATM ,fitness, pool, parking WIFI..However driving to it from the airport can be quite tricky. Although the hotel is signposted on the main “1” road, with blue signs, right at the very end there are no signs on a very trick junction/exit. They need to put a sign with hotel name on the side of the building facing the main road, as you approach, that junction. Asking for pool towels at reception, is a waste of everyones time. Freezing cold pool, even with temperatures of 32c

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago


Dear Alex

The vision of our clients is the key to complete guest-satisfaction, therefore we are very grateful for the time you spent writing this review

Carlos Ruiz
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel grounds and food are excellent. Rooms very good. A little out of town but only a $10.00 ride to town. Pool area beautiful and clean. Check in fast and easy, friendly front desk and very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank gloriaburke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Gloria

Thank you very much for leaving these wonderful comments on Tripadvisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay among us.


Carlos Ruiz
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews