We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value, amazing character”
Review of Hotel Aranjuez

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Aranjuez
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 6 January 2015

We loved this hotel! Our family of five only stayed one night before our flight out but it felt like home and we would have been keen to stay longer. Ten reasons why we loved it:

1. It represents amazing value, we had a double and a triple (well, quadruple), fully ensuite with nice modern bathrooms, plus the legendary breakfast all for $127!!

2. The legendary breakfast - buffet breakfasts seem rare in Costa Rica, this was the only one we had, and it was a-maz-ing. Loads of different options and all in the beautiful patio garden.

3. The gardens - like a mini jungle, a complete oasis in the city. Beautiful birds and a small squirrel visit and you could curl up in the hammock chair and stay forever.

4. The history - the hotel is composed of five houses built for the well-to-do in the 1930s, so there are high ceilings, wooden floors, tiled floors, long corridors - and the history is all well-explained in a great poster.

5. The location (1) - Aranjuez borders Amon, the former upper class area of San Jose. We only passed through Amon in the taxi on the way to the airport but it looked lovely, by far the most solid and beautiful houses we saw in the city, beautifully renovated for the most part.

6. The location (2) - we discovered too late that the Costa Rica National Museum which is housed in the most amazing former garrison (looks like a huge mustard coloured toy castle) opens at 8.30am - 4.30pm every day except Sunday and Monday and is a 10 minute walk away from the hotel. We only had time to visit the outside, we wished so much we hadn't taken so long packing. Not only is there history but also a butterfly garden. The building is in the final throes of renovation and looks gorgeous.

7. The location (3) - it seems very safe as it is in the University area - the schools of Medicine and Architecture are close by plus a very modern hospital. The colonial government buildings are a short walk away down a pedestrianised boulevard plus an attractive park.

8. Restaurants are all about a ten minute walk away and it seemed quite safe, although we did encounter an aggressive dog but as it is all on a grid system, we just went down the next street. We went to one called the Beer Gallery - randomly with a German theme, but good fun and full of glamourous young Ticos/Ticas out for Friday night.

9. The airport is a 30 minute taxi ride away and the helpful desk guy can arrange a mini-van for $40 if you have a lot of luggage.

10. There is efficient free wifi (yay!)

Room Tip: 29 looked fab - huge bed and very high ceilings, nice old photo art
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alison2666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Manager at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2015

We’re really touched by your review. The way you write about us make us feel that all the effort along these 25 has been successful. We’ll continue improving the Hotel Aranjuez, trying always to please all our guests. From all the staff of Hotel Aranjuez, thank you very much. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,045)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

246 - 250 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2014

We stayed 2 nights in 2 rooms for 5 people. The hotel was charming and safe. The desk assistants were able to direct us to some things to see, the local market, and good restaurants. The highlight was the beautiful breakfast in the courtyard.

Room Tip: Some rooms have common bathroom - others have private, so reserve early. Limited parking, so confir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delphine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2015

Dear Delphine: We are happy knowing that you and your family/friends spent a nice vacation at Hotel Aranjuez. We’re glad that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast. Thank you for sharing your experience with us! ¡Hasta pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2014

If you are staying a couple of days in San Jose, this is a good location and closer to the Centro. It took us one hour to get from the airport as traffic in San Jose is exceedingly heavy. We had a car booked through Hotwire and the cost was lower than the cab fare. One of the guests at the hotel was charged 80.00USD to get to Aranjuez hotel by cab. We stayed two nights and booked their largest room. As it is a budget hotel, there are no amenities except for soap in a wall pump. The next morning breakfast was really really good. Lots of choice, a fresh omelet station, nice garden with some tables at the back of the garden.
We were leaving the following morning at 5:30 and there is no price difference if you stay for breakfast or not but need a chit from the front desk to get breakfast.
If you are travelling by car, let the hotel know ahead of time as they have some spaces available for your car. Otherwise, you will notice there are no cars parked on the street. We were advised our car would be a target for theft overnight. There is a public 24 hour parking lot one and a half blocks away. When we left at 5:30, there were people sleeping on the street. There is an exceptional French restaurant called La Terrasse within a safe six block walk. Reservations are a must as they only seat 10 guests per evening.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank skookum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2015

Dear Calgary: San José, our capital, is located only 22 kms away from the International Airport Juan Santamaría. Even so, during rush hour, it can take more than one hour to get to the city and to Hotel Aranjuez. We invite the guests travelling by car to follow your advice and do not forget to request a parking space at the moment of making the reservation at the Hotel. Our breakfast is a courtesy included in our room rate. For those leaving the Hotel before 7 am, coffee is always available at the Coffee Station located near the Reception Desk. We hope you repeat your lodging experience at Hotel Aranjuez. ¡Muchas gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2014

What a place! The staff is warm and friendly. The breakfast is known throughout CR by the Expats and Ticos. Other BnB owners from the country side and coasts stay here when they come to San Jose. Their breakfast is fantastic! The tastes are for vegans to Pastry lovers and pinto gallo,and omelettes. Their Kitchen staff; Juan, Stephanie, Andrea, and Javier are creative and artistic. Renzo provides security all night (like we need it) Our house keepers, Auxillidora and Sara provide the efficient cleaning with the friendliness you expect from our wonderful Hotel BnB experience. We wish we could live here permanently. OOops almost to mention the front desk staff; Jose has assembled a great group, Victor, Mario, & Gregory, they are there 24 hrs. "Mr Fix It", Carlos, does it all. You will love this Place. Pura Vida!

Room Tip: Ig you are staying a week GET an apartment, you will live it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Art M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2015

Dear Arturo San Miguel: We all are very pleased with your kind review. Thank you so much for keep in your memory all the names of our staff. All our people keep also a nice memory of you two. Specially the moments you seat around the Reception. Even if you cannot live with us permanently, we hope you can visit us often. ¡Muchas gracias y hasta pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2014

I was referred to this hotel last year by a hotel manager in Montezuma, so figured it would be nice. It exceeded my expectations, with it's unique building landscape, quiet and charming neighborhood and phenomenal breakfast. It's also reasonably priced and walking distance to downtown. I haven't stayed at any other hotel in San Jose so I might be biased, but I feel at home here.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a quiet neighborhood, about a 15 minute walk to the downtown attraction. On the down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2015

Dear Allan: Thank you for sharing with us and Trip Advisors users your lodging experience at Hotel Aranjuez. We are proud of exceeding your lodging expectations and that you give such a good value to our “authentic Costa Rican way” of service. Looking forward to have you as our guest in the near future. ¡Hasta entonces!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.9 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
986 reviews
1 km away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,560 reviews
3.6 km away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 78 in San Jose
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.9 km away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 78 in San Jose
1,390 reviews
1.1 km away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aranjuez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aranjuez

Address: | 200 mts. norte, 200 oeste y 25 sur de la Iglesia Santa Teresita., San Jose 2070, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#3 Green Hotel in San Jose
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#10 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $66 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aranjuez 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aranjuez is located in San Jose and is surrounded by a tropical garden. Free breakfast buffet, free WiFi access and free private parking are available. Each room here features an authentic historic decor and will provide you with a cable TV, an outdoor seating area and a private bathroom with a bath or shower and a hairdryer. All rooms have a desk and a safety-deposit box. Our wonderfull Breakfast Buffet is also included. At Hotel Aranjuez you will find a 24-hour front desk, a garden and a terrace. Other facilities offered at the property include a tour desk, luggage storage and laundry facilities. The property offers free parking. The hotel is 1.1 km from Pre-Colombian Gold Museum, 1.2 km from National Theatre of Costa Rica and 1.4 km from Metropolitan Cathedral. Juan Santamaria International Airport is 16 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Aranjuez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aranjuez Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing