We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
US$91
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Autentico Hotel(San Jose)
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$100
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aldea San Jose(San Jose)(Great Value!)
US$45
US$40
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Angels Hotel(San Jose)
US$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
Amon 1894(San Jose)
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,104)
Filter reviews
1,104 results
Traveller rating
523
438
94
30
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
523
438
94
30
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta ricathe main hotelmade to order omeletsbreakfast buffetsuperior roomtropical gardenawesome breakfastfresh fruitbudget hotelquiet neighborhoodshared bathroomplantainscommon areasonly stayed one nightcharming hotelhot waterpollo
Filter
Updating list...
275 - 280 of 1,104 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2014

We stayed 2 nights in 2 rooms for 5 people. The hotel was charming and safe. The desk assistants were able to direct us to some things to see, the local market, and good restaurants. The highlight was the beautiful breakfast in the courtyard.

Room Tip: Some rooms have common bathroom - others have private, so reserve early. Limited parking, so confirm a parking space with your reservation if needed.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delphine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2015

Dear Delphine: We are happy knowing that you and your family/friends spent a nice vacation at Hotel Aranjuez. We’re glad that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast. Thank you for sharing your experience with us! ¡Hasta pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2014

If you are staying a couple of days in San Jose, this is a good location and closer to the Centro. It took us one hour to get from the airport as traffic in San Jose is exceedingly heavy. We had a car booked through Hotwire and the cost was lower than the cab fare. One of the guests at the hotel was charged 80.00USD to get to Aranjuez hotel by cab. We stayed two nights and booked their largest room. As it is a budget hotel, there are no amenities except for soap in a wall pump. The next morning breakfast was really really good. Lots of choice, a fresh omelet station, nice garden with some tables at the back of the garden.
We were leaving the following morning at 5:30 and there is no price difference if you stay for breakfast or not but need a chit from the front desk to get breakfast.
If you are travelling by car, let the hotel know ahead of time as they have some spaces available for your car. Otherwise, you will notice there are no cars parked on the street. We were advised our car would be a target for theft overnight. There is a public 24 hour parking lot one and a half blocks away. When we left at 5:30, there were people sleeping on the street. There is an exceptional French restaurant called La Terrasse within a safe six block walk. Reservations are a must as they only seat 10 guests per evening.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank skookum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2015

Dear Calgary: San José, our capital, is located only 22 kms away from the International Airport Juan Santamaría. Even so, during rush hour, it can take more than one hour to get to the city and to Hotel Aranjuez. We invite the guests travelling by car to follow your advice and do not forget to request a parking space at the moment of making the reservation at the Hotel. Our breakfast is a courtesy included in our room rate. For those leaving the Hotel before 7 am, coffee is always available at the Coffee Station located near the Reception Desk. We hope you repeat your lodging experience at Hotel Aranjuez. ¡Muchas gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2014

What a place! The staff is warm and friendly. The breakfast is known throughout CR by the Expats and Ticos. Other BnB owners from the country side and coasts stay here when they come to San Jose. Their breakfast is fantastic! The tastes are for vegans to Pastry lovers and pinto gallo,and omelettes. Their Kitchen staff; Juan, Stephanie, Andrea, and Javier are creative and artistic. Renzo provides security all night (like we need it) Our house keepers, Auxillidora and Sara provide the efficient cleaning with the friendliness you expect from our wonderful Hotel BnB experience. We wish we could live here permanently. OOops almost to mention the front desk staff; Jose has assembled a great group, Victor, Mario, & Gregory, they are there 24 hrs. "Mr Fix It", Carlos, does it all. You will love this Place. Pura Vida!

Room Tip: Ig you are staying a week GET an apartment, you will live it!
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Art M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2015

Dear Arturo San Miguel: We all are very pleased with your kind review. Thank you so much for keep in your memory all the names of our staff. All our people keep also a nice memory of you two. Specially the moments you seat around the Reception. Even if you cannot live with us permanently, we hope you can visit us often. ¡Muchas gracias y hasta pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2014

I was referred to this hotel last year by a hotel manager in Montezuma, so figured it would be nice. It exceeded my expectations, with it's unique building landscape, quiet and charming neighborhood and phenomenal breakfast. It's also reasonably priced and walking distance to downtown. I haven't stayed at any other hotel in San Jose so I might be biased, but I feel at home here.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a quiet neighborhood, about a 15 minute walk to the downtown attraction. On the downside, it could use a some updating, as the TV's and some furnishings are outdated. There aren't any good restaurants close by and nowhere to hang out in the evenings. Every room is unique and has its quirks, but they are comfortable. Hot water but no A/C.
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2015

Dear Allan: Thank you for sharing with us and Trip Advisors users your lodging experience at Hotel Aranjuez. We are proud of exceeding your lodging expectations and that you give such a good value to our “authentic Costa Rican way” of service. Looking forward to have you as our guest in the near future. ¡Hasta entonces!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2014

The walls of some rooms maybe thin and the rooms not too big but there is a nice atmosphere in this hotel, lots of art pieces everywhere and a really great breakfast in a tropical garden to make you feel that you are in Costa Rica. Very friendly and helpful staff, walking distance to downtown San Jose 15 minutes. Free WiFi and clean accommodation, some really fine rooms. Many Costa Ricans also stayed here repeatedly when they have to visit their capital.

Room Tip: Some rooms look to the garden and there are fine rooms on the first floor
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PankowBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2014

Dear guest: For all of us, is a big pleasure to know that all are efforts for offering you a "memorable and authentic Costa Rican lodging experience" was achieved. To make our customers feel "that you are in Costa Rica" is our main task. For that reason we conserve as patrimony the five houses that are part of the Hotel Aranjuez. Once again thank you for this stimulating review. ¡Feliz Navidad y Año Nuevo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews