We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,274)
Filter reviews
1,274 results
Traveller rating
595
500
109
42
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
595
500
109
42
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews costa rica unique hotel stayed one night hot water downtown plants
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,274 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2021 via mobile

THIS WAS WRITTEN FEB 2020. Friendly welcome. It is a rabbit warren of corridors and steps everywhere. Uk health n safety would have a fit. Mats at bottom of stairs I nearly went a cropper. Half the light bulbs missing in the festive light up near top bedrooms. No night safe. Can’t lock the Louvre windows so you share you’re room with bugs. No cold water in tap. BUT in some weird crazy hippyish way it’s quirky and off the wall with plants and bizarre statues of Costa Rican gods every where. One night was plenty. No breakfast as we left too early but hot black coffee on offer. We walked a few steps to a tapas bar on the corner which was AMAZING and made our stay here worth while.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Fivestarsalltheway
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 April 2021

Stayed one night, two couples in San José for an event in Santo Domingo de Heredia. Rooms basically across from each other in a separate area of this unique hotel. Reserved safe parking available. Made to order breakfast included. Very comfortable. Will definitely try to stay there again if in San José.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MissKahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 September 2020 via mobile

This is definitely one of a kind hotel.

If you want to experience Costa Rican food, culture and learn about history this is the place.

Great price, wonderful service and lots of beautiful art.

This hotel is a compilation of 5 houses. It was founded by a family, so you will feel like home. Plus you will be sorrunded by nature (there is a huge garden inside the hotel where you can read, meditate or just relax with the rain).

There are some apartments in front of the hotel for a longer stay. Great price as well.

The location is perfect. Basically you are in the middle of the city.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank sofiav628
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 March 2020

The hotel was very nice. There was cute art on the walls and it had a generally nice environment. My room and bathroom were a good size and were both very clean. The only thing is that the walls seemed to be very thin and you could hear a lot. However, that didn't necessarily keep me up once I went to sleep. Lastly, the breakfast was delicious and the dining hall was beautiful!

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank T6531RQashleyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 March 2020

I love the indoor gardens and artwork. The hosts are really helpful. The rooms are clean and quiet. The breakfast buffet is absolutely wonderful. The 11/47 restaurant is part of the hotel and not to be missed.

Date of stay: December 2019
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosiporelmundo, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2020

Dear Joan S,

Thank you for your kind comments and for sharing them with others on TripAdvisor. It means the world to us! We are grateful for your business!
We are glad you liked the service you received and our restaurant 11-47!
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,
A. Romero,
Hotel Aranjuez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews