We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveller rating
135
81
25
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
81
25
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews other guests costa rica residential neighborhood the san jose area home away from home small pool small hotel close to the airport gay downtown guesthouse
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 260 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

This smaller, "gayish" hotel is a gem in an updated converted mansion in suburban San Jose.

The hotel's public areas have been updated and remodeled in a younger fun décor.. The rooms themselves are quite clean in a tropical plantation style.

The staff is young and fun and more than helpful

We used the hotel as a stop the night before our return flight since the airport is fairly close. We had a car and found it fairly easy to find with no problem with parking on the street.

We ate at the restaurant in the hotel since we were tired from our drive back from Manuel Antonio. The food was quite good and the chef was very accommodating.

There were plenty of restaurants nearby that we passed as we drove..

My only recommendation would be to turn the volume of the poolside music in the evening down since it can be heard in the rooms facing the pool as friends who've stayed a year ago warned us.

I would definitely recommend this hotel as either a starting point upon arrival in San Jose or upon the end of your trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank phk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Enjoyed my stay at Colours Oasis Resort. Staff was excellent rooms were clean, food and bar were good. This is a gay resort, I didn't know that until after I checked in, however; it was an excellent stay and I would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

We weren’t here for very long as it was just the night before we flew out but the staff were very nice! The room was large and clean and there weren’t any bugs. :)

We got a room right by the pool so it was super convenient. Would come back here again for sure- the only downside is that it’s about 20 min from the SJO airport and you have to pay for their shuttle.

We ended up just going with uber because it was cheaper.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jessika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

This small hotel was a surprising delight. We were greeted by the friendly and helpful manager Lise. The rooms were large with comfortable beds. Wonderful Costa Rican coffee was available in the morning by the small pool. Breakfast was perfect with fresh fruit, eggs, toast, and rice and beans if desired.

The bar was colorful, and the excellent drinks were served by friendly staff.

Our group felt welcome and safe. Will definitely return on our next trip to Costa Rica.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile

I stayed here 10 years ago when it was an exclusively gay male guesthouse and it was great! Now, the hotel is open to all and is just gay friendly. It’s still a beautiful resort with an AMAZING staff, but it’s distance from the center of San José makes it a rather inconvenient location for anyone wanting to experience the gay nightlife of the city. When it was all gay, it was easier to overlook this, but now one might as well stay at one of the many other gay friendly establishments located within walking distance of downtown. I enjoyed the staff IMMENSELY and while my room was clean and spotless, the bed was rather hard and the pillows were not very comfortable. If you just want a place to relax, then perhaps Colours is what you’ll like but know that now it is just another nice hotel and is not exclusively for gay men anymore. Also, there isn’t much in the way of restaurants or shopping near by. Cabs or Ubers are required for most trips away from the property.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
4  Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews