We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrive as a Stranger,Leave as a Friend”
Review of Casa de las Tias

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa de las Tias
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2015

I can't say enough about this charming Bed and Breakfast located in a convenient section of Escazu where it is quite easy to walk to restaurants and stores or to catch a cab or bus. Owners are hands on, accommodating in every way. The architecture of this small B&B is that of typical old Costa Rica and is filled with antiques and art work from the owners travels around the world.The flowering gardens are lovely and great for bird watching. Breakfasts are tasty, large and creatively presented on lovely linen table settings served in the garden. This is our second time here this year. We plan to return on future trips to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: If available, ask for the suite which is much larger than other rooms which tend to be small. If no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willow456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 69 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2015

When our shuttle bus turned from the shabby, razor-wired, hot & sweaty confusion of San Jose's streets into Casa de las Tias' shady lane our fellow passengers in the shuttle gasped with surprise and pleasure. At the end of the flowered lane lies Casa de las Tias -- a Secret Garden that calls to mind charmed summers in the Gulf Island summer cottages of my childhood. Pilar and Xavier looked after us devotedly including negotiating with cabbies. Our one-night stay here was a real pleasure.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2015

We stayed at Casa de las Tias twice during our time in Costa Rica from January to February 2015. The B&B came highly recommended by a friend and did not disappoint. The home is gorgeous and tucked back far enough from the road that traffic noise is nonexistent, even with the windows open. After spending one night in downtown San Jose, the peace and quiet were greatly appreciated. We stayed in the same room both times, with a luxurious king sized bed and Chilean art. Both Xavier and Pilar speak English fluently, so they were able to help us make reservations and give recommendations. If you enjoy Indian food, don't miss the delicious Taste of India restaurant that just opened around the corner from the B&B. If not, there are more than enough restaurants and grocery stores within walking distance. On our last visit, we were the first guests to use their new breakfast patio, with views of the lovely back garden. The highlights for me were drinking amazing Costa Rican coffee on the front patio while admiring the lilies and Xavier bringing out Canadian syrup for our pancakes in the morning (a little taste of home). Thank you to our amazing hosts for their kindness and hospitality!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank justellied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2015

Thank you Pilar and Xavier for a pleasant stay with you in your lovely home. Your kindness and help was so appreciated, along with your wonderful breakfasts & lovely conversations.
We still can't believe how it was so quiet & secluded from noise of the traffic. We slept so sound in the king size bed! Loved that large room with a microwave, coffeemaker & sink! You were very kind hosts and we will stay with you again, if we are in San Jose.

Room Tip: All guest rooms are on the second floor and there is a mini refrig for guests to use. Sodas, beer, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueberries10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2015

My sister and I started (and ended) our Christmas vacation trip staying with Pilar and Xavier. They went out of their way to assist us with information and transportation options while we were preparing for our trip. The house is very warm, welcoming and comfortable. Each room has it's own very large bathroom and the rooms are very clean and bright (we had a view of New Year's fireworks from our window.)
We especially enjoyed our first breakfast in the delightful garden with the other guests! I am still waiting for Xavier to come back and make me breakfast!
A wonderful way to spend time in San Jose. Greatly recommend this home and we look forward to the opportunity to stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room (#5) had twin beds - very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Liz707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Rafael de Escazu
0.9 km away
Posada El Quijote
Posada El Quijote
#7 of 13 in Escazu
200 reviews
3.7 km away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
925 reviews
2.3 km away
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#3 of 13 in Escazu
441 reviews
0.8 km away
Casa Laurin B&B
Casa Laurin B&B
#1 of 3 in San Rafael de Escazu
365 reviews
1.6 km away
Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu
Residence Inn by Marriott San Jo...
#1 of 3 in San Rafael de Escazu
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de las Tias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de las Tias

Address: Apdo 295-1200, San Rafael de Escazu 33102, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Rafael de Escazu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in San Rafael de Escazu
Price Range: $116 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de las Tias 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de las Tias is a sprawling Victorian-style house set on a 2,300m.Estate in the charming town of San Rafael de Escaza, just 10 minutes from San Jose. The airy cedar house is unique; each room decorated with original art from various Latin American countries, and featuring private bath and ceiling fan. Within a block, visitors can enjoy a wide choice of fine restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa de las Tias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing