We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful accommodations and great snorkeling!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tahaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Le Taha'a Resort was wonderful! The accommodations were great- we really liked the large deck space (with covered area too) and the beautiful design elements in the overwater bungalow. We stayed in Bora Bora view overwater bungalow number one. This put us nice and close to the pool, water sports equipment, pool restaurant and fabulous coral garden. A few small suggestions would be to have a DVD player in the room to watch movies in case of bad weather. (There were a few movies in English on tv but not many options- we did have some rain over our stay hence we checked out the tv.). Also the hot breakfast buffet food was slightly cold on a consistent basis. However, the authentic Polynesian charm and beautiful setting makes us wish for a return visit!

Room Tip: Loved the Bora Bora view overwater bungalow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Vernnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 33 of 1,458 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2017

Le Taha'a Island Resort is a wonderful place for couples to spend time together. the coral garden is a snorkelers paradise, the grounds are impeccable and time seems to stand still. We will be back, as it was everything we had hoped it would be, fine food, fine wine and a magical atmosphere.

Room Tip: Over the water bungalows are fantastic!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Le Taha'a Resort is a beautiful place filled with wonderful people. It's a more authentic experience. We went there after spending 5 days in Bora Bora (also amazing but more commercial) and instantly fell in love with Taha'a. Yes there are some things that could stand updating, but that is nothing in relation to how relaxed you feel there. Next time we go to FP this may be our only destination. LOVE IT!!!

Room Tip: For beach villas Number 49 is THE BEST ONE.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ceyaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

To be fair, this resort probably deserves 5 stars. It is certainly a nicer place than many other resorts that I have rated 4 stars in the past. My rating comes in relation to my expectation vs. the price paid i.e. I expected a little more from a resort costing $1200/night. In full disclosure, my wife and I argued about this rating as she demanded that it be a 5. I told her to leave her own review.

First the good/positives:
- The front desk, concierge and general manager were always available with good service

- Resort Lagoon: The water and lagoon clarity are unrivaled including Bora Bora water

- Activities: There isn't a whole lot to do in or around the other islands which makes this particular place VERY RELAXING. You are almost forced to relax and take it easy.

- Coral Garden: The coral garden next to the resort is free and makes for a very good and easy snorkeling trip. You will see lots of fish and possibly even an eel. Tips: Go at the highest tide or you will be struggling to get over the coral. Cross the lagoon and start at the north end of the channel so you can float with the current and not against it. Get some free reef shoes from the activities area as you will need them for the walk on the adjacent island.

- Taha'a Tour: We did an overland and ATV tour with Poerani Tours and it was the most laid back and down to earth tour we took during our trip to French Polynesia. The owner even took us to his house and showed us around. Highly recommend but possibly book directly through Poerani to avoid the hotel markup.

- Bungalows: We had an overwater bungalow which we thought was well appointed and felt very private. Our bungalow looked out towards Tahaa which gave us access to sunrise but not sunsets. The water depth under our bungalow was about 3 feet which was very nice for getting in the water. Other places we stayed had water depths of 15 feet which left us hanging on the ladder.

- Bicycle Service: I like how they only use bikes here. Other places we stayed used golf carts which can be heard going up and down the walkways. The bikes are much quieter and you are less aware of their presence.

For the opportunities:
- The food: It wasn't bad but wasn't great either. For breakfast they have the smallest selection of any of the resorts but it was enough to satisfy. We did not eat at the nicest restaurant as we were trying to be reasonable with our spend. However, expect to spend $100/person at the other restaurants as well. We saved some money by eating a big breakfast, snacking on protein bars and nuts for lunch and then splitting appetizers for dinner. We still spent $150-$200 per day on meals (dinner). For this price we expected a bit more than just "average". We ordered a $30 wahoo appetizer one night by the pool and while it was very good, it came with only 4 very small pieces of fish. Lastly, their attempt at the local ceviche dish with coconut milk was the most tasteless of all that we tried (I had to add plenty of salt) and also seemed the least fresh. The food was all decent but for those prices (room and meals) I expected better. There are other resorts in FP who do meals much better. Tip: Get the breakfast buffet included with your package and bring some light weight snacks if you want to avoid paying for lunch and dinner daily. Tip 2: If they do the bbq while you are there I recommend it. It was a very good spread of food for about the same cost that you will pay for your meals. The food at the bbq was also some of the better that we had while at the resort.

- The drinks: The cost per mix drink is about $25 each! I know we are in the French Polynesia and that this is typical within the resorts so I will not complain too much about costs. BUT, when I do pay this for a drink I expect it to be TOP NOTCH and possibly even a little heavy handed on the alcohol. The drinks we did order (which were few) had very little alcohol and were average at best. HERE'S A TIP THAT SAVED US WELL OVER $1000 WHILE IN FP: Get yourself one or two bottles of duty free alcohol. Note that they do have a shop in Papeete when you arrive in Tahiti to collect your bags. When you get to the hotel you can have them bring some mixers like sprite, pineapple juice, etc. This way you can make your own drinks during the day and only buy one or two for dinner if you are willing to pay the $25/drink. We found a bottle of Rose wine on the menu for $38 and had that most nights for dinner.

- The bungalow: The only real issues that I had with the bungalow were: 1) our bungalow faced south/southeast which was the direction that the wind came out of all day every day during our September trip. I do not know if this is consistent with all months of the year but a continuous 15-20 mph wind was actually quite chilly even when we weren't wet. If I were to do it again I would like try to get a bungalow facing west (for sunsets) and to be a little more protected from the southeasterly winds. 2) the shower was a bit small. Let's be honest, this is a couples destination. Other places that we stayed had plenty of room for two people in the showers and bath tubs while Le Tahaa did not.

- Food Servers: While these folks were not bad, they were not perfect. We often had to pour our own wine or ask for bread and butter. For breakfast we had to get up and ask for our ticket most mornings. OK, no huge issues here but when you are paying $1200/night for a room and $200+ for a meal you want it to be a little bit better than that.

Overall this was a really nice and relaxing stay and likely worthy of 5 stars. I, however, felt that there are a few things that could be tweaked to make it a true 5 star quality place.

Room Tip: Get room which blocks southeasterly wind and with sunset view. Bring your own alcohol and snacks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank mklsu1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Spent eight nights here and came home a new person! So relaxed! Here's my thought/recommendations, as I came to this very well prepared after reading nearly every review.
Le Taha'a 101:
Pros-- very relaxed, private, romantic, low-key, beautiful and clean property. No party scene or obnoxious guests--everyone there with same purpose--to relax! No need to dress up except for one restaurant. Large Over-water bungalows very private and quiet. Friendly staff, amazing snorkeling, awesome tours, excellent buffet breakfast with something for everyone.

Cons-- poor shampoo (seems ridiculous to complain about, but in saltwater, u need CONDITIONER). Some maintenance issues on decks but surely did not impact quality of vacation. TOO EXPENSIVE food and drinks. Perhaps if they lowered price a bit, they would actually make more money. Minimal english tv channels (really is ok as you should not be watching tv!)

Things i learned in 8 days To make the most of my next trip there and to save some money for better things like black pearls and excursions.
----- drink the tap water in bungalow (totally fine). Instead of paying ridiculous costs at meals---ask for tap water! We brought our own booze and mixed it with Crystal light lemonade, etc. Bring your own MASK for snorkeling as there's aren't the best. Property has free fins, water shoes, snorkels. BRING SNACKS and lots of them. We ate breakfast and dinner but skipped lunch. Bring conditioner as your hair gets so dry in saltwater. Hotel lotion and soap is fine. There is not alot to do at resort (esp on poor weather day) so bring plenty of books and games if needed (we are scrabble and cribbage players). Bring a float and some twine to keep you in place. Room service is the cheapest dinner you can get at resort (will still run $70). The romantic beach dinner is actually a great value for what you get--preferred use of money over the one expensive restaurant for same cost.
Polynesian for a day private tour with Samuel is PHENOMENAL and we tailored it to fit our tourist needs (skipped fishing and did Vanilla farm/Pearl farm instead)--we swam with sharks,sting rays, spear fished, snorkeled and had HUGE lunch with his family.
I would DEFINITELY consider spending the extra money for end of pontoon #41----best view in the place--would not for any other pontoon room though. Skip Bora Bora extra cost room---your view also includes all the catamarans that anchor wight in front of you and the resort pool/beach. 29-45 has best views (21-28 look at the resort dock).
Bottom line: super relaxed luxury resort where everyone is casual and laid back. Everyone dresses casually and doesn't feel like your typical American snooty five star resort. Definitely will be back to this place.

Room Tip: Rooms 29-45 for BEST views/PRIVACY. Check resort map! do your research!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank WeLoveMexico00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahaa
19.3 km away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,715 reviews
20.1 km away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
19.8 km away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 km away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
23.5 km away
Conrad Bora Bora Nui
Conrad Bora Bora Nui
#4 of 17 in Bora Bora
208 reviews
26.8 km away
Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa

Address: Motu Tautau | BP 67 Patio, 98733, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tahaa
Price Range: $842 - $1,846 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome ! Ia Orana e Maeva !Part of the prestigious Relais & Châteaux collection,” Le Taha’a Island Resort and Spa “ welcomes you to a world of immaculate beauty, a timeless universe of refined authenticity. Located on the secluded Motu Tautau, facing the island of Taha’a on one side and the most perfect view of Bora Bora on the other side, the resort, inspired by traditional Polynesian architecture and style, hosts 60 remarkable suites and villas.Defined by the Relais & Chateaux philosophy, Le Taha’a is the promise of a total change of scenery, a way of life of its own, in harmony with its preserved environment, people and local culture.Welcome to Le Taha’a world… The ultimate Tahitian hideaway… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Taha`a Island Resort And Spa
Le Taha`a Island Hotel Tahaa
Le Tahaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing