We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$140
Agoda.comUS$140
TripadvisorUS$140
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
54
25
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
54
25
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paper plates coffee maker denali highway small fridge gas station place to stay would definitely stay here again other places beautiful place visiting denali national park backroads popcorn motel miles sink drive
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2021

I've spent that past 3 days using Backwoods Lodge as my headquarters for everything Denali. I've been back and forth to the National Park several times. The drive is beautiful, but know that at this time of year (late September) there is very little open. The gas station up the road has some hot food (chicken strips, brats, popcorn and some groceries) but beyond that, you're on your own. The Lodge is located ON the Denali Highway, right off of Parks Highway. I've driven back and forth on the Denali Highway this week, too. Again, nothing open, but did manage to find outhouses at one of the camping sites. Hunting opened, so moose are scarce, which is a bummer, but we managed to come face to face with a huge bull about 15 miles north. Wow. In other words, location here can't be beat!

We have 2 rooms. Both are super comfortable and clean. They are stocked with coffee and makers, microwave, dishes, and use of a few gas grills, which we took advantage of. Parking is right at the door. Wifi is good. Beds are super comfortable. There is nothing more we need here. Amenities are great!

Carol has been a pleasure to work with. Friendly and helpful. We've stayed at other places in the area, closer to the Park, and even though we're a little farther from the entrance, we feel much more welcomed and comfortable here. I would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Trvlsnob21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Croteau, Owner at Backwoods Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2021

Thank you so very much for your wonderful review. Hopefully we'll see you again in Alaska!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2021 via mobile

This a very clean family run lodge. It is an old style motel with outside entrances. The inn keeper is very accommodating and the room has great amenities such as a refrigerator, microwave, dishes, eating utensils, coffee maker, hot water kettle, and paper plates, bowls, and napkins. However, be prepared (the inn keeper forewarned us) with any food or drink you may need. We brought cereal, almond milk, fruit and snacks so we could economize on breakfast. This allowed us to relax and sleep a little later. Our only issue is that you are 15 minutes from the nearest sit down restaurant and 30 minutes from Denali National Park. If this is not an issue for you then you will thoroughly enjoy your stay here.

Room tip: Be prepared to be self sustaining
Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank chadz52
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 May 2021

Spacious, yet quaint, clean room. Conveniently located, comfortable beds. The kitchenette had nice counter space, with a microwave, small fridge, and sink. Grounds provided a nice walk after the long car ride.

Thanks for the stay.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank We3rFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Croteau, Owner at Backwoods Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2021

Thank you for your wonderful review. It is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2020

Pleasant and comfortable, by far, the best place to stay in cantwell. Very clean. Out here, in the middle of nowhere, The Backwoods Lodge is top of the line. You wont find the amenities provided here anywhere within 50 or so miles. Of all the places to stay, I'll always come stay here. I wouldn't waste my money staying anywhere else. The staff is friendly and very helpful. Great people, amazing place. The Backwoods Lodge is my number 1 choice. When visiting Denali.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Munkeesee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 January 2020 via mobile

We stayed at Backwoods during a failed attempt to catch the elusive Northern Lights. Unfortunately we came in the middle of a record cold snap. But the management at Backwoods couldn’t have been more accommodating. All questions were answered in a fast timely response. They gave us excellent suggestions for making the most of the area. The cabin was very cozy and clean, and had everything you need (no stove though). It is located in a great place to see Denali, about halfway between Anchorage and Fairbanks. Thanks Backwoods for a great stay despite the record cold!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank EJRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol C, Owner at Backwoods Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2020

Thank you so very much for your wonderful review. It is very much appreciated.
Carol, Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews