We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Phillip BH
London, United Kingdom

Great Location, and lovely breakfast

Review of Hotel Aranjuez
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Oct 2022
Lovely hotel with a great location for walking to central San Jose and to the trendy restaurant and bar neighbourhood Barrio Escalante. The hotel consists of lots of buildings joined together giving it a lovely charming quality, which is served by excellent staff all round. The great breakfast is served in a lovely setting, out on a terrace surrounded by a lovely garden with lots of local wildlife. The only thing i’d say is the rooms need a bit of spruce up, I found quite a few Moth larvae crawling around - but nothing a good clean couldn’t sort and a few of the fittings were a bit shoddy- but for the price it was very very fair.
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
S$212
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Tripadvisor
    S$212
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from Hotel Aranjuez
Free Wifi
Restaurant
S$67
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    S$67
0.8 km from Hotel Aranjuez
Free Wifi
S$249
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    S$249
  • Booking.com
4.5 km from Hotel Aranjuez
Free Wifi
Free parking
S$130
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    S$130
  • Hotels.com
6.6 km from Hotel Aranjuez
Free Wifi
Free parking
Urban Elegance at Our Heart-Centered Hotel in San José.
S$144
S$136
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.9 km from Hotel Aranjuez
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    S$88
  • Vio.com
0.9 km from Hotel Aranjuez
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    S$250
  • ZenHotels.com
    S$247
  • Booking.com
2.8 km from Hotel Aranjuez
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Official website
    S$169
  • Expedia.com
    S$190
1.0 km from Hotel Aranjuez
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Lobby
Get rewarded with One Key
  • CrownePlaza.com
    S$160
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    S$182
3.4 km from Hotel Aranjuez
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hilton Garden Inn
    S$171
  • Expedia.com
    S$173
13.2 km from Hotel Aranjuez
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in San Jose
Reviews (1,309)
Filter reviews
1,309 results
Traveller rating
607
517
112
43
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
607
517
112
43
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews costa rica breakfast buffet neighborhood downtown usd
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,309 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2022 via mobile

An oasis in San Jose, where birds hang out around the breakfast table in their own perfect jungle. Nice staff and a wonderful atmosphere.
Room and the bed very comfortable, and the decoration around the hotel is a delightful exhibit of masks, statues and art.
The best breakfast we had in Costa Rica. Walking distance to town.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank H4126YJevac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 July 2022 via mobile

We arrived after à long trip from Paris and we have been ver well received. People were very Nice and accommodating. Breakfast was diverse with lots of fresh fruit. Only drawback was that you can t pay with your credit card in Usd while the negociated price was in usd.

In addition there is a restaurant absolutely amazing in terms of flavours ( 5 stars)

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Lionsebastien
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 January 2022

If you want Best western generic , look away this not for you , the quirkiness has good n bad the rooms are hit n miss some better than others we got a short straw but was a late booking , basic and functional a standard double that might be a bit small for some, the hotel is charming made of old traditional houses knocked into one , breakfast on the patio was great , lots of little chill out areas enjoy a glass such a lovely chilled atmosphere, the staff where all great especially the girl on reception helping our stay run smooth and booking a great priced driver to take us to Manuel Antonio. locally couple good restaurants the hotel offering looked good also , 15 mins walk to city centre. we only booked this originally as we where concerned that arriving in the early hours would be an issue unlike other hotels who didn't even reply to emails this one replied instantly to confirm they check in 24hrs , we certainly be checking in there again soon I hope

Room tip: away from reception
Date of stay: December 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sandra Jara Castro, Director General at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2022

Hi Mark,

Thank you very much for your comment! We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Hope to see you again in the near future.

Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2021 via mobile

We were so lucky to stay there. Checked in December and my husband got sick. He was in pain and his back and leg were hurting. NOT COVID This messed up our trip to costa rica. BUT the hotel and staff were wonderful about it. They let us stay extra nights (9 we were booked for 1) they got a wheelchair for us, and
called cabs. The room was cute. Service and breakfast were great. And we were able to continue our trip after many trips to the hospital.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank margaretw991
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sandra Jara Castro, Director General at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2022

Hi Margaret!

Thank you very much for your comment! We hope your husband is OK now and that you're enjoying your trip in Costa Rica.
Thanks for staying with us!

Happy New year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2021

The best value option in San José. And probably one of the best hotel breakfasts in any hotel I've ever been. It also has a beautiful green area that makes you feel as if you were in a mountain hotel. It is our usual hotel when we have to stay in San José downtown, highly recommended

Room tip: The difference on price between the standard and the superior room is minimal . And those 10 dollar you invest worth it
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Raquel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sandra Jara Castro, Director General at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2022

Hola Raquel,

Thank you very much for trusting us for your stay in San José.
Hope to see you again, take care and have a happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews